Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ODIN][TAR] SPH-D710.FD24_CL451301 (FD24 Modem/Kernel/ROM - Full Restore - Rooted)

OP sfhub

26th April 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #101  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,854
 
4,757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AreOh

I haven't been able to update Profile nor PRL at all since updating yesterday due to "connection error". How critical are both of those?

Sometimes the problem is on Sprint's end. Occasionally the infrastructure that handles profile and PRL updates is not working but they usually fix it relatively quick, so if it is a short-term problem, then that might be it. If it is long-term, then it is probably something else.

The main piece you care about in your Profile is your 3g login. If you are getting 3g, then you don't need to worry about it. The recent PRLs have often reduced the amount of 3g roaming you have, so not updating that might be a bonus. Though with NV there might be some improvements (then again, there might not, because Sprint feels less need to roam with their improved infrastructure)

Now if you should for some reason perform a ##786# or ##72786# reset, then you would need update profile to work (and also hands free activation) because doing a manual provision can be a pain for the 3g portion.
Last edited by sfhub; 26th April 2012 at 04:50 PM.
26th April 2012, 04:46 PM   |  #102  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,854
 
4,757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
If folks have random force closes, using NoData to upgrade from GB, there is one thing you can try before doing a Full restore or Factory reset.

Quote:

su
cd /data/dalvik-cache
rm *
reboot

This may or may not help your situation but takes a few seconds to try and can potentially save you from reinstalling all your apps.

Keep in mind a NoData upgrade is doing essentially the same thing an OTA update would be doing, so if the NoData upgrade didn't work for you and you started with stock EL29, likely neither would have the OTA.

Having said that, I upgrade all the time from EL29 to ICS using NoData and it works fine but I usually have zero apps installed (all stock) when I'm doing it because I'm just testing upgrade scenarios. I don't test upgrades from any other GB version.
Last edited by sfhub; 26th April 2012 at 04:48 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to sfhub For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 04:53 PM   |  #103  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,854
 
4,757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluv4eva

Thanks for the explanation. So basically in my case of being rooted with EL29 with CWM running Blazers 4.1 ROM. If I get Calks and use CWM I should be okay?

As previously mentioned if you go between different ROM authors, you should do format_all. Within the same ROM author usually you can skip but if it is a big upgrade, best to format_all.
26th April 2012, 04:55 PM   |  #104  
JohnCorleone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Whittier,CA
Thanks Meter: 5,787
 
15,574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub

Sometimes the problem is on Sprint's end. Occasionally the infrastructure that handles profile and PRL updates is not working but they usually fix it relatively quick, so if it is a short-term problem, then that might be it. If it is long-term, then it is probably something else.

The main piece you care about in your Profile is your 3g login. If you are getting 3g, then you don't need to worry about it. The recent PRLs have often reduced the amount of 3g roaming you have, so not updating that might be a bonus. Though with NV there might be some improvements (then again, there might not, because Sprint feels less need to roam with their improved infrastructure)

Now if you should for some reason perform a ##786# or ##72786# reset, then you would need update profile to work (and also hands free activation) because doing a manual provision can be a pain for the 3g portion.

I can say from experience that sfhub is right. I had a stretch of 3+ months where I couldn't update Profile and PRL on my OG Epic and Sprint confirmed that it was on their end

Sent from either ET4G or NS4G using Xparent Tapatalk 2
26th April 2012, 04:59 PM   |  #105  
RainMotorsports's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 716
 
1,405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnCorleone

I can say from experience that sfhub is right. I had a stretch of 3+ months where I couldn't update Profile and PRL on my OG Epic and Sprint confirmed that it was on their end

Wow thats extreme. Yeah I personally haven't had any experience with it. You early android guys especially have more experience in this area than us old feature phone users. Not very often I needed to do a prl update or activate a phone manually myself. Android community especially those that get their hands dirty are a little more prone to experience in these matters.
26th April 2012, 05:00 PM   |  #106  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
One more dumb question (and not ashamed to say it)...

If I have the EL29 rooted setup (from sfhub previously) can I follow the procedure listed here and get the FD24 rooted setup? I'd like to have the FD24 stuff but I don't want to do something stupid and fubar the phone.


edit: Yes, this works as I hoped it would. I installed this over the top of the rooted EL29 with success!
Last edited by knuckhead; 26th April 2012 at 07:57 PM. Reason: I did it and it worked! :)
26th April 2012, 05:04 PM   |  #107  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,854
 
4,757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RainMotorsports

Wow thats extreme. Yeah I personally haven't had any experience with it. You early android guys especially have more experience in this area than us old feature phone users. Not very often I needed to do a prl update or activate a phone manually myself. Android community especially those that get their hands dirty are a little more prone to experience in these matters.

I used to call in and have them flag my feature phone for updated PRL back in the old days when it they actually improved the PRL from a roaming perspective. Then my phone would get triggered to do a PRL update. Then it would fail with some error code. I had to go to a city 40 miles away before it would work.

Also keep in mind neither Update Profile nor PRL will work while on other carriers' towers.
26th April 2012, 06:04 PM   |  #108  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Is anyone else experiencing very slow 4g speeds with this rom/kernal/modem?

I'm getting 455.2kB/s down and 177.9kB/s up with a 277ms ping.

With my stock EL29 rom/kernal/modem I get 1576.7kB/s down and 179.5 kB/s up with a 153ms ping.
26th April 2012, 08:14 PM   |  #109  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
884 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjonesy77

Is anyone else experiencing very slow 4g speeds with this rom/kernal/modem?

I'm getting 455.2kB/s down and 177.9kB/s up with a 277ms ping.

With my stock EL29 rom/kernal/modem I get 1576.7kB/s down and 179.5 kB/s up with a 153ms ping.

Same here slow speeds on the latest ics I just flash back to el29 and I get close to 2mps down and 97 up

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
26th April 2012, 09:47 PM   |  #110  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
884 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
So is there a new version I got mine when it was post at 7 am now the time said in the afther noon?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes