5,595,196 Members 45,882 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Mod] Google Play Multi DPI fixed

Tip us?
 
PlagueBoy
Old
(Last edited by PlagueBoy; 20th July 2012 at 06:06 PM.) Reason: Adding new links, test version.
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 35
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default [Mod] Google Play Multi DPI fixed

I have tried multiple play store fixes from around the web and seemed to receive multiple force closes and various other issues when trying to launch Google play and Google apps. So, I decided to take the time to actually fix the files for the rom that I am currently using. Therefore, if you are someone who modified the DPI of your phone manually, happens to be running the Alpha for CM9 (or are willing to try with other roms) you can download the Vending.apk and GoogleServicesFramework.apk from this thread here and see if it helps you too. I should mention that you have to Clear data on the Google Play Store after replacing the files so it can again work properly.

I know many people are going to just say "why didn't you just download LCDModderPro, since it has the market fix?" Simple answer, because I wanted to do it myself. That is one of the great things about Android, it's open source and you can modify things to meet your needs. So why did I post this if I just wanted to do it myself? Well, once it was done I figured I might as well share... below are the links if anyone finds it to be useful.

Google Play 3.5.16:
My attempt at a CWM flashable zip: http://d-h.st/L5B
The files if you just want to copy them to /system/app yourself: http://d-h.st/AhT
The original files in case something goes wrong: http://d-h.st/5FS

Google Play 3.5.19
CWM Flashable Zip: http://d-h.st/d0t
The files if you just want to copy them to /system/app yourself: http://d-h.st/JGo

Google Play 3.7.13:
CWM flashable zip: http://d-h.st/fvz
The files if you just want to copy them to /system/app yourself: http://d-h.st/GfI

I am requesting that only people more experienced try this one ^^ out. I am trying something different this time around and I only actually edited a couple of lines, literally one in both the GoogleServicesFramework.apk and one in Phonesky.apk. It has been working for me for three days now, if you have an issue or it fails to work let me know.

Don't forget to clear data for the Google Play store after installing
The Following 45 Users Say Thank You to PlagueBoy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
nrm5110 Old
#2  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Do what you do bro lol

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2
 
SolsticeZero
Old
#3  
SolsticeZero's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 336
Posts: 915
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston
Why didn't you just download LCD Modder Pr..... Oh..... Nevermind....
 
PlagueBoy
Old
(Last edited by PlagueBoy; 7th May 2012 at 03:02 PM.)
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 35
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolsticeZero View Post
Why didn't you just download LCD Modder Pr..... Oh..... Nevermind....
Ha! I guess that little rant wasn't totally necessary...
The Following User Says Thank You to PlagueBoy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
artbybart
Old
#5  
artbybart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 378
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami, FL
Thank you for sharing! I personally used LCD Modder Pro, but it's good to know another way to get it done!! Thanks again!
 
adi_scorpios
Old
#6  
adi_scorpios's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 216
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newark
Good work. there is option if we dont wanna use lcd modder pro....
 
Reflxxx
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 45
Join Date: Sep 2009
Thanks, works great. I like the fact that I can get Google Play working without the use of an extra application. I'll hope you keep this updated.
Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 Int
Rom: [ROM][XWKK5][2.3.6] CheckROM RevoHD™ V4
Modem: XXKL1
Kernel: void:echo
 
SolsticeZero
Old
#8  
SolsticeZero's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 336
Posts: 915
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlagueBoy View Post
Ha! I guess that little rant wasn't totally necessary...
Yeah, I was just messin with ya, dude. Great work, by the way. This is a lot more convenient.
 
PlagueBoy
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 35
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default Google Play Version 3.5.19

I downloaded and installed the newest Google Play store version (3.5.19) and it appears that google has changed the display metrics from DPI to Height/Width. I am waiting to see if the old problem of apps becoming unsupported reoccur with the new version. As of now, after clearing data and toying with the DPI some more, I still have access to all my downloaded apps and the error hasn't occurred. I will update if it proves necessary...
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to PlagueBoy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
marclabrosse
Old
#10  
marclabrosse's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlagueBoy View Post
I downloaded and installed the newest Google Play store version (3.5.19) and it appears that google has changed the display metrics from DPI to Height/Width. I am waiting to see if the old problem of apps becoming unsupported reoccur with the new version. As of now, after clearing data and toying with the DPI some more, I still have access to all my downloaded apps and the error hasn't occurred. I will update if it proves necessary...
Oh nice, I hope the issues will be a thing of the past so we can run custom DPI with no hassle. Thanks for the fix, its appreciated.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes