Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

3G/HSPA Connectivity Issue

OP kenyw

4th May 2012, 11:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Hi,

My One S seems to occasionally have a few connectivity issues with 3G, I am not sure they are related to the signal issues already discussed in other threads in this forum. I have an international handset, MAO black version (has two tiny chips too, but not worth complaining about), running stock firmware, haven't done the dev unlock yet.

1) Sometimes the phone shows 'No Service', but I still have a working data connection and can make calls. Sending/receiving SMS appears not to work for some reason though. Can work around by switching into and out of airplane mode. Until I do that any SMS I compose under these conditions just pends, after the workaround they do get sent after a few minutes.

2) Sometimes something seems to go wrong with the 3G data connection, all the internet apps suddenly say they have no connection, alogcat says that DNS lookup is repeatedly failing even though I have a strong signal and 3G/HSPA connection (also tried connecting to IP addresses directly, doesn't work either). Tried getting online via Wi-Fi and it works, but all the Internet connectivity fails if I turn Wi-Fi off. If I reboot the phone it is able to get online again.

I brought this problem up in a live chat with HTC customer support and they have advised me to arrange for them to collect the phone for repair, the shop from whom I bought the phone advised the same. Just thought I would share it here and find out if it is common, or it is likely, as HTC think, there's something wrong with my phone's antennae. (My thought is that both could also be software problems)

Anyone else experience problems like this?
Last edited by kenyw; 4th May 2012 at 11:28 PM. Reason: Add advice from HTC
5th May 2012, 04:43 AM   |  #2  
jacewt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 59
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I get the no service thing all the time, I pull it out of my pocket and press the power button, it says no service. I am going to call t-mobile in the next few days, I am trying to collect more data. It does it on my same spot on the couch where I used to get good coverage on my old phone. It does it on the same desk at work that I used to get good reception at. It kinda sucks.
5th May 2012, 09:00 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacewt

I get the no service thing all the time, I pull it out of my pocket and press the power button, it says no service. I am going to call t-mobile in the next few days, I am trying to collect more data. It does it on my same spot on the couch where I used to get good coverage on my old phone. It does it on the same desk at work that I used to get good reception at. It kinda sucks.

Yup, I get that and trying to get more data before sending it back to HTC. I'm not really certain but it's as if there is something wrong antennae? Seems to be quite a few with similar mobile network issues though.

I still have my old Motorola and with sim out of One S in the reception is good where the One S struggles to get a signal - if at all
5th May 2012, 08:03 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
I have the same issue as Kenyw:

No connection for a while although within covered area.
Strong connection bars but no internet

Usually I switch to airplane mode and back then it works...until the next time!

Very frustrating! I don't think changing the phone would solve the problem!
5th May 2012, 08:45 PM   |  #5  
Xx_xBLADEx_xX's Avatar
Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 18
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
I have the same exact issue as the OP. Another example would be the streaming of music using Pandora and Slacker. I can listen to 1 song and skip 2 or 3 songs at best before I start having issues where it just keeps loading and I am in 4G range and 3G which shouldn't be a problem still.
6th May 2012, 04:03 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Same issue here.
6th May 2012, 09:03 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jipi

I have the same issue as Kenyw:

No connection for a while although within covered area.
Strong connection bars but no internet

Usually I switch to airplane mode and back then it works...until the next time!

Very frustrating! I don't think changing the phone would solve the problem!

I did exchange my One S for another and it is just the same

It's a bit of a queer issue. I know where I live I have a good Three UK signal as per experience with the Motorola phone. I can be anywhere between 2 bars (approx 104dBm) and no signal in the house and around the yard. Yet I can walk 20 yards towards mast approx 1 mile away and as soon as I get LOS (no buildings, trees) on the mast I get full signal???
6th May 2012, 12:57 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
I buy my One-S a week ago in Germany and facing the same issue in Israel with Orange 3.5G network. I really don't know what to do now.
6th May 2012, 01:20 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alondror

I buy my One-S a week ago in Germany and facing the same issue in Israel with Orange 3.5G network. I really don't know what to do now.

Alon,

As mentioned in many different threads opened here in XDA, the issue is related to the phone and its current software version and not to the operator/SIM/area in the world.

Stay tuned and hopefully shortly HTC will provide OTA update or root your device and install one of the custom ROMs based on the new RUU 1.70 which might be solving this issue.

Oren
6th May 2012, 03:08 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Thanks,

I will keep waching the threads around waiting for solution.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes