Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

changing boot animation on new ics leak

OP probablecauz69

25th April 2012, 08:27 PM   |  #1  
probablecauz69's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
can someone please help me out here. i want to get rid of the god awful boot animation on the new ics leak. i have tried to copy over the one that's there now and it wont allow me to. i have also tried to delete it and that doesn't work either. any help would be greatly appreciated.
25th April 2012, 08:43 PM   |  #2  
Turboboxer's Avatar
Senior Member
ATLANTA
Thanks Meter: 81
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
System/customize/resource

Drop it in there and make sure it is named TMOUS_bootanimation and you will be all set


Oh I think there is an audio file for the annoying ass TMO jingle. Kill that too.
Last edited by Turboboxer; 25th April 2012 at 08:46 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Turboboxer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2012, 08:52 PM   |  #3  
probablecauz69's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turboboxer

System/customize/resource

Drop it in there and make sure it is named TMOUS_bootanimation and you will be all set


Oh I think there is an audio file for the annoying ass TMO jingle. Kill that too.

ok i will check that out. many thanks!!!!
25th April 2012, 09:17 PM   |  #4  
Turboboxer's Avatar
Senior Member
ATLANTA
Thanks Meter: 81
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by probablecauz69

ok i will check that out. many thanks!!!!

No problem I HATE that damn boot noise so I looked into this yesterday.
25th April 2012, 11:16 PM   |  #5  
porkchopexpress's Avatar
Member
Flag Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
What is the best way to get in there and change the files around? I downloaded Android Commander on to my computer and even though it lets me downloads files to my PC, it won't let me do anything to the android system files because it says I need root, even though I do in fact have root.
26th April 2012, 12:58 AM   |  #6  
probablecauz69's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by porkchopexpress

What is the best way to get in there and change the files around? I downloaded Android Commander on to my computer and even though it lets me downloads files to my PC, it won't let me do anything to the android system files because it says I need root, even though I do in fact have root.

i just put it on my sd card and then es file explorer to move it over on the phone
26th April 2012, 03:14 AM   |  #7  
Turboboxer's Avatar
Senior Member
ATLANTA
Thanks Meter: 81
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by porkchopexpress

What is the best way to get in there and change the files around? I downloaded Android Commander on to my computer and even though it lets me downloads files to my PC, it won't let me do anything to the android system files because it says I need root, even though I do in fact have root.

Download to SD. Then I use root explorer. PM me your email. I got some goodies for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to Turboboxer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 07:37 AM   |  #8  
probablecauz69's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
ok i am able to change the boot animation and got rid of the t mobile jingle. now i want to add my own audio file during the boot animation. what do i need to name the file to work properly. i named it just like the t mobile jingle sound but that didnt work. any help would be greatly appreciated
26th April 2012, 06:35 PM   |  #9  
porkchopexpress's Avatar
Member
Flag Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
The T-Jingle is just a ringtone, the bootup sound is named ruby_something, I don't remember what exactly off the top of my head, but it is a .wav file.

If I am going to put my own boot animation in here, can I just find a GIF of the appropriate dimensions and rename it .zip, or do I have to take each frame and convert it to a .png and put it in a zip file the same way that the default boot animation is?
26th April 2012, 09:21 PM   |  #10  
probablecauz69's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by porkchopexpress

The T-Jingle is just a ringtone, the bootup sound is named ruby_something, I don't remember what exactly off the top of my head, but it is a .wav file.

If I am going to put my own boot animation in here, can I just find a GIF of the appropriate dimensions and rename it .zip, or do I have to take each frame and convert it to a .png and put it in a zip file the same way that the default boot animation is?

no actually T-Jingle is the sound that was used on the original boot animation. as soon as i got rid of it that jingle did not sound when i loaded up the boot animation. i know the .wav file you speak of though. but if that was the boot animation sound why wouldn't it sound now with my new boot animation. there has to be some way to associate the new boot animation with what ever sound file when the phone boots up. as far as creating your own boot animation there are a lot of tutorials on this site. within the boot animation zip file there is a text file that basically tells the screen resolution and how as well as the frame rate and how the file should work. you should dl any boot animation and look at the desc.txt file. that will give you a little of an idea of how it all works.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes