FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 30)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

AR recovery and s-off ( FIX )

Thanks Meter: 172
 
By carm01, Senior Member on 24th April 2012, 02:29 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
24th April 2012, 05:24 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Newark, OH
Thanks Meter: 142
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAU420


I just read about the eng hboot and it seems you can not be on the ICS firmware and con gives a warning about flashing over ICS. I was looking at re-flashing the v.02 hboot to my phone. I know I have to rename it to PH98, just not sure what hboot controlbear. There is two hboot files, one is a zip and the other is a .img file. Not sure if it could work or not. I have read that other have flashed over the v.02 hboot file.

Rename the .zip one.

I just downloaded the current jb_hboot from the site and it still has the same problem.
 
 
24th April 2012, 05:25 AM |#22  
Senior Member
Phoenix, Arizona
Thanks Meter: 453
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAU420

Yeah I checked with the phone and I have 28.6G of free space on the sd card.



I just read about the eng hboot and it seems you can not be on the ICS firmware and con gives a warning about flashing over ICS. I was looking at re-flashing the v.02 hboot to my phone. I know I have to rename it to PH98, just not sure what hboot controlbear. There is two hboot files, one is a zip and the other is a .img file. Not sure if it could work or not. I have read that other have flashed over the v.02 hboot file.

Yup, correct. The ENG HBOOT should be combined with GB Firmware. There is a thread in the development section that has the ENG HBOOT and GB Firmware already packaged up, and if you're running an ICS ROM then all you have to do is flash the old firmware patch, also easily found via searching in the development section.
24th April 2012, 05:35 AM |#23  
Senior Member
Newark, OH
Thanks Meter: 142
 
Donate to Me
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1614366

This has the instructions for ENG on ICS. I'm about to try it and I'll report back in a min.

---------- Post added at 12:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:26 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jefffeely

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1614366

This has the instructions for ENG on ICS. I'm about to try it and I'll report back in a min.

Sigh, nope. It didn't fix it.

In the process it did occur to me that it is odd that you can flash from the ext sd card but can't back up to it.
24th April 2012, 05:52 AM |#24  
NAU420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefffeely

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1614366

This has the instructions for ENG on ICS. I'm about to try it and I'll report back in a min.

---------- Post added at 12:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:26 AM ----------



Sigh, nope. It didn't fix it.

In the process it did occur to me that it is odd that you can flash from the ext sd card but can't back up to it.

Yeah its the same for me and it is odd that the ad card works for every thing but not in recovery.......

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
24th April 2012, 06:04 AM |#25  
jdmba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
I am soff with 3.13 running gingerbread. No problem running a nandroid.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
24th April 2012, 06:43 AM |#26  
scotty1223's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,688
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carm01

I have seen a lot of folks having all kind of strange issues with AR recovery after s-off. Myself included. Most notably:

1) No being able to mount the SD card getting error:
E: can't mount /dev/block/mmcblkp2 ( File exists )

2) unable to preform nandroid back up stating oops an error occurred, please check the log. well there is no log.

3) cant move the error log, gives another error.


After hours of trying to do everything under the sun, this is extremely frustrating; nothing works, but....

CWM touch. I can mount the SD card, and do nandroid back ups.

Is anyone else having issues with AR recovery?

i am having these issues exactly,and have concluded it has to be the card.

im on the ICS leak. full firmware,rooted stock. amon worked fine before s off on this same combo.

tried permanently flashing. 3.14 and 3.15. tried launching both from fastboot. no change

tried a spare 4 gb card,mounted fine,backed up fine. tried the 16gb card from my dev phone,again,worked fine- mounted and made a backup.

so i tried reformatting the sd in the PC,and the busy box cmd directions. neither worked.

my card is fine when the phone is booted- it just disapears in recovery.

for now,i guess i just leave the 16 gb card from the dev rezound in there... not sure how things got goofed up enuff the card wont work for recovery

but i do feel better my phones not effed up somehow

anyone else havin issues tried a different sd?
24th April 2012, 06:50 AM |#27  
Senior Member
Phoenix, Arizona
Thanks Meter: 453
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty1223

i am having these issues exactly,and have concluded it has to be the card.

im on the ICS leak. full firmware,rooted stock. amon worked fine before s off on this same combo.

tried permanently flashing. 3.14 and 3.15. tried launching both from fastboot. no change

tried a spare 4 gb card,mounted fine,backed up fine. tried the 16gb card from my dev phone,again,worked fine- mounted and made a backup.

so i tried reformatting the sd in the PC,and the busy box cmd directions. neither worked.

my card is fine when the phone is booted- it just disapears in recovery.

for now,i guess i just leave the 16 gb card from the dev rezound in there... not sure how things got goofed up enuff the card wont work for recovery

but i do feel better my phones not effed up somehow

anyone else havin issues tried a different sd?

Just curiosity, but did you happen to re-format your SDCARD at all during this process? I've heard of a number of people who have plugged their phone into their computer in mass storage mode, then formatted their SDCARD in FAT32 format, then ran all the juopunutbear S-OFF stuff.

I personally did not mess with the SDCARD at all during the process. I simply grabbed a spare one that I had, didn't even bother to wipe it since the directions for the exploit specifically said it would wipe the card automatically.

Anyways, since many people apparently have been formatting the SDCARD via an external connection, I was wondering if there was a correlation between the instances of formatting their card and inability to access the card after the S-OFF process.
24th April 2012, 06:51 AM |#28  
phillybizzle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brew City, WI, 414
Thanks Meter: 11
 
Donate to Me
More
I hope we get 4EXT soooon...

if I already have AR, how do I go about using CWM-Touch instead?
24th April 2012, 06:53 AM |#29  
Senior Member
Phoenix, Arizona
Thanks Meter: 453
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillybizzle

I hope we get 4EXT soooon...

if I already have AR, how do I go about using CWM-Touch instead?

CWM has had some weird issues with the Rezound, and anyway Amon Ra just works and has far more options than any CWM build I've ever seen. But then again, Con's TWRP2.1 recovery has really been tempting me to venture away from my newly found favoritism of Amon Ra...
24th April 2012, 11:17 AM |#30  
GreenXSniper's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
i think controlbear 0.2.1 fixed these problems
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes