Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,370 Members 37,326 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide] How to root Stock ICS rom without binary count

Tip us?

deathst
Old
(Last edited by original_ganjaman; 2nd August 2012 at 06:11 PM.) Reason: Support for this thread has ended due to time constrains of school
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 156
Exclamation [Guide] How to root Stock ICS rom without binary count

I'm no longer providing support for this thread due to time constrains with school, thank you for your support and it been nice sharing this method with you all. I may be gone but this method has still been reported as working, but it is possible that the next updates pushed to your phone might break the rooting and this method might not work anymore. But there is no harm in trying, at most you get an error in recovery saying file is invalid.

This method works on the released ICS rom from Germany and I would expect it to work for the rest of the ICS roms due for release..

This method does not increase the binary counter or causes a yellow exclamation mark

Update :
Due to rising numbers of phone being bricked based on rumors and stuff, I strongly suggest NOT trying to use any nandroid backup or restore on this CWM and it is best we keep CWM out of our devices to do major I/O stuff. So far I have never seen anyone bricked their devices on this small rooting/unrooting process but JUST DO NOT MAKE BACKUPS OR RESTORES!

Rooting
  1. Download the Files first and put in your EXTERNAL SD
  2. Reboot to stock recovery. - Shutdown your device completely, press and hold Vol Up + Power button + Home, releasing the power buttons once you see the Samsung GALAXY Note N7000 screen but continue to hold the Vol Up and Power buttons still until you enter recovery
  3. Choose apply update from external storage. - Touch the screen as if you are using the phone to choose the options.