Google Play Newsstand 3.3 Brings Material Design Makeover

In a clear break from the previous practice of delivering nearly weekly Google … more

App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more
Post Reply

[Q] Taking Screenhots

25th April 2012, 04:57 PM   |  #1  
Roeni's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Hi,

I'm wondering if there is some easy way to take screenshots.
Other Samsung devices have a shortcut for this: http://opensourcehacker.com/2011/02/...droid-devices/

The Glide seems not to have.
So is there any other way? E.g. by defining some app in "Settings > Applications > Quick launch" ?

Or is "Screenshot" an app, removed in OsiMood-Rom?
Last edited by Roeni; 25th April 2012 at 05:01 PM.
25th April 2012, 07:16 PM   |  #2  
incidentflux's Avatar
Member
Flag Ajman
Thanks Meter: 10
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
I use the 'Home + Power key' combo to take screenshots. No special apps installed. Screenshots are saved in the 'ScreenCapture' folder.
25th April 2012, 09:02 PM   |  #3  
Roeni's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
mhh ok... my glide seems to recognize this home+power shortcut but it throws me an error:
The application com.sec.android.app.screencapture has stopped unexpectedly

:-/
26th April 2012, 12:14 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag SC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Sorry for your trouble. I've soft-bricked my phone several times tooling with apps I shouldn't have and such, and I am rooted on the Craniam OC Kernel and the stock rooted ROM, but I've never had issues with screen capture working. I don't know how extensive your mods are, but is it possible some app manager is freezing some component of the system that screen capture needs? Shot in the dark but I hope you get answers.
26th April 2012, 01:33 AM   |  #5  
gabby131's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg, MB Canada
Thanks Meter: 127
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roeni

mhh ok... my glide seems to recognize this home+power shortcut but it throws me an error:
The application com.sec.android.app.screencapture has stopped unexpectedly

:-/

if you have OsiMood or INC3PTION, you wont be able to use the HOME + POWER for screenshots for it is considered to be a bloatware so removed....you can search the Glide forums for the screenshot.apk found in stock ROM.

Errrr....just take the attached file and put it in /system/app
Attached Files
File Type: apk ScreenCaptureService.apk - [Click for QR Code] (23.7 KB, 62 views)
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to gabby131 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2012, 09:59 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Sivakasi
Thanks Meter: 25
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
^^^^^
Thanks and any precautions like say giving permissions while placing in that folder??? Thanks again...



UPDATE:-
Done and is working perfectly... Thanks... Just use the "mount RW" option when copying that attached file to /system/app folder... No need to change the permissions.... Thanks a lot again...
Last edited by kanagadeepan; 4th May 2012 at 10:06 PM.
5th May 2012, 12:39 PM   |  #7  
gabby131's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg, MB Canada
Thanks Meter: 127
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanagadeepan

^^^^^
Thanks and any precautions like say giving permissions while placing in that folder??? Thanks again...



UPDATE:-
Done and is working perfectly... Thanks... Just use the "mount RW" option when copying that attached file to /system/app folder... No need to change the permissions.... Thanks a lot again...

Oh yeah sorry, forgot to metion that you need system to be writable (RW). About permissions, just give it full (rwxrwxrwx), Android will change and give it the right permissions after a reboot....

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda premium
7th July 2012, 05:56 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabby131

if you have OsiMood or INC3PTION, you wont be able to use the HOME + POWER for screenshots for it is considered to be a bloatware so removed....you can search the Glide forums for the screenshot.apk found in stock ROM.

Errrr....just take the attached file and put it in /system/app

Hi there - I am on OsiMood and have replaced the existing file with the attached one - but it's still not working for me. I get the "...has stopped unexpectedly".

What to do?
Last edited by Lisali; 8th July 2012 at 04:59 PM.
8th July 2012, 04:54 PM   |  #9  
dudejb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 100
 
572 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisali

Hi there - I am on OsiMood and had replaced the existing file with the attached one - but it's still not working for me. I get the "...has stopped unexpectedly".

What to do?

You can try screenshot er demo I believe out comes in the newest osimood. Or check the app store

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to dudejb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2012, 05:00 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudejb

You can try screenshot er demo I believe out comes in the newest osimood. Or check the app store

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I927R using xda app-developers app

Hi - thanks for your response, but I'd really just like the stock screenshot app; it worked just fine and is free. Why can't I use it?

Thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Captivate Glide General by ThreadRank