FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 30)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

HTC Media Link HD quick review

Thanks Meter: 305
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
13th June 2012, 04:31 PM |#131  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
yes you do not need a wifi network.

the media link HD sets up its own ad hoc network. call it "hotel mode" if you will... you dont want to pay for hotel wifi access so you bring along the media link. use its AD hoc connection and you are golden.
 
 
14th June 2012, 12:08 PM |#132  
speedofheat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Muscat, Oman
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Ok. Tried it out. This thing is a piece of junk.
14th June 2012, 03:07 PM |#133  
zerozoneice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedofheat

Ok. Tried it out. This thing is a piece of junk.

not a really helpful statement....
and why is that?
14th June 2012, 04:39 PM |#134  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
i have not checked but im told there is an update for the media link.
14th June 2012, 10:33 PM |#135  
zerozoneice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
More
http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/14/h...ink-hd-review/
15th June 2012, 10:37 AM |#136  
waz000000's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag leicester
Thanks Meter: 63
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedofheat

Ok. Tried it out. This thing is a piece of junk.

i once tried oily fish i hated it!
15th June 2012, 06:31 PM |#137  
speedofheat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Muscat, Oman
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
It has been an immensely frustrating exercise to try and get the device configured. In over 20 attempts, it has only connected once. The rest of the attempts resulted in not getting past the "configuring" screen or failures to even get to the "configuring" screen. The one time it did work, was fine, but since then, no success.
15th June 2012, 06:41 PM |#138  
waz000000's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag leicester
Thanks Meter: 63
 
Donate to Me
More
ive got one coming tomorrow ill check it out and post on here how I get on.

is there a firmware update available or anything? maybe you just have a dodgy firmware? from what ive seen most people seem to have good success though it's rumoured to need a good clean wifi signal from your router
16th June 2012, 05:43 AM |#139  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
let me remind you cats, you can DIRECTLY connect to the media link without a home network. try this and report your success...
16th June 2012, 09:12 AM |#140  
speedofheat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Muscat, Oman
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedofheat

It has been an immensely frustrating exercise to try and get the device configured. In over 20 attempts, it has only connected once. The rest of the attempts resulted in not getting past the "configuring" screen or failures to even get to the "configuring" screen. The one time it did work, was fine, but since then, no success.

IT WORKS!!

After 3 more restarts, including one hard reset (10 second button press), the device works and works flawlessly. It's been 15 hours now and it "just works".

I must say that it's a rather useful thing, especially if you have a large collection of favorite tunes stored on your phone and are a photoholic.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
htc media link hd one x
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes