Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,363 Members 47,846 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Where's my CPU ID at, why you need adb and whats fastboot!!

Tip us?
 
dibb_nz
Old
(Last edited by dibb_nz; 4th July 2014 at 01:59 AM.) Reason: bit of a tidy up
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Default [GUIDE] Where's my CPU ID at, why you need adb and whats fastboot!!

Retrieve your CPUID


(1) Use a500Manager Tool (download at bottom of post)
This tool is your first port of call! It will download the drivers, retrieve your CPUID, and flash the unlocked bootloader.

(2) Using Terminal Emulator

Reboot your tab
Code:
dmesg | grep androidboot.serialno
some have reported this did not work for them but that this one did when they tried it:
Code:
dmesg > /mnt/external_sd/dmesg.txt
(3)Using USBDeview
 
Suggest you extract to the same folder you used for your adb files,
USBDeview will only work when you have previously plugged your tab into the PC WHILE
you were running HC Rom and BL

1 Run the exe and you will be presented with a window of all the USB devices you have ever plugged into your computer.

2 Click on "VendorID" along the top to sort them

3 Look for the number "0502" under VendorID or 3325 "ProductID"

4 In the serial number column will be a 15-digit number this is your device ID

5 Write the number down and put a 0 in front of it and now you have your CPU ID!!!

(4) From your nandroid backup

In the cwm folder on your ext. sd card - open one of your backup folders and look for "uid.txt" file.

From cwm 1.7.2 on, will dislay your "uid" on the menu screen, and from memory TWRP does too.-

(5) Run command "adb devices" in command prompt HC ONLY

(6) From Custom Recovery

Most of the custom recovery's now have your uid displayed on the main screen of the recovery menu

(7) From a working Tab...

open yr file explorer, esfile explorer is a great one....
navigate to:
/sys/firmware/fuse/acer_cpuid - add a zero to the front!!! easy peasy

(8)From a bricked or non-booting Tab

then things become a little more complex. And more involved if you have no backup.
The only way is using Linux. srbeen has a guide to do this using code by eppeP. There are those who being Linux noobs have had success with this method.
Read the whole thread as there are some helpful hints all thru the guide. If you get stuck eppeP is still around and will help out, if you can show an example of
"how and where" something does not seem to be working for you. If your questions go unanswered its because its been answered before so please go thru the thread!!!

here.
srbeens guide here

Cannot boot tab because:

(1) "Write Protected - need to enter password
If you encrypt your data and forget your password - you must do a full data reset wipe to get into your system again

(2) Stuck on the Acer Screen
From user JDGM3NT4L - Want to return to stock? This is for you...
A500 Back to Factory Stock the easy way
- via stock update.zip method
- no cpuid required,
- use with or w/out patched bootloader.
- needs cwm installed
- full data wipe needed

(3) Other things to check

- check data cables, micro-usb cable required
- plug in to another USB Port
- check you have the cable actually connected to both device

Try a different PC. Vista/Win 7/XP usually have no problems, there are issues with Win8 and 64bit systems

Also a heads up for when entering your uid's into the tool generators - a space counts as a character and will produce
an incorrect sbk!!!

You CANNOT use lowercase letters in your cpuid. If you do lowercase it will give you a different result

Vaches new SBK Tool here OR [/B]

DRIVERS

The drivers are not installed properly, I can hear you all already!! I've done that over and over and its not working!!!!

sometimes if you fail to complete a nvflash you need to completely reinstall the Acer Drivers before it seems to want to finish...ssoooooooo, uninstall and reinstall!!!!

 
Acer Support for Acer APX/Fastboot/Recovery Drivers
Android SDK for the adb/USB drivers - You can d/l a mini zip containing just the adb and fastboot drivers attached to this post "adb_fast.zip"



GUIDES
Civs Guide to flashing the bootloader

walkthrough using apxflash tool at Step 6
From Civato's OP of The Guide: nvFlashToolPackages

Skrilax_CZ bootloader thread and should be "required reading" for anyone mucking about in their tabs internals!!!!

Rollback to HC
jazzyjames guide here

Iconia Root/gingerbreak: For returning to Honeycomb


GETTING ADB SET UP

 
It's a pain typing "my path" into cmd, can't I just type "adb devices"

Set adb as Environment Variable or call adb direct from command prompt

first, copy the path to your install - in this case:

"Path to adb" = C:\android\

1. Click on the Start menu

2. Right click on Computer

3. Click on Advanced system settings

4. Click on the Environment Variables button

5. Look for Path in the System Variables section. Double click on it

6. Go to the end of the Variable value box and put in a semicolon ;

7. Now paste your "Path to adb" after the ;

8. it should look like this in this case C:\android\adb

9. Now test it out - start - run/search - cmd - in cmd window type: adb devices

10. If you've followed the steps you will see your device ID - voila!!!!

ееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееееее ееееееее
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	usbdeview.jpg
Views:	4093
Size:	133.9 KB
ID:	1041235   Click image for larger version

Name:	dmesg.jpg
Views:	2195
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	1041279  
Attached Files
File Type: zip usbdeview-x64.zip - [Click for QR Code] (94.3 KB, 2717 views)
File Type: zip usbdeview.zip - [Click for QR Code] (69.6 KB, 2869 views)
File Type: zip adb_fast.zip - [Click for QR Code] (778.3 KB, 1973 views)
File Type: zip APX_v0.4A-flashTool-500Manager1.0.2 (1).zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.12 MB, 2200 views)

Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off
The Following 24 Users Say Thank You to dibb_nz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
civato
Old
#2  
civato's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 14790
Posts: 3,741
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I added a link to this in the V3 guide.
Thanks for this.
The Following User Says Thank You to civato For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dibb_nz
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
I added a link to this in the V3 guide.
Thanks for this.
Why thank you...all good civ, anything to help really

Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off
The Following User Says Thank You to dibb_nz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DrPlumEU
Old
#4  
DrPlumEU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 120
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Unhappy Stock ICS unable to access any of this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dibb_nz View Post
If you are upgrading/downgrading using APX mode then you need your cpu id.
if you're having problems then keep reading...

Upgrading via an EUU/SBK method is dependant on a "successful communication connection" between your TAB and PC

If you cannot run "adb devices" and have it return your CPU ID then the flashing process will fail.

If you have a custom ICS rom AND on the HC Bootloader this number will be your serial no. please see note below

ok, lets go, you need the correct drivers installed to begin with:


1) go to Acer Support and download the Acer Drivers
2) run the Setup.exe to install them

You must also have the ADB drivers from the android-sdk (see attached zip)

3) Extract the adb files to your desktop
4) Open command prompt as admin
5) In the command prompt window type cd
6) leave a space after it
7) drag and drop the adb folder into the command window (This saves you having to enter the path manually)
8) Now, type adb devices and write your device ID down with a zero in front...done!!!

If you cannot get adb to retrieve your ID then the flashing process will not work as it should.

You need to fix this first....

*****Note: HC Bootloaders on custom ICS builds
adb will report your device ID as your serial number, which of course will not work for APX based flashing - thanks to tehdomil for the heads up
you guys will need your original HC CPU ID which you can get from the back up you made before flashing the ICS rom. For those that didn't - try usbdeview below.

*****How to retrieve your CPU ID from USBDeview
Suggest you extract to the same folder you used for your adb files, just to keep things tidy...you're bound to want these things again
1) If you haven't plugged your tab into this pc before, do so now, before you run the program.
1a) Run the exe and you will be presented with a window of all the USB devices you have ever plugged into your computer.
2) click on "VendorID" at the top to sort them
3) Look for the number "0502" under VendorID or 3325 "ProductID"
4) In the serial number column will be a 15-digit number this is your device ID
5) Write the number down and put a 0 in front of it and now you have your CPU ID


The adb guide will still apply as far as getting your tab and pc talking on the same wave length
Ok, followed all the steps. But cannot get my PC to recognise my tablet completely. MTP:yes, or Camera:yes, yet there is a driver missing which fails to load/install. Any ideas from you bright people?

I would like to access bootloader and flash recovery.

V frustrating.

For example, where do you find mtpfs and mount for Win 7 x64?

Thanks
HTC One X [ROM] TripNDroid CM 10.1 - Endeavor Unleashed | 007
Recovery: ClockworkMod 5.8.4.0


_______________
ASUS TF300T
CleanROM Inheritance 4.1
TWRP 2.4.4.0

Evil will succeed if the Good do nothing
Former Devices: Acer Iconia A500 Galaxy Spica Huewai X3
 
dibb_nz
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPlumEU View Post
Ok, followed all the steps. But cannot get my PC to recognise my tablet completely. MTP:yes, or Camera:yes, yet there is a driver missing which fails to load/install. Any ideas from you bright people?

I would like to access bootloader and flash recovery.

V frustrating.

For example, where do you find mtpfs and mount for Win 7 x64?
Thanks
What shows in the command window after typing in adb devices?

Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off
The Following User Says Thank You to dibb_nz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DrPlumEU
Old
#6  
DrPlumEU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 120
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
dibb_nz

/ adb devices
List of devices

/


In device manager, I have a "Other devices" Acer Iconia A500 no driver installed, yet "Portable Device" Acer Iconia A500 is fine.

I can copy and paste files from tablet while in MTP mode. No difference with SD card mounted or unmounted.

Very frustrating. The last device driver I assume is "USB device" but despite mucking around with Acer USB device drivers 1.00.0524 and 1.06.1500 no luck.

Grr
HTC One X [ROM] TripNDroid CM 10.1 - Endeavor Unleashed | 007
Recovery: ClockworkMod 5.8.4.0


_______________
ASUS TF300T
CleanROM Inheritance 4.1
TWRP 2.4.4.0

Evil will succeed if the Good do nothing
Former Devices: Acer Iconia A500 Galaxy Spica Huewai X3
 
dibb_nz
Old
(Last edited by dibb_nz; 1st May 2012 at 12:02 PM.)
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Default oops.....

save for later

Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off
 
dibb_nz
Old
(Last edited by dibb_nz; 1st May 2012 at 12:26 AM.) Reason: clarification
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Default list of devices shows but no number

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPlumEU View Post
dibb_nz

/ adb devices
List of devices

/


In device manager, I have a "Other devices" Acer Iconia A500 no driver installed, yet "Portable Device" Acer Iconia A500 is fine.

I can copy and paste files from tablet while in MTP mode. No difference with SD card mounted or unmounted.

Very frustrating. The last device driver I assume is "USB device" but despite mucking around with Acer USB device drivers 1.00.0524 and 1.06.1500 no luck.

Grr
sorry bit caught up at the moment
things to check first:

...1) That you do have USB debugging enabled:Settings>Applications>Development
...2) Win7/Vista work best; XP can be titchy
...3) You d/l the "Just_adb.zip" to install the adb drivers - you dont mention an entry for them in Device Manager
...4) Switch USB ports on your pc
...5) Try another USB cable
...6) Put the MTP thing aside for now, they have no bearing on this issue

If still no joy then if you can, try another pc
If thats not possible then uninstal and reboot both devices
then reinstall both acer and adb - acer ones mainly
When you connect your tab again WAIT for windows to install them and see how u go

Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off
The Following User Says Thank You to dibb_nz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
spoupard
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 39
Join Date: Apr 2011
ADB or USBDeview both tell me that my CPUID is 0123456789ABCDEF. Of course, if I get the SKB and use NVFlash to validate it, it fails with a message that says "USB device not found."

I found my CPUID (0x033c20c541a051d7) in an old nandroid backup and tried it but with the same results.

Any ideas?
 
dibb_nz
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Default CPU ID : Dev ID : UID

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoupard View Post
ADB or USBDeview both tell me that my CPUID is 0123456789ABCDEF. Of course, if I get the SKB and use NVFlash to validate it, it fails with a message that says "USB device not found."

I found my CPUID (0x033c20c541a051d7) in an old nandroid backup and tried it but with the same results.

Any ideas?
Ok i'm amending the guide as we speak, just to be clearer.

The device ID as reported by adb is 15 digits long the (UID)
when we use this no. for an EUU based flash we add a 0 to the front making 16 digits (CPUID)
the one in your nand adds 0x to the basic UID 17 digits

the CPUID from the EUU is for Honeycomb bootloaders
Which I believe is different for ICS bootloaders
and different again for HC b/l on ICS Rom!!!

i tried the SBK generator last nite for the first time and entered only my UID
and had no probs
so give that a go (in the example you gave) 033c20c541a01d7


Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes