FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

3G/HSPA Connectivity Issue

115 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
By kenyw, Senior Member on 4th May 2012, 10:22 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

My One S seems to occasionally have a few connectivity issues with 3G, I am not sure they are related to the signal issues already discussed in other threads in this forum. I have an international handset, MAO black version (has two tiny chips too, but not worth complaining about), running stock firmware, haven't done the dev unlock yet.

1) Sometimes the phone shows 'No Service', but I still have a working data connection and can make calls. Sending/receiving SMS appears not to work for some reason though. Can work around by switching into and out of airplane mode. Until I do that any SMS I compose under these conditions just pends, after the workaround they do get sent after a few minutes.

2) Sometimes something seems to go wrong with the 3G data connection, all the internet apps suddenly say they have no connection, alogcat says that DNS lookup is repeatedly failing even though I have a strong signal and 3G/HSPA connection (also tried connecting to IP addresses directly, doesn't work either). Tried getting online via Wi-Fi and it works, but all the Internet connectivity fails if I turn Wi-Fi off. If I reboot the phone it is able to get online again.

I brought this problem up in a live chat with HTC customer support and they have advised me to arrange for them to collect the phone for repair, the shop from whom I bought the phone advised the same. Just thought I would share it here and find out if it is common, or it is likely, as HTC think, there's something wrong with my phone's antennae. (My thought is that both could also be software problems)

Anyone else experience problems like this?
Last edited by kenyw; 4th May 2012 at 10:28 PM. Reason: Add advice from HTC
 
 
5th May 2012, 03:43 AM |#2  
jacewt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
I get the no service thing all the time, I pull it out of my pocket and press the power button, it says no service. I am going to call t-mobile in the next few days, I am trying to collect more data. It does it on my same spot on the couch where I used to get good coverage on my old phone. It does it on the same desk at work that I used to get good reception at. It kinda sucks.
5th May 2012, 08:00 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacewt

I get the no service thing all the time, I pull it out of my pocket and press the power button, it says no service. I am going to call t-mobile in the next few days, I am trying to collect more data. It does it on my same spot on the couch where I used to get good coverage on my old phone. It does it on the same desk at work that I used to get good reception at. It kinda sucks.

Yup, I get that and trying to get more data before sending it back to HTC. I'm not really certain but it's as if there is something wrong antennae? Seems to be quite a few with similar mobile network issues though.

I still have my old Motorola and with sim out of One S in the reception is good where the One S struggles to get a signal - if at all
5th May 2012, 07:03 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I have the same issue as Kenyw:

No connection for a while although within covered area.
Strong connection bars but no internet

Usually I switch to airplane mode and back then it works...until the next time!

Very frustrating! I don't think changing the phone would solve the problem!
5th May 2012, 07:45 PM |#5  
Xx_xBLADEx_xX's Avatar
Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Donate to Me
More
I have the same exact issue as the OP. Another example would be the streaming of music using Pandora and Slacker. I can listen to 1 song and skip 2 or 3 songs at best before I start having issues where it just keeps loading and I am in 4G range and 3G which shouldn't be a problem still.
6th May 2012, 03:03 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Same issue here.
6th May 2012, 08:03 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jipi

I have the same issue as Kenyw:

No connection for a while although within covered area.
Strong connection bars but no internet

Usually I switch to airplane mode and back then it works...until the next time!

Very frustrating! I don't think changing the phone would solve the problem!

I did exchange my One S for another and it is just the same

It's a bit of a queer issue. I know where I live I have a good Three UK signal as per experience with the Motorola phone. I can be anywhere between 2 bars (approx 104dBm) and no signal in the house and around the yard. Yet I can walk 20 yards towards mast approx 1 mile away and as soon as I get LOS (no buildings, trees) on the mast I get full signal???
6th May 2012, 11:57 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I buy my One-S a week ago in Germany and facing the same issue in Israel with Orange 3.5G network. I really don't know what to do now.
6th May 2012, 12:20 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 167
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alondror

I buy my One-S a week ago in Germany and facing the same issue in Israel with Orange 3.5G network. I really don't know what to do now.

Alon,

As mentioned in many different threads opened here in XDA, the issue is related to the phone and its current software version and not to the operator/SIM/area in the world.

Stay tuned and hopefully shortly HTC will provide OTA update or root your device and install one of the custom ROMs based on the new RUU 1.70 which might be solving this issue.

Oren
6th May 2012, 02:08 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks,

I will keep waching the threads around waiting for solution.
6th May 2012, 06:32 PM |#11  
silord's Avatar
Member
Flag IBK
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
I tried TrickDroid v1.0 base 1.70 but still same problem
The Following User Says Thank You to silord For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes