Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Tutorial] Unbrick your softbricked HTC Wildfire S

OP vbhtt

27th April 2012, 11:43 AM   |  #1  
vbhtt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 357
 
773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Your phone is said to be bricked when you screw up with your radio partition of your phone. This contains the bootloader which loads the operating system. This is a hard brick and needs expensive hardware to fix. I can only help you with a soft brick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamingwynn

Most people seen to not know the difference between a soft brick, a boot failure and a total brick.

Boot failure: commonly referred to as 'the HTC screen', 'the white screen' and of cause the 'help me my phone is stuck - problem'. This problem can be caused by many things, including the kernel, library's and ramdisk (think of a ramdisk like a map of your phones internal hardware). This can easily be resolved by flashing a new ROM.

Soft brick: Is where your phone gives out no screen output, but does give out some vibrations or you can access the bootloader utility/hboot, this can be fixed by flashing an RUU

Brick: your phone is as useless as a brick. It does not turn on nor make any vibrations, and you can not access the bootloader utility. There is no way to fix this.

Here's some ways to avoid soft bricking/bricking:

- Don't flash unofficial radio firmware
- Don't flash unofficial hboot software
- Don't throw your phone
- Don't flash anything suspicious in hboot
- Don't flash an RUU not designed for your phone

Here's some common misunderstandings:

- Roms, on there own will never brick your phone
- Kernels will never brick your phone
- The bootloader is not the radio
- Too many flashes will not brick your phone (however, you may make the internal memory smaller by KB because of bad sectors, but that story is for another time )

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using xda premium

Thanks to benjamingwynn for the above info. Original post

It is a good practice to keep at least 3 nandroid backups on your sd card or computer. Also, making a goldcard is also necessary to run an RUU and to flash a PG76IMG.zip these things make it easier to unbrick your phone

Install ADB and Fastboot here first.

A Soft brick may be of many types.

The 3/5/7 vibe Brick (common with A510c)
This is Qualcomm Diagnostics mode.
--> How To Fix It (Click here)
You have to use a PG76IMG.zip extracted from your RUU, and not the file given in that post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalaker

To extract from the RUU,

  1. Launch RUU (For this to be easiest, close all other running applications)
  2. At the screen for the README, launch Windows Explorer
  3. In the navigation/address bar type "%TEMP%" without the quotes.
  4. Choose the first long-named folder (actually, the most recent) and open it.
  5. Follow folders until you get to where there is a whole, big list (it should only be 1 or 2 subfolders).
  6. Look for ROM.zip
  7. Drag to desktop
  8. Rename to PG76IMG.zip
  9. Put it on SD Card.





Phone doesn't boot but goes to recovery saying something like E:/ Invalid command argument
Your boot partition is messed up
-->How to fix it
-Flash your ROM again
or
-Flash another ROM
or
-Restore a nandroid backup.
If that didn't work,
-Extract the boot.img from your ROM zip and and copy it where ADB and Fastboot are.
-boot into your bootloader [wait 15 sec] select 'fastboot' and press power.
-type
Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
Reboot


Stuck on splash screen (White backgound with green 'htc')
Wait for at least 20 minutes to be sure its really stuck.
--> How to fix it
-remove the battery, boot into recovery, Wipe Data/Factory reset and try again
-still doesn't boot?
Restore a nandroid backup/Flash another Rom


Bootloop (Bootanimation plays repeatedly)
Connect the phone to your computer, run a logcat using the
Code:
adb logcat
command and look for repeating blocks
--> How to fix it
-remove the battery, boot into recovery, Wipe Data/Factory reset and try again
-still doesn't boot?
Restore a nandroid backup/Flash another Rom


Dont forget to click the Thanks button!!
Please leave your feedback/comments/corrections
Inform me if something is wrong and i will fix it
Last edited by vbhtt; 17th August 2012 at 01:55 PM.
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to vbhtt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
HI I have a 3 vibe brick on my CDMA VM USA HTC Wildfire S. It started with phone restarting and so I tried to recover though CWMod recovery, as I had backed it up when I first rooted my phone. During recovery it failed. I rebooted my phone then was stuck on the splash screen, after that I tried a battery pull and wound up with the 3 vibe brick. I have tried this method 4 times now, nothing seems to change, 3 vibes on power + vol down, wait 5 min, press vol up, wait 5 min again press vol up, no vibe, no nothing. screen stays black, no other vibes, do a battery pull, start over, same thing again. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated cause I have no backup phone at the moment.
28th April 2012, 06:48 PM   |  #3  
vbhtt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 357
 
773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I'm sorry that's my mistake you have to do that with a PG76IMG.zip, not pb31img. Extract it from the ruu of your carrier and then follow the procedure

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e
The Following User Says Thank You to vbhtt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 08:57 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Ok cool. I was kinda thinking that's what it was, cause every time I was in hboot before this happened that's what it looked for, but I wasn't sure. Not really familiar with android but learning. Thanks again, btw, it works and you rock.
29th April 2012, 03:51 AM   |  #5  
vbhtt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 357
 
773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33kachu

Ok cool. I was kinda thinking that's what it was, cause every time I was in hboot before this happened that's what it looked for, but I wasn't sure. Not really familiar with android but learning. Thanks again, btw, it works and you rock.

So you're unbricked now? Could you post the PG76IMG for other users?
1st May 2012, 12:36 PM   |  #6  
B3NJY's Avatar
Member
Flag Bishy Auckland
Thanks Meter: 14
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
usb connection
Hi, really good tutorial bud, mine is stuck on 7 or five vibe seems random at the moment...transffered zip to sd but I think my battery is dead and does not seem to charge on charger and laptop not recognising usb connection (though red led comes on....do I need to find alternative way to charge battery ? Also if in diagnostics mode would this show in device manager... as I am guessing if it does not that means I aint so phone is truly bricked...
Thanks ahead
Ben
Last edited by B3NJY; 1st May 2012 at 01:09 PM. Reason: more info
1st May 2012, 04:43 PM   |  #7  
vbhtt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 357
 
773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
So did you try the method shown?
1st May 2012, 04:46 PM   |  #8  
botski's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
thank you mate! really help for us keep sharing!

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using Tapatalk 2
1st May 2012, 05:01 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
hard brick?
Hey all.

I recently purchased a Wildfire S(no simlock, no branding) from ebay. The touchscreen was responding very randomly so (without giving it too much thought, sigh) I decided to flash it. I'm in Germany so I used "RUU_Marvel_S_HTC_Europe_2.13.401.3_Radio_47.23c.3 5.3037_7.54.39.28M_release_236989_signed.exe"

I don't know what I did wrong but now I seem to have a bricked phone. When powered on it displays nothing, it doesn't vibrate and it is not recognizes by Windows when connected via USB, it doesn't even show up in the Device Manager as some sort of device. The display keeps turning on and off every 2,3 seconds regardless if I turn the phone on or i just plug in the battery so now it sits with no battery waiting to be salvaged.

Can you confirm that I have a hard bricked phone? I've read that it is possible to unbrick the HTC Sensation by putting it in QDL mode.
Can this be done with the Wildfire S? I saw two little holes near the upper right corner of the battery.

If it is absolutely impossible for the Wildfire S, can you recommend a place in Munich where I could get my phone fixed? What's a reasonable price so I don't get ripped off?

Thank you all! I hope I've posted in the right forum. Should I open a new thread for this?

Ciao.
1st May 2012, 06:29 PM   |  #10  
vbhtt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 357
 
773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Did you unlock your bootloader? If not, you can claim your warranty

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
3 vibe, bootloop, brick, bricked, unbrick
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes