Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,192 Members 38,112 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

upsell tethering on the Amaze

Tip us?
 
Arich0908
Old
(Last edited by Arich0908; 26th April 2012 at 08:11 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default upsell tethering on the Amaze

I have a rooted amaze. Last month I was able to tether fine and now I get the upsell page . I've tried freezing apps . No luck . I've tried at least 12 tethering apps no luck . So what's the fix to tether besides paying 14.99 a month for my data I already payed for.
 
Double0EK
Old
#2  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 839
Posts: 2,057
Join Date: May 2010
There's a thread regarding this issue. But I'll answer your concern.
You need to make a new APN same as the Tmobile one but a new one. Set it as Default. Then delete the Tmobile one or remove the default flag from it. Then you can use your hot spot without those problems popping up.

Edit...didn't even have to use the search engine..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1332627

Wait....I sent this with Tapatalk?
 
Arich0908
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2009
Ive read that already,
Ive done allot of reading. My phone came with that APN setting. For **** n giggle I tried it any ways and it didnt work.
If the Samsung Galaxy 2 can Freeze it , there has to be something similar for our phone I would think .
 
Double0EK
Old
#4  
Double0EK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 839
Posts: 2,057
Join Date: May 2010
Did you delete the stock APN or remove the default flag from it?

Wait....I sent this with Tapatalk?
 
elwaxman
Old
#5  
elwaxman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 129
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Working wifi Tether on ICS

Check Post 5 i got this one working fine



http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1621226
 
AndroidAutobot
Old
#6  
AndroidAutobot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 932
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Portland OR
All you have to do is clear the "apn type" field of the "t mobile data" apn settings. Why bother creating a whole new apn if this much easier method works? Just curious if there's any particular advantage... Mines been working just to e using this method, as have the amazes my two co workers use. Mines rooted (worked with the new ICS Rom and gingerbread alike), and my two co workers' amazes are completely stock. This method I've used seems pretty fool proof.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using xda premium
Twitter.com/AndroidAutobot
GTalk - AndroidAutobot
 
Arich0908
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndroidAutobot View Post
All you have to do is clear the "apn type" field of the "t mobile data" apn settings. Why bother creating a whole new apn if this much easier method works? Just curious if there's any particular advantage... Mines been working just to e using this method, as have the amazes my two co workers use. Mines rooted (worked with the new ICS Rom and gingerbread alike), and my two co workers' amazes are completely stock. This method I've used seems pretty fool proof.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using xda premium
I haven't tried that yet Ill try that and report back later.
 
MonkySlap
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 227
Join Date: Jan 2009
If you have the 5gb data plan or higher, you can get free tethering. Just go into a tmobile store and tell them you want the free tethering. Thats what I did at least.
Android Devices:
HTC Amaze: Rooted Stock ICS
Asus Transformer: Revolver HD ICS
HTC Glacier: Miui
Samsung Vibrant: Bionix V5 beta
Google Nexus One: CM6-RC1
Motorola Cliq: HandlerExploit 1.5
HTC Dream: CM-5.0.7-test3
 
Arich0908
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2009
Good **** changing the apn works for me.
 
Arich0908
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2009
And I went to go use it again ..... No go does not work now.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more

Android One Goes Live in India!

Android One is a Google initiative set to bring an AOSP-like experience tosome emergingmarkets like India, … more

XDA and LeaseWeb: Win Free Server Trial and Moto 360

As you might recall from a previousBehind the Scenesarticle we wrote, XDA’s … more