Post Reply

[important note] ICS LEAK FIRMWARE ZIP and DOWNGRADING

OP yousefak

6th May 2012, 02:38 AM   |  #1  
yousefak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, UT
Thanks Meter: 850
 
1,785 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
This is kind of related to development, and still really important since those flashing Leak ROMs might not read the General section and not know if I posted this there. That is why I posted this here.

If you flashed any PG86IMG firmware zip for the Virgin Mobile leaks, you might not be able to go back.

EDIT: CHADS DOWNGRADE THREAD: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1641461

NOTE: This is not specific to freeza's zip. Any firmware zip for the leaks is the same.


Why?

The leak firmware has a file, dzdata_4g.hdr, which no other official firmware has.
The only similar thing other leaks have is dzdata.img which has confirmed not working since people flashing 2.17 ruu (which has this) are still showing the Virgin Mobile banner and having problems.
Downgrading will leave you with the Virgin Mobile dzdata_4g.hdr.

TL;DR/easier to digest
Leak has dzdata_4g.hdr
No official firmware RUU does
Downgrading leaves you stuck with dzdata_4g

What is bad about keeping the Firmware

If you have flashed the zip or have tried downgrading from it, you might be one of the few that have problems with:
-No 3G, just 1X
-No VPN
-More bugs
And everyone will be stuck with the "Virgin Mobile" banner.
Also you're flashing radios and firmware from an unnoficial firmware for a different device. This can cause a lot of issues.

If you aren't having problems and you flashed it, good for you.. Some do but most don't..

EDIT: We're marked as Virgin Mobile so we'll be at the bottom of the tower priority.. among other things..

Can I still flash the firmware zip minus dzdata_4g.hdr?

Try it and report back. It might brick or phone or cause random reboots with the ROM.

Is there a fix if I already flashed it?

See here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1641461

Summary:

The point of this warning is that if you flash the leaked firmware, there is a chance of you having problems. This chance is pretty high since I'd say like 1/10 of people have no 3G and signal quality for a lot of people got poorer.
If you get these problems, there's no going back. There's no way of fixing them.

Whether it's worth taking the risk or not is up to you.


Edit: This kind of explains the situation were in right now:

Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCFlyerX

BTW....if anyone can confirm that they can roam on data after flashing the VM firmware please let us know! I believe data roaming may not work any longer.


And to explain why I don't believe the Sprint ICS leak....very simply....all the rcdata.imgs from our ruus contain the same exact thing....the partition (RCData) is the Radio-Cust.(om?)er?) Data partition and holds pri information and roaming data!

So quite simply....we flashed a file that was built for a different carrier and are now marked as that carrier in different areas of the network.....this WILL conflict with other things as more of us use our devices at different levels!


ADDED AFTER..... Chad has just confirmed with Qualcomm that we have messed up our devices PRI! There is no way to revert from the VIRGIN MOBILE PRI!

The ICS leak may be our fix as it could contain a updated PRI that would be accepted by our devices partition!



Sent from my Evo 3D using Tapatalk 2.0
Last edited by yousefak; 7th May 2012 at 10:15 PM.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to yousefak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2012, 02:40 AM   |  #2  
youdug's Avatar
Senior Member
The Burgh
Thanks Meter: 2,375
 
1,783 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thanks man
6th May 2012, 02:42 AM   |  #3  
Cuppeerr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Grapevine, Texas
Thanks Meter: 821
 
2,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
I havent had any problems with upgrading and am happy with the ics leak so im good to go(: I've had same signal, same data speeds and everything....

Nice post btw
Last edited by Cuppeerr; 6th May 2012 at 02:48 AM.
6th May 2012, 02:42 AM   |  #4  
Jabawockee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 189
 
430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
That's a good thing I just flash away with s-on then.

sent from the future!
6th May 2012, 02:42 AM   |  #5  
ssojyeti2's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag North Miami Beach
Thanks Meter: 2,646
 
3,093 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
I happen to be one of those lucky chaps who flashed it and are suffering from extremely poor signal...
6th May 2012, 02:43 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
God damn...why did I flash this ish..
6th May 2012, 02:44 AM   |  #7  
yousefak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, UT
Thanks Meter: 850
 
1,785 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssojyeti2

I happen to be one of those lucky chaps who flashed it and are suffering from extremely poor signal...

I flashed it and went a few places and had what I think is extremely poor signal, but every time I checked my wifes phone's signal (stock Epic 4G) it is the same. Maybe just coincidence?
The Following User Says Thank You to yousefak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2012, 02:45 AM   |  #8  
vWvSTATICvWv's Avatar
Senior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 131
 
1,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Good thing I just flashed the roms and not the fw *PheeeW*
6th May 2012, 02:46 AM   |  #9  
mteezey's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 755
 
1,321 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Interesting. Curious to.see more feedback I myself did not update firmware. Signal seems normal.

Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk 2
6th May 2012, 02:46 AM   |  #10  
Jamesredmond82's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville, n.c.
Thanks Meter: 30
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
im not entirely sure how true this is cause I just nandroid back to WarmTwoPointThree and using my 4g hotspot from my Evo 3d

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in EVO 3D CDMA Android Development by ThreadRank