FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

I'm on AT&T go phone, can I purchase the one x full retail witouth problems?

6,996 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,759
 
By barondebxl, Senior Member on 28th April 2012, 12:33 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I know what you think, go phone sucks, not enough data blah blah blah. But AT&T recently upgraded their gophone data plan to 1GB from 500 mb. Honestly 1GB for me is more than enough cause I use wifi at home, wifi at work, I live in the Washington dc area and there's wifi everywhere so I barely even use my data. Do you think I'll be able to buy the one XL ( off contract of course) or will AT&T give me a hard time cause I'm a gophone customer? I'm just worry about the fact that it's LTE.
 
 
28th April 2012, 01:25 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
You might get some pushback from the rep or manager, but there's no reason why you shouldn't be able to get it. You will just have to change your APN, as the only one that works with prepaid is "wap.cingular"

Sent from my Lumia 900 using XDA Windows Phone 7 App
The Following User Says Thank You to mosesman86 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 01:50 AM |#3  
barondebxl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Silver Spring, MD
Thanks Meter: 1,759
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mosesman86

You might get some pushback from the rep or manager, but there's no reason why you shouldn't be able to get it. You will just have to change your APN, as the only one that works with prepaid is "wap.cingular"

Sent from my Lumia 900 using XDA Windows Phone 7 App

Thanks for the reply, I guess I'll buy it from amazon mobile that way I won't have to deal with the store reps and managers.
28th April 2012, 02:00 AM |#4  
kevina90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag maryland
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
I don't know.... they might auto switch you. I would try to ask customer service

Sent from my Liberty using XDA App
28th April 2012, 02:12 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by barondebxl

Thanks for the reply, I guess I'll buy it from amazon mobile that way I won't have to deal with the store reps and managers.

Typically, Amazon mobile or other 3rd party retailers, will charge more for non-contract phone than AT&T because they can't get any payback from AT&T.

Your biggest problem will be microSIM activation. You may have to buy a microSIM cutter to trim your current go phone SIM yourself. AT&T won't be thrilled to activate One X for a Go phone plan.

There is also a chance that AT&T will stop your data service once it detects that you are using a 4G smartphone (it has the IMEI number on database) on a Go Phone plan. Yes, it happened to others before.
28th April 2012, 02:26 AM |#6  
barondebxl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Silver Spring, MD
Thanks Meter: 1,759
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxbat121

Typically, Amazon mobile or other 3rd party retailers, will charge more for non-contract phone than AT&T because they can't get any payback from AT&T.

Your biggest problem will be microSIM activation. You may have to buy a microSIM cutter to trim your current go phone SIM yourself. AT&T won't be thrilled to activate One X for a Go phone plan.

There is also a chance that AT&T will stop your data service once it detects that you are using a 4G smartphone (it has the IMEI number on database) on a Go Phone plan. Yes, it happened to others before.

Thanks for the advice. I already have a micro sim cutter so I'm good on that end. I'm using a galaxy nexus on my go phone for about 3 weeks and no problem at all. It isn't 4G though so I don't know.
28th April 2012, 04:31 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by barondebxl

Thanks for the advice. I already have a micro sim cutter so I'm good on that end. I'm using a galaxy nexus on my go phone for about 3 weeks and no problem at all. It isn't 4G though so I don't know.

The difference here is that AT&T has no idea what Galaxy Nexus is because it doesn't have the IMEI number on file because it is not an AT&T branded phone. It does have all IMEI# of AT&T branded phones on file.
28th April 2012, 04:52 AM |#8  
barondebxl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Silver Spring, MD
Thanks Meter: 1,759
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxbat121

The difference here is that AT&T has no idea what Galaxy Nexus is because it doesn't have the IMEI number on file because it is not an AT&T branded phone. It does have all IMEI# of AT&T branded phones on file.

True. I'll call an AT&T store and ask them just to make sure.
28th April 2012, 04:57 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
It's a lot easier to do something like that with T-mobile's monthly 4g pre-paid plans. All you need to do is order a sim online from them. They don't care what you use with their plan.
28th April 2012, 05:13 AM |#10  
kevina90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag maryland
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
If I recall correctly u need a special lte sim to use lte.

Sent from my Liberty using XDA App
28th April 2012, 05:23 AM |#11  
barondebxl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Silver Spring, MD
Thanks Meter: 1,759
 
More
I don't really need lte, if I pop up my sum can I use hspa+?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes