Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Dual boot from SD and EMMC with Windows

OP hatefuel19

10th May 2012, 04:23 AM   |  #1  
hatefuel19's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lex
Thanks Meter: 108
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
This is how I got dual booting from windows working and am now dual booting Nottachtrix4G from sdcard with stable

cam and WEBTOP along side AOKPCB

I was only able to achieve this after following sendust7 linux guide for dual boot and adapting to windows so all

credit goes to him.

Again these are the steps I took. If you try this and break something I'm not responsible.

Pre-requisites

Notepad++
Minitool partition wizard
Android SDK (google adb for dummies to get everything you need)
Cygwin (if you dont have it start install now and it might be done when its time to use it)
The rom zip you want on your sdcard and the rom zip you want on your phone
Moto-fastboot (search this forum)
Knowledge of ADB and fastboot
Fully Charged Battery



Backup everything from internal and external sdcard

Reboot to recovery

Flash the rom that you want on your sdcard to your phone like you would do normally.

Reboot phone and set it up if you like or just reboot back to recovery. If you set your rom up at this point, this

is how it will look on your sdcard at first boot.

Reboot back to recovery

adb shell

~ #mount /cache
~ #mount /system
~ #mount /data

~ #mount

Take note of system data and cache file systems (ext3 or ext4)


Power off phone and pull sdcard

Insert sdcard into computer and open minitool partition wizard.

Partition and format sdcard with same filesystem as noted before

These are the partition sizes I went with and only because i didnt feel like adjusting the slider anymore. But

These values did ensure they were big enough to hold the phone partitions. The first partition is whats left over

after resizing other partitions and will be formatted to fat32


system=384 MB <second partition on sdcard
cache=700 MB <third
data=2.6 GB <fourth


Insert sdcard and boot to recovery

adb shell

PATIENCE IS KEY FOR NEXT STEPS

~ # dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p12 of=/dev/block/mmcblk1p2 bs=1M
655360+0 records in
655360+0 records out
335544320 bytes (320.0MB) copied, 115.626214 seconds, 2.8MB/s

~ # dd if=dev/block/mmcblk0p15 of=/dev/block/mmcblk1p3 bs=1M
dd if=dev/block/mmcblk0p15 of=/dev/block/mmcblk1p3 bs=1M
640+0 records in
640+0 records out
671088640 bytes (640.0MB) copied, 206.557368 seconds, 3.1MB/s


~ # dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p16 of=/dev/block/mmcblk1p4 bs=1M
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p16 of=/dev/block/mmcblk1p4 bs=1M
2048+0 records in
2048+0 records out
2147483648 bytes (2.0GB) copied, 658.327418 seconds, 3.1MB/s


Now get boot.img

While still in adb shell

~ #mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p18 /emmc

~ #cp /dev/block/mmcblk0p11 /emmc/boot.img

~ #exit

~ #adb pull /emmc/boot.img boot.img

Go here and follow this step by step and stop after you've got your boot image unpacked

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1630130

If you have any problems with cpio run cygwin installer again and search for cpio and install

Once boot image is unpacked go to the out directory and find init.rc

Edit init.rc with notepad++ (NOT NOTEPAD) and change these lines

ONLY CHANGE THE /dev/bloc/mmcblk part. LEAVE EVERYTHING ELSE THE SAME


From

mount ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /system noatime nodiratime wait ro barrier=1
mount ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p16 /data nosuid nodev noatime nodiratime wait barrier=1 noauto_da_alloc
mount ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p15 /cache nosuid nodev noatime nodiratime wait barrier=1 noauto_da_alloc

TO

mount ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /system noatime nodiratime wait ro barrier=1
mount ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p4 /data nosuid nodev noatime nodiratime wait barrier=1 noauto_da_alloc
mount ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p3 /cache nosuid nodev noatime nodiratime wait barrier=1 noauto_da_alloc

Once you have made these changes you can finish the tutorial posted above or below for repacking and make sure to

click thanks. If the boot_new.img is a different size than original that's okay.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1630130

Move your boot_new.img to your moto-fastboot and reboot phone to fastboot.


moto-fastboot boot boot_new.img

If you're booted into your sdcard rom you're almost done.

Reboot to recovery and install any rom you want and boot to it.

Now create this directory on your internal sdcard

/sdcard/Boot/sdrom/

Copy your boot_new.img you used to boot your sd rom earlier to this directory and rename it to sdrom.img

Now create this directory on your internal sdcard

/sdcard/Boot/emmcrom/

Now open the rom zip you installed to your phone and copy the boot.img to this directory and rename it to

emmcrom.img

Use attached script with scriptmanager to commense dual booting. (Rename to modified-boot-rom.sh)

Run script as root with argument 1 to reboot to sdcard rom and argument 2 to reboot to phone rom. Argument 3 will

send you to recovery.

All done from windows even though it would be twice as easy and fast to do with linux but there ya go.


I take no credit as all I did was find the right resources and none of this would even be possible without

sendust7. If this helped you Please go to his guide and thank him TOO!!!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1642185
Attached Files
File Type: txt modified-boot-rom.sh.txt - [Click for QR Code] (1,001 Bytes, 285 views)
Last edited by hatefuel19; 13th May 2012 at 03:57 AM.
The Following 25 Users Say Thank You to hatefuel19 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2012, 05:16 AM   |  #2  
njarun's Avatar
Senior Member
Kottayam
Thanks Meter: 45
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
great.....will try and post back my experience!!!
10th May 2012, 06:35 AM   |  #3  
95rr900's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 66
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
I get everything up to get boot image. when I run that command, it runs for a few seconds then adb stops responding.

Any advice? I waited the one time for 15 minutes hoping it would respond...but it didn't.

thanks!

Sent from my MB860 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to 95rr900 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2012, 06:37 AM   |  #4  
hatefuel19's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lex
Thanks Meter: 108
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95rr900

I get everything up to get boot image. when I run that command, it runs for a few seconds then adb stops responding.

Any advice? I waited the one time for 15 minutes hoping it would respond...but it didn't.

thanks!

Sent from my MB860 using xda premium

What rom are you putting on sdcard

EDIT: look in your rom.zip.....boot img may be in there. If it is you can just use that

Edit: could try to make sure sdcard is mounted.......mount /sdcard



Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by hatefuel19; 10th May 2012 at 06:40 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hatefuel19 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2012, 06:54 AM   |  #5  
95rr900's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 66
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Im putting nottachtrix on sdcard.

Ok, so I can just copy the boot image from the rom zip and use that in cygwin...and go from there?

Now that I think about it, the sdcard was probably not mounted.

I'll give it another go in the morning. Thanks for the help!

Sent from my MB860 using xda premium
10th May 2012, 07:10 AM   |  #6  
hatefuel19's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lex
Thanks Meter: 108
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95rr900

Im putting nottachtrix on sdcard.

Ok, so I can just copy the boot image from the rom zip and use that in cygwin...and go from there?

Now that I think about it, the sdcard was probably not mounted.

I'll give it another go in the morning. Thanks for the help!

Sent from my MB860 using xda premium

Yes

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to hatefuel19 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2012, 08:49 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Install rom you want on your sdcard
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatefuel19


Install rom you want on your sdcard

Reboot phone and set it up if you like or just reboot back to recovery. If you set your rom up at this point, this is how it will look on your sdcard at first boot.

What do you mean by install on sdcard and is that internal or external sd? And does Aroma make any difference

many thanks Simon

EDIT : Im an idiot it means install to the phone, the rom you want to have booting from sdcard.
Last edited by stokehall; 10th May 2012 at 09:26 PM.
10th May 2012, 09:08 PM   |  #8  
95rr900's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 66
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
This is really burnin my nut sack

No matter what I do, I can't get through "getting boot image". I tried going into the nottachtrix rom.zip, but it is set up different from other roms. I guess because of the aroma installer?

Maybe I'll try with a different rom just to see if I have the same problem.


EDIT: Tried it with aokp, and still get adb not responding in the middle of getting boot image?
Last edited by 95rr900; 10th May 2012 at 10:20 PM. Reason: edit
The Following User Says Thank You to 95rr900 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2012, 11:31 PM   |  #9  
hatefuel19's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lex
Thanks Meter: 108
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95rr900

This is really burnin my nut sack

No matter what I do, I can't get through "getting boot image". I tried going into the nottachtrix rom.zip, but it is set up different from other roms. I guess because of the aroma installer?

Maybe I'll try with a different rom just to see if I have the same problem.


EDIT: Tried it with aokp, and still get adb not responding in the middle of getting boot image?

In about thirty minutes I'm gonna run through this again. Been trying to get webtop2sd working. Once I do I'm gonna do this tut again step by step and I'll see if I have any snags.


And you're right since nottachtrix uses aroma it isn't packed like other rooms which is why I put this step in here :)

Edit: strange how its doin same to me now too.......found a fix and gonna double check b4 I update op

EDIT: op updated - give it a try

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by hatefuel19; 11th May 2012 at 12:39 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to hatefuel19 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 12:30 AM   |  #10  
95rr900's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 66
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
awesome, thank you!

Sent from my MB860 using xda premium

The Following User Says Thank You to 95rr900 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes