Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Which Mod Version

OP NoobfromtheLegends

6th May 2012, 08:46 PM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Here Am I again. Sorry for my questions I hope that I get one more reaction.

I have have successfully unlocked my bootloader with the HTC DEV method.
But I still don't have ROOT acces. I have installed ROM Manager to do a full back-up of my ROM but it says: 'You don't have ROOT acces'.

I tought that when I unlock the bootloader with the HTC DEV method that I have ROOT acces on my HTC Legend.

What am I doing wrong?

Please help!
7th May 2012, 12:15 AM   |  #12  
Stevemotto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 53
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoobfromtheLegends

Here Am I again. Sorry for my questions I hope that I get one more reaction.

I have have successfully unlocked my bootloader with the HTC DEV method.
But I still don't have ROOT acces. I have installed ROM Manager to do a full back-up of my ROM but it says: 'You don't have ROOT acces'.

I tought that when I unlock the bootloader with the HTC DEV method that I have ROOT acces on my HTC Legend.

What am I doing wrong?

Please help!

After unlocking boot loader, use HTC supertools (which can be downloaded in this forum or just Google it) and it should be rooted.

Sent from my Legend using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Stevemotto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2012, 12:17 AM   |  #13  
Stevemotto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 53
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Download supertools from link below

do it with htc supertool:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1431398
it worked for me after i unlocked my legend via htc dev


Sent from my Legend using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Stevemotto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2012, 09:44 AM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Talking
YEAH BIG THANKS! YEEEEAAAAAH! HTCSupertools were very easy! Thank you soooooooooooo much! Really, really, really thanks!

But..I want to back up my original Dutch 2.2 ROM. When I touch in Rom Manager:
Back up ROM, my Legend restarts and I get a phone with a red triangle.
When I push: Volume UP and then the On/Off button I get:
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/command.

I tried everything: Formatting SD card and much more.
Why is a backing up of my original ROM so difficult?

P.s. I also installed: Clockwork Recovery.
Last edited by NoobfromtheLegends; 7th May 2012 at 10:05 AM.
7th May 2012, 10:43 AM   |  #15  
rexjarvis's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Murcia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Exclamation Similar Problem.
Hi Folks,

The above is similar to my problem.... I am an absolute total NOOB!! Rooted my legend thanks to these forums just yesterday and have SuperUser, ROM Manager & ROM Toolbox installed and can see the root and access files so most things seem to work..... BUT.....

Every time I try to update the ROM or partition the SD card I get the dreaded red triangle/exclamation mark and have to remove the battery to allow the phone to reboot into the dreaded Vodafone ROM.

My startup shows "UNLOCKED" S-on but according to other threads here that is not a problem as unlocked automatically means S-off.

Any ideas or threads to read would be much appreciated thank you as I want to try Gingerbread before I risk ICS :)

Thank you :)
7th May 2012, 07:18 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Hi guys,

if you're experiencing the red triangle horror, don't be afraid it's quite common.
This triangle shows up when you try to reboot in recovery mod but the recovery image couldn't be loaded.

The easiest way is to use ROM Manager to update your recovery to the latest available and then press "reboot in recovery".

Otherwise, you can try to flash recovery image by hand.
Download the latest recovery image [1] and follow the method listed there which is :
Code:
adb reboot bootloader
fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-5.0.2.0-legend.img
EDIT: of course these two commands are to be executed in a shell command when your Legend is connected to your computer and the image file is in the current directory, otherwise put its path.

1: from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1290841
The Following User Says Thank You to bibzor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2012, 10:03 PM   |  #17  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by bibzor

Hi guys,

if you're experiencing the red triangle horror, don't be afraid it's quite common.
This triangle shows up when you try to reboot in recovery mod but the recovery image couldn't be loaded.

The easiest way is to use ROM Manager to update your recovery to the latest available and then press "reboot in recovery".

Otherwise, you can try to flash recovery image by hand.
Download the latest recovery image [1] and follow the method listed there which is :

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-5.0.2.0-legend.img
EDIT: of course these two commands are to be executed in a shell command when your Legend is connected to your computer and the image file is in the current directory, otherwise put its path.

1: from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1290841

I LOVE YOU! I did it and I did a flash image recovery by hand. Now I am going to back up my ROM!

Rexjarvis, if you don't know what to do with the command you have to do:

when the device is switched off, hold the volume down & power button in order for the phone to boot into the bootloader & connect the phone to the pc. You see now: ''Fastboot usb''.

Download the recovery_legend_5.0.2.8.img file and put it in the same folder on your pc as fastboot.exe & adb. then open the commandline on the pc, navigate to the folder that contains the fastboot.exe. You know: CMD and then C:\Android for example. Then you have to do the two commands from Bibzor:

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
fastboot flash recovery recovery_legend_5.0.2.8.img
7th May 2012, 10:16 PM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoobfromtheLegends

I LOVE YOU!
[...]
Then you have to do the two commands from Bibzor:

well ..

By the way, I just copied the commands from the thread I linked
The Following User Says Thank You to bibzor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2012, 11:19 AM   |  #19  
Stevemotto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 53
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoobfromtheLegends

YEAH BIG THANKS! YEEEEAAAAAH! HTCSupertools were very easy! Thank you soooooooooooo much! Really, really, really thanks!

But..I want to back up my original Dutch 2.2 ROM. When I touch in Rom Manager:
Back up ROM, my Legend restarts and I get a phone with a red triangle.
When I push: Volume UP and then the On/Off button I get:
E: Can't open /cache/recovery/command.

I tried everything: Formatting SD card and much more.
Why is a backing up of my original ROM so difficult?

P.s. I also installed: Clockwork Recovery.

No problems mate, glad to help

Sent from my Legend using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Stevemotto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2012, 12:49 PM   |  #20  
rexjarvis's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Murcia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Thumbs up
I have been trying to flash with ROM Manager but have permanent verification errors. Now I will try via adb as above. THANK YOU - Wish me luck :)



No joy... All I get is the same error E:Can't open.......... etc followed by E:Singanture verification error....

Can I not force an S-Off?
Last edited by rexjarvis; 8th May 2012 at 03:12 PM. Reason: Update:

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes