The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Android holding Exclamation Point during upgrade

OP Hotaru99

28th April 2012, 07:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
So, I'm another user with gen 3.2, trying to get the ICS update. Been following the threads at the Acer forums, and here, about using the power/volume reset with update.zip methods. But the problem is that no matter what decrypted update.zip I use, both trying to go to 3.2.1 and straight to ICS, as soon as the update begins I get the Droid holding an exclamation point sign, then the tab resets and boots up normally.

I'm on an A100, 3.2, Kernel version 2.6.36.3, Build Number 1.018.05_COM_Gen2. Battery is at full charge and the charger is connected. Tablet is not rooted, and has been factory reset. Any help is appreciated.
28th April 2012, 07:31 PM   |  #2  
Synica1's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotaru99

So, I'm another user with gen 3.2, trying to get the ICS update. Been following the threads at the Acer forums, and here, about using the power/volume reset with update.zip methods. But the problem is that no matter what decrypted update.zip I use, both trying to go to 3.2.1 and straight to ICS, as soon as the update begins I get the Droid holding an exclamation point sign, then the tab resets and boots up normally.

I'm on an A100, 3.2, Kernel version 2.6.36.3, Build Number 1.018.05_COM_Gen2. Battery is at full charge and the charger is connected. Tablet is not rooted, and has been factory reset. Any help is appreciated.

Look inside the update.zip file you're using, you should see like four folders, a couple of text files, and a boot.img / flexrom.img file. If you see another .ZIP file instead, you probably have your update.zip nested inside another .ZIP file. Just need to "unwrap" it.

Hope that helps!
28th April 2012, 07:35 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotaru99

So, I'm another user with gen 3.2, trying to get the ICS update. Been following the threads at the Acer forums, and here, about using the power/volume reset with update.zip methods. But the problem is that no matter what decrypted update.zip I use, both trying to go to 3.2.1 and straight to ICS, as soon as the update begins I get the Droid holding an exclamation point sign, then the tab resets and boots up normally.

I'm on an A100, 3.2, Kernel version 2.6.36.3, Build Number 1.018.05_COM_Gen2. Battery is at full charge and the charger is connected. Tablet is not rooted, and has been factory reset. Any help is appreciated.

I was in exactly the same boat as you. I flashed the update from here. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1611696

with no problems.

I do know however others have had issues with their micro sd cards.
make sure it is formatted fat
try another card, some just don't want to play nice.

past that put that file, and that file only on the card, rename to update, and flash away. it worked great. I should have done it weeks ago.
28th April 2012, 07:36 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
No, I see the boot and flexrom.img files. All the ones I've tried were (supposedly) pre-decrypted files and are only zipped to one level.

The attempt to get to 3.2.1 file is 235 meg, and has Acer_A100_2.007.04_COM_GEN1.txt in it. The file attempting to go straight to ICS is the stock release from this site.
28th April 2012, 07:41 PM   |  #5  
Synica1's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotaru99

No, I see the boot and flexrom.img files. All the ones I've tried were (supposedly) pre-decrypted files and are only zipped to one level.

The attempt to get to 3.2.1 file is 235 meg, and has Acer_A100_2.007.04_COM_GEN1.txt in it. The file attempting to go straight to ICS is the stock release from this site.

Hmmm. You haven't done a custom recovery or anything, right? Could be an SD card issue, like the user above mentioned.
28th April 2012, 07:47 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Ok, now that is weird. I use a Sandisk 16gb in my tablet, and it wasnt working. Just tried the 4gb Sandisk from my phone (after backing it up), and its installing >_< Thanks for the help, been trying all day lol.
28th April 2012, 08:01 PM   |  #7  
Synica1's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotaru99

Ok, now that is weird. I use a Sandisk 16gb in my tablet, and it wasnt working. Just tried the 4gb Sandisk from my phone (after backing it up), and its installing >_< Thanks for the help, been trying all day lol.

There's been a problem with counterfeit SD cards in the last year or so. There are a few threads on here about how to verify the 16/32 GB Class 6 (or 10) SD card you just paid 30-60$ for is actually a 16 or 32 GB card, and is actually the class you paid for. Even "reputable" stores can be fooled by some of the knock-offs. :\

Cheers, glad it's working for you now!
28th April 2012, 08:41 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I bought both of them at Bestbuy.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes