Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[ROOT] One Click HTC One X (AT&T/Rogers/Others) (Win/Mac/Linux)

OP kennethpenn

9th May 2012, 11:00 AM   |  #1  
kennethpenn's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Washington, D.C.
Thanks Meter: 3,801
 
2,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
What will this do?
This will root your One X, install Busybox, and install the SuperSU application for rights management.
Instructions
  1. Download and install the HTC mobile phone drivers. [Windows]
  2. Download the mod edit: link removed
  3. Extract root.zip into a directory on your computer.
  4. Plug your HTC One X into your computer via USB. Recommended: Plug your device’s USB cable into the back of your computer if you’re using a desktop PC.
  5. Enable USB Debugging on your HTC One X. Settings >> Developer Options >>USB debugging (checked)
  6. Double click root.bat/root-linux.sh/root-mac.sh to run the script.
  7. Congratulations! Your device will reboot a number of times and then you will have full root access.
Who do I thank?
Don't thank me. Thank sparkym3 for this exploit. Thank crisis187 for testing it out first! Thanks viperboy for the primetime tool!
Linux/Mac untested. Should be working now. Let me know if there are problems.
Last edited by orangekid; 27th November 2014 at 12:13 AM.
The Following 278 Users Say Thank You to kennethpenn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2012, 11:06 AM   |  #2  
Maroon Mushroom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 447
 
1,169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thanks Kpenn!

You are a gentleman and a scholar
Last edited by Maroon Mushroom; 9th May 2012 at 11:32 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Maroon Mushroom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2012, 11:06 AM   |  #3  
LGSilva's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
652 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Inside root.zip there's only "root.img"
The Following User Says Thank You to LGSilva For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2012, 11:07 AM   |  #4  
kennethpenn's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Washington, D.C.
Thanks Meter: 3,801
 
2,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
Now it should work. File host problem. My bad guys!
Last edited by kennethpenn; 9th May 2012 at 11:10 AM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to kennethpenn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2012, 11:24 AM   |  #5  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag SLC
Thanks Meter: 8,691
 
4,880 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Restored with my retail RUU and ran this, worked perfectly!
9th May 2012, 11:28 AM   |  #6  
Maroon Mushroom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 447
 
1,169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Tips:

-Disable HTC Sync when you do this
-Make sure the port is open
-kill existing ADB.exe processes

otherwise you can get adb server out of date messages and a few other errors
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Maroon Mushroom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2012, 11:30 AM   |  #7  
LGSilva's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
652 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
If your adb is giving errors try to disable firewall - that happened to me
9th May 2012, 11:31 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 295
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
So this method is anonymous? As in htc wouldnt know?
9th May 2012, 11:33 AM   |  #9  
doin-it's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Can anyone confirm this is a working root for at&t X ?

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
Last edited by doin-it; 9th May 2012 at 11:46 AM.
9th May 2012, 11:33 AM   |  #10  
kennethpenn's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Washington, D.C.
Thanks Meter: 3,801
 
2,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maroon Mushroom

Tips:

-Disable HTC Sync when you do this
-Make sure the port is open
-kill existing ADB.exe processes

otherwise you can get adb server out of date messages and a few other errors

Should already do that with adb kill-server command.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to kennethpenn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes