Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,049 Members 39,672 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Tutorial] Unbrick your softbricked HTC Wildfire S

Tip us?
 
vbhtt
Old
(Last edited by vbhtt; 17th August 2012 at 12:55 PM.)
#1  
vbhtt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 773
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mumbai
Default [Tutorial] Unbrick your softbricked HTC Wildfire S

Your phone is said to be bricked when you screw up with your radio partition of your phone. This contains the bootloader which loads the operating system. This is a hard brick and needs expensive hardware to fix. I can only help you with a soft brick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamingwynn View Post
Most people seen to not know the difference between a soft brick, a boot failure and a total brick.

Boot failure: commonly referred to as 'the HTC screen', 'the white screen' and of cause the 'help me my phone is stuck - problem'. This problem can be caused by many things, including the kernel, library's and ramdisk (think of a ramdisk like a map of your phones internal hardware). This can easily be resolved by flashing a new ROM.

Soft brick: Is where your phone gives out no screen output, but does give out some vibrations or you can access the bootloader utility/hboot, this can be fixed by flashing an RUU

Brick: your phone is as useless as a brick. It does not turn on nor make any vibrations, and you can not access the bootloader utility. There is no way to fix this.

Here's some ways to avoid soft bricking/bricking:

- Don't flash unofficial radio firmware
- Don't flash unofficial hboot software
- Don't throw your phone
- Don't flash anything suspicious in hboot
- Don't flash an RUU not designed for your phone

Here's some common misunderstandings:

- Roms, on there own will never brick your phone
- Kernels will never brick your phone
- The bootloader is not the radio
- Too many flashes will not brick your phone (however, you may make the internal memory smaller by KB because of bad sectors, but that story is for another time )

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using xda premium
Thanks to benjamingwynn for the above info. Original post

It is a good practice to keep at least 3 nandroid backups on your sd card or computer. Also, making a goldcard is also necessary to run an RUU and to flash a PG76IMG.zip these things make it easier to unbrick your phone

Install ADB and Fastboot here first.

A Soft brick may be of many types.

The 3/5/7 vibe Brick (common with A510c)
 
This is Qualcomm Diagnostics mode.
--> How To Fix It (Click here)
You have to use a PG76IMG.zip extracted from your RUU, and not the file given in that post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalaker View Post
To extract from the RUU,
  1. Launch RUU (For this to be easiest, close all other running applications)
  2. At the screen for the README, launch Windows Explorer
  3. In the navigation/address bar type "%TEMP%" without the quotes.
  4. Choose the first long-named folder (actually, the most recent) and open it.
  5. Follow folders until you get to where there is a whole, big list (it should only be 1 or 2 subfolders).
  6. Look for ROM.zip
  7. Drag to desktop
  8. Rename to PG76IMG.zip
  9. Put it on SD Card.




Phone doesn't boot but goes to recovery saying something like E:/ Invalid command argument
 
Your boot partition is messed up
-->How to fix it
-Flash your ROM again
or
-Flash another ROM
or
-Restore a nandroid backup.
If that didn't work,
-Extract the boot.img from your ROM zip and and copy it where ADB and Fastboot are.
-boot into your bootloader [wait 15 sec] select 'fastboot' and press power.
-type
Code:
Select Code
fastboot flash boot boot.img
Reboot


Stuck on splash screen (White backgound with green 'htc')
 
Wait for at least 20 minutes to be sure its really stuck.
--> How to fix it
-remove the battery, boot into recovery, Wipe Data/Factory reset and try again
-still doesn't boot?
Restore a nandroid backup/Flash another Rom


Bootloop (Bootanimation plays repeatedly)
 
Connect the phone to your computer, run a logcat using the
Code:
Select Code
adb logcat
command and look for repeating blocks
--> How to fix it
-remove the battery, boot into recovery, Wipe Data/Factory reset and try again
-still doesn't boot?
Restore a nandroid backup/Flash another Rom


Dont forget to click the Thanks button!!
Please leave your feedback/comments/corrections
Inform me if something is wrong and i will fix it
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Spartan View Post
You can lead a fool to wisdom but you can't make him think! XDA, mobile wisdom, not a n00b feeding ground!!
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to vbhtt For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fr33kachu
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2010
HI I have a 3 vibe brick on my CDMA VM USA HTC Wildfire S. It started with phone restarting and so I tried to recover though CWMod recovery, as I had backed it up when I first rooted my phone. During recovery it failed. I rebooted my phone then was stuck on the splash screen, after that I tried a battery pull and wound up with the 3 vibe brick. I have tried this method 4 times now, nothing seems to change, 3 vibes on power + vol down, wait 5 min, press vol up, wait 5 min again press vol up, no vibe, no nothing. screen stays black, no other vibes, do a battery pull, start over, same thing again. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated cause I have no backup phone at the moment.
 
vbhtt
Old
#3  
vbhtt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 773
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mumbai
I'm sorry that's my mistake you have to do that with a PG76IMG.zip, not pb31img. Extract it from the ruu of your carrier and then follow the procedure

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Spartan View Post
You can lead a fool to wisdom but you can't make him think! XDA, mobile wisdom, not a n00b feeding ground!!
The Following User Says Thank You to vbhtt For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fr33kachu
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Ok cool. I was kinda thinking that's what it was, cause every time I was in hboot before this happened that's what it looked for, but I wasn't sure. Not really familiar with android but learning. Thanks again, btw, it works and you rock.
 
vbhtt
Old
#5  
vbhtt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 773
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33kachu View Post
Ok cool. I was kinda thinking that's what it was, cause every time I was in hboot before this happened that's what it looked for, but I wasn't sure. Not really familiar with android but learning. Thanks again, btw, it works and you rock.
So you're unbricked now? Could you post the PG76IMG for other users?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Spartan View Post
You can lead a fool to wisdom but you can't make him think! XDA, mobile wisdom, not a n00b feeding ground!!
 
B3NJY
Old
(Last edited by B3NJY; 1st May 2012 at 12:09 PM.) Reason: more info
#6  
B3NJY's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bishy Auckland
Default usb connection

Hi, really good tutorial bud, mine is stuck on 7 or five vibe seems random at the moment...transffered zip to sd but I think my battery is dead and does not seem to charge on charger and laptop not recognising usb connection (though red led comes on....do I need to find alternative way to charge battery ? Also if in diagnostics mode would this show in device manager... as I am guessing if it does not that means I aint so phone is truly bricked...
Thanks ahead
Ben
 
vbhtt
Old
#7  
vbhtt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 773
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mumbai
So did you try the method shown?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Spartan View Post
You can lead a fool to wisdom but you can't make him think! XDA, mobile wisdom, not a n00b feeding ground!!
 
botski
Old
#8  
botski's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 1,150
Join Date: May 2010
thank you mate! really help for us keep sharing!

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using Tapatalk 2


 
machofx
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2012
Default hard brick?

Hey all.

I recently purchased a Wildfire S(no simlock, no branding) from ebay. The touchscreen was responding very randomly so (without giving it too much thought, sigh) I decided to flash it. I'm in Germany so I used "RUU_Marvel_S_HTC_Europe_2.13.401.3_Radio_47.23c.3 5.3037_7.54.39.28M_release_236989_signed.exe"

I don't know what I did wrong but now I seem to have a bricked phone. When powered on it displays nothing, it doesn't vibrate and it is not recognizes by Windows when connected via USB, it doesn't even show up in the Device Manager as some sort of device. The display keeps turning on and off every 2,3 seconds regardless if I turn the phone on or i just plug in the battery so now it sits with no battery waiting to be salvaged.

Can you confirm that I have a hard bricked phone? I've read that it is possible to unbrick the HTC Sensation by putting it in QDL mode.
Can this be done with the Wildfire S? I saw two little holes near the upper right corner of the battery.

If it is absolutely impossible for the Wildfire S, can you recommend a place in Munich where I could get my phone fixed? What's a reasonable price so I don't get ripped off?

Thank you all! I hope I've posted in the right forum. Should I open a new thread for this?

Ciao.
 
vbhtt
Old
#10  
vbhtt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 773
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mumbai
Did you unlock your bootloader? If not, you can claim your warranty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Spartan View Post
You can lead a fool to wisdom but you can't make him think! XDA, mobile wisdom, not a n00b feeding ground!!

Tags
3 vibe, bootloop, brick, bricked, unbrick
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes