Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Free Up Ur Internal Memory *Move data/Dalvik-Cache to dev/ or system/ Partitions*

OP DeeJayAhmed

6th May 2012, 03:06 PM   |  #1  
DeeJayAhmed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 94
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
This Thread Will Help Yuh Guyx By Increasing Ur Android'x Internal Memory....!
THE PREFERENCE SHOULD BE MOVING UR DALVIK-CACHE TO SYSTEM/ PARTITION (As No One Reported Any Problem Doing This), MOVING THE DALVIK-CACHE TO DEV/ PARTITION IS THE SECOND OPTION (2-3 People Faced Problem Regarding Performance, I NEVER DID =P)....!

I Noticed That There Is A Partition Called dev/ In Our Phones Which Is Of 170Mb (Xperia Mini) And Is Only 2mb to 5mb Used...!
So I Decided To Move Dalvik-Cache To This Partition...!

EDIT: For Those Who Think That DEV Partition Is Automaticly Formatted Every Time Device Boot Up, I've Added A Zip File Named 02dalvik2cache (System Patition), This Will Move Dalvik-Cache To /System/ Partition...!
If Yuh Have More Than 150mb Free On Ur System Partition... I Will Recommend This Option...! Because I Feel It Takes More Time To Boot When The Dalvik-Cache Is On /dev/ Partition....!

This Is Wht Yuh Guyx Have To Do...!
1). Do Make A Nandroid Backup Before Doing Any Thing (So That If Something Goes Wrong, Yuh Can Restore As It Were Before)
2). Extract One Of The Attached File Then Copy The Extracted File (02dalvik2cache) To /system/etc/init.d/ ==> Yuh Can Use Root Explorer To Do This...!
3). Set Permission To rwxrwxrwx (Tick All)
4). Restart

First Boot Might Take Time...! Check Ur Internal Memory Nd If Everything Worked Fine U'll See The Difference And The Best Thing Is There Is No Performance Issue..!
FOR THOSE PEOPLE WHO SAY WHY NOT MOVE IT TO SD-EXT...!
=> Sd Cards Are Not Fast As The Internal Memory Even Yuh Have A Class 10 Card...!
Moving Dalvik-Cache To Sd-Ext Might Lead Yuh To Performance Issues
In My Opinion Never Move Dalvik-Cache Or Apps Data To Sd-Ext, It Will Slow Down Everything..! If Yuh Want To Move Just Move Applications...!

If Anyone Wants To Correct Me.. Go Ahead...!
IF THIS THING HELPED YUH HIT THANKX...!=)
Attached Files
File Type: zip 02dalvik2cache.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.0 KB, 1250 views)
File Type: zip 02dalvik2cache (System Patition).zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.0 KB, 951 views)
Last edited by DeeJayAhmed; 7th May 2012 at 06:08 PM. Reason: Added Option To Move DalvikCache To Either /Dev/ or /System/
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to DeeJayAhmed For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2012, 03:15 PM   |  #2  
Till-Kruspe's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,474
 
2,793 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
What are the requirement...

Sent from my WT19i using xda premium
6th May 2012, 03:30 PM   |  #3  
DeeJayAhmed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 94
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Till-Kruspe

What are the requirement...

Sent from my WT19i using xda premium

Yuh Should Be On Any Rom That Supports init.d Scripts (Almost Every Rom Supports That)..!
Nd Im On GingerBread..! Dnt Knw It Works With ICS Or Not...!
But If Some One Can Try It On ICS Nd Report Back It Would Be Great...!=)
6th May 2012, 03:37 PM   |  #4  
Till-Kruspe's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,474
 
2,793 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeJayAhmed

Yuh Should Be On Any Rom That Supports init.d Scripts (Almost Every Rom Supports That)..!
Nd Im On GingerBread..! Dnt Knw It Works With ICS Or Not...!
But If Some One Can Try It On ICS Nd Report Back It Would Be Great...!=)

I'm on stock GB 2.3.4...how can I have init.d...

Sent from my WT19i using xda premium
6th May 2012, 03:57 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 183
 
334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Lightbulb
thanks !
Now my phone have more memory!

But, will it affect the ClockWorkMod Recovery to backup dalvik-cache?
6th May 2012, 04:35 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
thank you,
working good
6th May 2012, 04:46 PM   |  #7  
DeeJayAhmed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 94
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Till-Kruspe

I'm on stock GB 2.3.4...how can I have init.d...

Sent from my WT19i using xda premium

I Dnt Think Stock Has Init.d Support...!
If Ur Rooted Yuh Can Check /system/etc/ And Search For A Folder Named Init.d...!
6th May 2012, 04:51 PM   |  #8  
DeeJayAhmed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 94
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danist727

thanks !
Now my phone have more memory!

But, will it affect the ClockWorkMod Recovery to backup dalvik-cache?

Hmmm! Nope! After Applying This Method I Made A Backup Of It...!
Than I Wiped Data Nd Cache And System Too...! Then Restored It Back Nd Everything Was There...!=))

Uh Can Try It And Confirm That Too..!
As The First Thing I've Mentioned Is That Yuh Should Do A Nandroid Before Doing This...!
So If Wht Ur Saying Is Right, Yuh Can Restore It Back To Its Original State...!=))
Last edited by DeeJayAhmed; 6th May 2012 at 06:10 PM.
6th May 2012, 04:51 PM   |  #9  
DeeJayAhmed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 94
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Driver007

thank you,
working good

Ur Welcome...!=)
6th May 2012, 08:22 PM   |  #10  
XperianPro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mars
Thanks Meter: 876
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
This cannot work because this partition formats every boot.

Sent from my WT19i using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
internal memory storage cache ext
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes