5,594,438 Members 33,459 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

724MB of ram??

Tip us?
 
zooster
Old
#1  
zooster's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 170
Posts: 1,553
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default 724MB of ram??

My tab shows 724MB of ram and not 1GB... Is it right??

HTC Sensation Z710e- ViperS 3.1.4

Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 GT-P7310 - StockRom V8

 
aj_vogtman
Old
#2  
aj_vogtman's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 97
Join Date: Feb 2010
The video uses the rest.
The Following User Says Thank You to aj_vogtman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rovex
Old
#3  
rovex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: Nov 2008
Yeah its a deceptive practice that the on-board PC graphics industry started. While it does have 1GB of RAM its not all available to apps, as far as im concerned the device doesn't therefore have 1GB of RAM in any true sense.
 
nirogu325
Old
#4  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 557
Posts: 1,440
Join Date: Oct 2010
The rest is reserved for the device's components for them to actually work.

Sent from my GT-P7310 using Tapatalk 2
 
rovex
Old
#5  
rovex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thats not a good reason. 'Reserved' means apps dont have the full volume to access. My PC has 8GB of physical RAM, and 8GB can be used.
 
nirogu325
Old
(Last edited by nirogu325; 2nd May 2012 at 07:29 PM.)
#6  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 557
Posts: 1,440
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovex View Post
Thats not a good reason. 'Reserved' means apps dont have the full volume to access. My PC has 8GB of physical RAM, and 8GB can be used.
As long as the device works as it should...and it does wonderfully here. The very same happens with storage devices. Look it up on Google, this has been discussed in several places already.

Edit: A small example link.
 
rovex
Old
#7  
rovex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: Nov 2008
Well 'wonderfully' is a matter of opinion, the 8.9 is a laggy old mess frankly, but its serviceable enough for the price i paid (which was a lot less than its launch price).
 
nirogu325
Old
#8  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 557
Posts: 1,440
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovex View Post
Well 'wonderfully' is a matter of opinion, the 8.9 is a laggy old mess frankly, but its serviceable enough for the price i paid (which was a lot less than its launch price).
Barely laggy with AOKP and ADW-EX. Oh and I paid the launch price.
 
rovex
Old
#9  
rovex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: Nov 2008
No tried that its still laggy. I suppose its all relative, but its not smooth by any means.
 
andray
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 62
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Zheleznodorozhny

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovex View Post
No tried that its still laggy. I suppose its all relative, but its not smooth by any means.
It's Android. Responsiveness depends on it's mood

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more

HTC Releases Dual Lens SDK for the HTC One M8 (2014)

One of the highlights of the HTC One M8is its new dual lens camera system. Termed … more