Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

I somehow got root

OP mewshi

8th May 2012, 07:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Using this

I let it run twice, and now it works great... weird.
8th May 2012, 10:09 PM   |  #2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,870
 
4,612 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
running 2.3.4/4.5.621?
9th May 2012, 11:43 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

running 2.3.4/4.5.621?

Seriously need root back on my phone. Is this build 4.5.621 on android 2.3.4?????

I had to get warranty replacement, and replacement is upgraded!!!!!!

Please let me know.

Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk 2
15th May 2012, 03:52 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
I tried the same thing you said you did and got nothing. which build version are you on? im on this god forsaken .622 on the r2d2 and nothing will work for root. if anyone has heard any news about accomplishing it please let me know
23rd May 2012, 06:33 PM   |  #5  
jwagman1's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
I Tried it a bunch of times on .621 and could not obtain root.


Data:

> su
> /system/xbin/su
> mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
> if [ -e /data/local/12m.bak ];
> then
> rm /data/local/12m.bak
> fi
> exit
> exit
$ su
su: permission denied
$ /system/xbin/su
/system/xbin/su: not found
$ mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
if [ -e /data/local/12m.bak ];
mount: Operation not permitted
$ if [ -e /data/local/12m.bak ];
> then
> rm /data/local/12m.bak
> fi
exit
$ exit
(success)

> mv /data/local/12m /data/local/12m.bak
(success)

> ln -s /data /data/local/12m
(success)

> su
> /system/xbin/su
> mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
> if [ -e /data/local/12m ];
> then
> rm /data/local/12m
> fi
> exit
> exit
$ su
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
su: permission denied
$ /system/xbin/su
/system/xbin/su: not found
$ mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
if [ -e /data/local/12m ];
mount: Operation not permitted
$ if [ -e /data/local/12m ];
> then
> rm /data/local/12m
> fi
exit
$ exit
(success)

> mv /data/local/12m.bak /data/local/12m
(success)

> su
> /system/xbin/su
> mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
> if [ -e /data/local.prop.bak ];
> then
> rm /data/local.prop.bak
> fi
> exit
> exit
su
/system/xbin/su
$ su
su: permission denied
$ /system/xbin/su
/system/xbin/su: not found
$ mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
mount: Operation not permitted
$ if [ -e /data/local.prop.bak ];
> then
> rm /data/local.prop.bak
> fi
$ exit
(success)

> mv /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_usb=0" > /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_ih=0" >> /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_core=0" >> /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_panic=0" >> /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_adb=1" >> /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_core=0" >> /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_efem=0" >> /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_bp_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_ap_mot_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
> echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_gki_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
mv /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_usb=0" > /data/local.prop
$ mv /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak
failed on '/data/local.prop' - Permission denied
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_ih=0" >> /data/local.prop
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_usb=0" > /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_ih=0" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_core=0" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_panic=0" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_adb=1" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_core=0" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_efem=0" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_bp_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_ap_mot_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_gki_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
cannot create /data/local.prop: permission denied
$ exit
(success)
23rd May 2012, 08:39 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Yeh that's about all anyone is going to get until a dev figures out the sbf now that it has finally been leaked

*alarmed sputter* from R2D2
27th May 2012, 09:46 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I really don't know how it happened. Like, at all. But... it works now o.O'

Sent from my DROID2 using xda premium
28th May 2012, 02:11 AM   |  #8  
supergear's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aurora
Thanks Meter: 39
 
341 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Thumbs down i doubt it
i doubt you got root on .621/.622
28th May 2012, 03:39 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I had it working until the data wipe I did today. Will report back with this attempt here.

No updates available, managed to get wifi tether for root users and ultimate backup to work properly. Trust me, I had it.

It looks like something about having it already rooted originally may help me here. Weird...
Last edited by mewshi; 28th May 2012 at 03:43 AM.
28th May 2012, 04:08 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Here, have some video proof:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5iwcwoa6Vx0

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes