Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

724MB of ram??

OP zooster

2nd May 2012, 12:23 PM   |  #1  
zooster's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
1,734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
My tab shows 724MB of ram and not 1GB... Is it right??
2nd May 2012, 12:52 PM   |  #2  
aj_vogtman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
The video uses the rest.
The Following User Says Thank You to aj_vogtman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 04:12 PM   |  #3  
rovex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 222
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Yeah its a deceptive practice that the on-board PC graphics industry started. While it does have 1GB of RAM its not all available to apps, as far as im concerned the device doesn't therefore have 1GB of RAM in any true sense.
2nd May 2012, 06:40 PM   |  #4  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 758
 
1,870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
The rest is reserved for the device's components for them to actually work.

Sent from my GT-P7310 using Tapatalk 2
2nd May 2012, 07:25 PM   |  #5  
rovex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 222
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Thats not a good reason. 'Reserved' means apps dont have the full volume to access. My PC has 8GB of physical RAM, and 8GB can be used.
2nd May 2012, 08:11 PM   |  #6  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 758
 
1,870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovex

Thats not a good reason. 'Reserved' means apps dont have the full volume to access. My PC has 8GB of physical RAM, and 8GB can be used.

As long as the device works as it should...and it does wonderfully here. The very same happens with storage devices. Look it up on Google, this has been discussed in several places already.

Edit: A small example link.
Last edited by nirogu325; 2nd May 2012 at 08:29 PM.
2nd May 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #7  
rovex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 222
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Well 'wonderfully' is a matter of opinion, the 8.9 is a laggy old mess frankly, but its serviceable enough for the price i paid (which was a lot less than its launch price).
2nd May 2012, 10:57 PM   |  #8  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 758
 
1,870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovex

Well 'wonderfully' is a matter of opinion, the 8.9 is a laggy old mess frankly, but its serviceable enough for the price i paid (which was a lot less than its launch price).

Barely laggy with AOKP and ADW-EX. Oh and I paid the launch price.
2nd May 2012, 11:05 PM   |  #9  
rovex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 222
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
No tried that its still laggy. I suppose its all relative, but its not smooth by any means.
3rd May 2012, 12:36 PM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Zheleznodorozhny
Thanks Meter: 19
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovex

No tried that its still laggy. I suppose its all relative, but its not smooth by any means.

It's Android. Responsiveness depends on it's mood

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes