Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Moving to AOKP

OP fairplay89

26th April 2012, 01:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I'm currently rooted, but running stock ICS.

How do I get to AOKP without loosing my apps and their data safely?

I'm fairly comfortable with ROMs/rooting on my Droid phones. Just a little nervous with my spendy tablet.

Thanks guys.
26th April 2012, 05:19 AM   |  #2  
Keion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Danville, California
Thanks Meter: 350
 
1,312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Titanium backup. Oh and if you want AOKP, you might want to check another site for the latest version.
The Following User Says Thank You to Keion For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 05:54 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thank you! XDA doesn't have the latest version? Wha?

Man I am soooo nervous to unlock.

Also I guess my next question is with AOKP updates. How do I apply those without wiping cache/data and all that every time like on my Droid?
Last edited by fairplay89; 26th April 2012 at 05:57 AM.
26th April 2012, 06:08 AM   |  #4  
rorytmeadows's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleston, SC metro area
Thanks Meter: 216
 
2,397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairplay89

Thank you! XDA doesn't have the latest version? Wha?

Man I am soooo nervous to unlock.

Also I guess my next question is with AOKP updates. How do I apply those without wiping cache/data and all that every time like on my Droid?

Sorry, I would speak my mind about moderators around here, but I'd probably be banned for free speech.

It's easier to bash the President than it is to say anything negative about an XDA moderator.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201
The Following User Says Thank You to rorytmeadows For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 06:14 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rorytmeadows

Sorry, I would speak my mind about moderators around here, but I'd probably be banned for free speech.

It's easier to bash the President than it is to say anything negative about an XDA moderator.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201

Glad to see freedom of speech is still alive and kicking. Hehe. Not the only forum with that problem.

And I wasn't trying to be negative. I thought that XDA was THEE place to go for Android stuff. Am I wrong? Where would I locate the newer version? AOKP.co? Just don't wanna download from Uncle Jimmy's used Android ROMs or anything.

Thanks.
26th April 2012, 06:20 AM   |  #6  
rorytmeadows's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleston, SC metro area
Thanks Meter: 216
 
2,397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairplay89

Glad to see freedom of speech is still alive and kicking. Hehe. Not the only forum with that problem.

And I wasn't trying to be negative. I thought that XDA was THEE place to go for Android stuff. Am I wrong? Where would I locate the newer version? AOKP.co? Just don't wanna download from Uncle Jimmy's used Android ROMs or anything.

Thanks.

I concur with you completely. I thought XDA was THE place to be. Apparently, there are other discos in town and there is a lot of fighting in between them.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201
26th April 2012, 07:10 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
It is not the popular opinion but simply put the forum is not controlled by the government. There is no free speech here.
26th April 2012, 07:34 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingwolf

It is not the popular opinion but simply put the forum is not controlled by the government. There is no free speech here.

And you're ok with that? Wow....

Back on topic though... how do I easily update AOKP versions?
26th April 2012, 07:40 AM   |  #9  
jetbruceli's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bamberg, Germany
Thanks Meter: 451
 
2,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
all I ever do when trying a new rom, is back up with Titanium Back up and also with Clockwork.
I install the new rom and see if its working fine. Then reinstall my apps and I am good. If all else fails, i restore to a back up on Clockwork
26th April 2012, 07:41 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Of course I am ok with it. Those are the rules I agreed to. Do I think the mods are fair? It depends on the situation.

But simply put this is not a public board. It is a private board that the public at large may view and join as they wish. Grow up.

The Following User Says Thank You to flyingwolf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes