Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,852 Members 40,367 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TUTORIAL] Unlocking(relocking) Samsung Galaxy Ace GT-S5830i

Tip us?
 
Cuii
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Makó
Talking [TUTORIAL] Unlocking(relocking) Samsung Galaxy Ace GT-S5830i

At the beginning, i gave my girlfriend a galaxy ace GT-S5830i.
My Network is the Telenor, Her is the T-Mobile.
So i wanted to unlock it..
All the methods of the GT-S5830 isnt worked.
After few long days, ive found a relock method (Network Provider Change (not unlock))

Progies, you need:
- Android SDK (or simply an ADB environment, below uploaded)
- KIES (only for the drivers)
- Root file(below uploaded)
- Hex editor(Below uploaded)

First you have to root your phone.
- Copy the update.zip to SD card
- Turn off phone
- Press and hold the Home button, and the volume up button.
- Press and hold the power button, until the Galaxy Ace text appears and disappears.
- When disappears, release only the power button...
- Wait until the Galaxy Ace text appears and turns into bright yellow.
- Release all the buttons, and the recovery comes up.

-Choose the apply update from SD card, then choose the zip, you copied.
reboot your phone...

Alright, Here comes the relock procedure
- First make sure, the usb debug is turned on...
[Settings>applications>Development>USB Debugging]
and the drivers are installed correctly (if it isn't, then install KIES)
- exrtact the ADB.zip from below to C:\
- Open Start Menu, then open Run command, and write here :

cmd

Then a command prompt comes up..
The commands:
Code:
c:
cd adb
adb shell
su     !! A SU windows pops up in your phone.. Allow it !!
cat dev/block/bml15 > /data/local/bml15.bin
exit
exit
adb pull data/local/
Open this link:
h t t p :// en . wikipedia . org/wiki/Mobile_Network_Code [remove the spaces]
Search for your current MCC and MNC.
and the provider, you wanted to change to.

write it down. First the MCC and then the MNC

For example i'd like to change from hungarian Telenor to hungarian T-Mobile
So for the hungarian telenor's MCC is 216 and MNC is 01 => 21601
and the hungarian T-Mobile's MCC is 216 and MNC is 30 => 21630

Extract the XVI32, you downloaded.
open it, and open the bml15.bin in your C:\ADB

Press ctrl+F
At the Text String line enter your code (my example code is: 21601)
press ok
Change it to your next code (My example next code is: 21630)
Save it as bml15_unlocked.bin

Then open your command prompt again.
Code:
c:
cd adb 
adb push bml15_unlocked.bin /data/local/bml15_unlocked
adb shell
su
dd if=/data/local/bml15_unlocked of=/dev/bml15
exit
exit
Reboot your phone with the new sim card
Attached Files
File Type: zip update.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.11 MB, 3018 views)
File Type: zip xvi32_253.zip - [Click for QR Code] (557.6 KB, 2420 views)
File Type: zip ADB.zip - [Click for QR Code] (375.7 KB, 2781 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Cuii For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Doky73
Old
#2  
Doky73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2910
Posts: 847
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: near to Budapest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuii View Post
At the beginning, i gave my girlfriend a galaxy ace GT-S5830i.
My Network is the Telenor, Her is the T-Mobile.
So i wanted to unlock it..
much easier way in my sig, also applicable for ACE S5830i
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Doky73 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
discord84
Old
#3  
discord84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 143
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colwyn Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doky73 View Post
much easier way in my sig, also applicable for ACE S5830i
Yes much easier thanks unlocked my S5830i no problems!! cheers!!!
 
TootyPang
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuii View Post
Code:
c:
cd adb
adb shell
su     !! A SU windows pops up in your phone.. Allow it !!
cat dev/block/bml15 > /data/local/bml15.bin
exit
exit
adb pull data/local/
Sorry I'm fairly new to this sort of stuff, how should I enter the code?
 
Doky73
Old
#5  
Doky73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2910
Posts: 847
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: near to Budapest
Quote:
Originally Posted by TootyPang View Post
Sorry I'm fairly new to this sort of stuff, how should I enter the code?
Forget about this commands, if your device is S5830i then download Galaxy Toolbox from Google Play Store! It's free...

See my sig!

Sent from my SGSII using Tapatalk 2 & Swype
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Doky73 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ruscan.calin
Old
#6  
ruscan.calin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 279
Posts: 622
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default ... "by George Orwell"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doky73 View Post
Forget about this commands
some will prefer to press a button some want the hard way and finally all are winners
unfortunately I don't have a Samsung phone to test it but surely someone is to appreciate first post on this thread too !
 
pieper2
Old
(Last edited by pieper2; 29th July 2012 at 11:41 AM.) Reason: it had no unlock after all
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2012
Great post Cuii easy to follow!

I was able to pull the bml15.bin. But now when I opened it, I have trouble finding the unlocking code. It doesn't seem tho match the wikipage
Can someone tell me on which line the code can be found? It's mentioned in XVI32 on the left (in hexadecimal) and on the bottom in decimal address.

Thanks!

<edit> : never mind it turned out my new phone was already simlock free !!! it was supposed to be simlock at delivery. I guess my provider made a mistake
 
the_mouse
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Masterton
Thanks this has saved my mates phone (he imported it was supposed to be unlocked but it wasnt). I tried every other procedure without success but this worked. Cheers
 
xzyl08
Old
#9  
xzyl08's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: caloocan
very nice tutorial keep sharing THANKS!!!!
 
bigstar16
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Did not work

Hello I tried the rooting as suggested and my phone does not turn on now. All it does is flash, I tried to flash my phone and still does the same thing after it reboots. Odin says that it passes but it still does not.

Any suggestions?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more

Immersive Mode on Unrooted Devices with GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode

Everyone likes screen real estate–no question about that. The … more

Android Wear App Review: EchoWear Song Search – XDA Developer TV

Yesterday on XDA Developer TV, Producer AdamOutler tore down a Samsung … more