FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[Q] Taking Screenhots

64 posts
Thanks Meter: 24
 
By Roeni, Member on 25th April 2012, 04:57 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

I'm wondering if there is some easy way to take screenshots.
Other Samsung devices have a shortcut for this: http://opensourcehacker.com/2011/02/...droid-devices/

The Glide seems not to have.
So is there any other way? E.g. by defining some app in "Settings > Applications > Quick launch" ?

Or is "Screenshot" an app, removed in OsiMood-Rom?
Last edited by Roeni; 25th April 2012 at 05:01 PM.
 
 
25th April 2012, 07:16 PM |#2  
incidentflux's Avatar
Member
Flag Ajman
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I use the 'Home + Power key' combo to take screenshots. No special apps installed. Screenshots are saved in the 'ScreenCapture' folder.
25th April 2012, 09:02 PM |#3  
Roeni's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
mhh ok... my glide seems to recognize this home+power shortcut but it throws me an error:
The application com.sec.android.app.screencapture has stopped unexpectedly

:-/
26th April 2012, 12:14 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Flag SC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sorry for your trouble. I've soft-bricked my phone several times tooling with apps I shouldn't have and such, and I am rooted on the Craniam OC Kernel and the stock rooted ROM, but I've never had issues with screen capture working. I don't know how extensive your mods are, but is it possible some app manager is freezing some component of the system that screen capture needs? Shot in the dark but I hope you get answers.
26th April 2012, 01:33 AM |#5  
gabby131's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg, MB Canada
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roeni

mhh ok... my glide seems to recognize this home+power shortcut but it throws me an error:
The application com.sec.android.app.screencapture has stopped unexpectedly

:-/

if you have OsiMood or INC3PTION, you wont be able to use the HOME + POWER for screenshots for it is considered to be a bloatware so removed....you can search the Glide forums for the screenshot.apk found in stock ROM.

Errrr....just take the attached file and put it in /system/app
Attached Files
File Type: apk ScreenCaptureService.apk - [Click for QR Code] (23.7 KB, 62 views)
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to gabby131 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2012, 09:59 PM |#6  
kanagadeepan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sivakasi
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
^^^^^
Thanks and any precautions like say giving permissions while placing in that folder??? Thanks again...



UPDATE:-
Done and is working perfectly... Thanks... Just use the "mount RW" option when copying that attached file to /system/app folder... No need to change the permissions.... Thanks a lot again...
Last edited by kanagadeepan; 4th May 2012 at 10:06 PM.
5th May 2012, 12:39 PM |#7  
gabby131's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg, MB Canada
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanagadeepan

^^^^^
Thanks and any precautions like say giving permissions while placing in that folder??? Thanks again...



UPDATE:-
Done and is working perfectly... Thanks... Just use the "mount RW" option when copying that attached file to /system/app folder... No need to change the permissions.... Thanks a lot again...

Oh yeah sorry, forgot to metion that you need system to be writable (RW). About permissions, just give it full (rwxrwxrwx), Android will change and give it the right permissions after a reboot....

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda premium
7th July 2012, 05:56 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabby131

if you have OsiMood or INC3PTION, you wont be able to use the HOME + POWER for screenshots for it is considered to be a bloatware so removed....you can search the Glide forums for the screenshot.apk found in stock ROM.

Errrr....just take the attached file and put it in /system/app

Hi there - I am on OsiMood and have replaced the existing file with the attached one - but it's still not working for me. I get the "...has stopped unexpectedly".

What to do?
Last edited by Lisali; 8th July 2012 at 04:59 PM.
8th July 2012, 04:54 PM |#9  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisali

Hi there - I am on OsiMood and had replaced the existing file with the attached one - but it's still not working for me. I get the "...has stopped unexpectedly".

What to do?

You can try screenshot er demo I believe out comes in the newest osimood. Or check the app store

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to dudejb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2012, 05:00 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudejb

You can try screenshot er demo I believe out comes in the newest osimood. Or check the app store

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda app-developers app

Hi - thanks for your response, but I'd really just like the stock screenshot app; it worked just fine and is free. Why can't I use it?

Thanks!
8th July 2012, 06:33 PM |#11  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisali

Hi - thanks for your response, but I'd really just like the stock screenshot app; it worked just fine and is free. Why can't I use it?

Thanks!

Sorry don't know was just recommending an alternative that works for me. Also I like that it is not always running in the background and only launch it when I need it, unlike the stock one that is always running.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda app-developers app

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes