Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Simple guide to [VM firmware recovery thread] v2

OP jlechner

11th May 2012, 02:22 AM   |  #1  
jlechner's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 193
 
1,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Please go here now: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1653777


Mods should unsticky mine and sticky that instead.
Last edited by jlechner; 16th July 2012 at 08:36 AM.
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to jlechner For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 02:22 AM   |  #2  
jlechner's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 193
 
1,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Go to the above link if your a victim of virgin mobile firmware.
Last edited by jlechner; 15th July 2012 at 10:06 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jlechner For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 02:27 AM   |  #3  
smac7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 159
 
1,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
since the other thread got shut down before i got a response, i will repost now.

I flashed the original fix that was posted a few days ago and it worked great until today. I got my first radio interface error since the pri downgrade. Does this mean if i want to fix my issues completely i should go through these new downgrade instructions? I don't really care about a banner (or even roaming at the moment), since i am assuming an official sprint firmware update will come very soon. The only thing that i need right now to work is my texting. Any suggestions on doing the bare minimum to hold me over till the official firmware is released?
The Following User Says Thank You to smac7 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 02:29 AM   |  #4  
jlechner's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 193
 
1,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey4life0099

since the other thread got shut down before i got a response, i will repost now.

I flashed the original fix that was posted a few days ago and it worked great until today. I got my first radio interface error since the pri downgrade. Does this mean if i want to fix my issues completely i should go through these new downgrade instructions? I don't really care about a banner (or even roaming at the moment), since i am assuming an official sprint firmware update will come very soon. The only thing that i need right now to work is my texting. Any suggestions on doing the bare minimum to hold me over till the official firmware is released?

So you have no data at all? I'd try a ##data# reset first.
11th May 2012, 02:33 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Nomad
Thanks Meter: 39
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey4life0099

since the other thread got shut down before i got a response, i will repost now.

I flashed the original fix that was posted a few days ago and it worked great until today. I got my first radio interface error since the pri downgrade. Does this mean if i want to fix my issues completely i should go through these new downgrade instructions? I don't really care about a banner (or even roaming at the moment), since i am assuming an official sprint firmware update will come very soon. The only thing that i need right now to work is my texting. Any suggestions on doing the bare minimum to hold me over till the official firmware is released?

Never assume. Just because VM has a different firmware, that doesn't mean that Sprint 3d's will too. We do not fully know what the differences are between the 2 devices.

Thus the reason for this and other fix threads. I would suggest trying this fix, and see if it helps, and hope that there is a firmware fix in the future.
The Following User Says Thank You to dh350nwo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 02:34 AM   |  #6  
Mikee4fun's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 198
 
1,071 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2004
More
I will tell you how I restored my data. I first downloaded the following stock rom.

Stock 2.08.651.2 With HTC/Sprint Spyware Removed
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1285975

After flashing to the stock rooted rom above I then went into my dialer and typed in ##my MSL number# (Example: ##000000#) To get your MSL number simply download MSL reader from the market. I then clicked on edit and then edited my MDN with all zeros and MSID with all zeros. I pressed the menu button and then pressed reset. After the phone rebooted the phone activation screen came up when I unlocked the phone and it was able to automatically activate it and I got 3G data.
Last edited by Mikee4fun; 11th May 2012 at 03:35 AM.
11th May 2012, 02:36 AM   |  #7  
smac7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 159
 
1,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlechner

So you have no data at all? I'd try a ##data# reset first.

no, i have data ussually. I have found though every once in a while my sms messages will not send (with a radio interface error). When this happens, my phone will show a signal, but calls, sms, and data will not work until i do a profile or a prl update. then my phone will work normally again until it decides it wants to crap out yet again.
The Following User Says Thank You to smac7 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 02:39 AM   |  #8  
jlechner's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 193
 
1,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey4life0099

no, i have data ussually. I have found though every once in a while my sms messages will not send (with a radio interface error). When this happens, my phone will show a signal, but calls, sms, and data will not work until i do a profile or a prl update. then my phone will work normally again until it decides it wants to crap out yet again.

This is the issue some are having. I would say it's because of the VM firmware we flashed. Did you try the PRI version downgrade that takes you back to 003 even though it shows 005? or does yours still say 004?
11th May 2012, 02:41 AM   |  #9  
Mikee4fun's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 198
 
1,071 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey4life0099

no, i have data ussually. I have found though every once in a while my sms messages will not send (with a radio interface error). When this happens, my phone will show a signal, but calls, sms, and data will not work until i do a profile or a prl update. then my phone will work normally again until it decides it wants to crap out yet again.


Hockey, I have not seen this issue yet on my rom, PM me if you want to try mine, and let me know if you see any difference. I wonder if some of the SMS issues have to do with the ICS rom itself. BTW do not post my ROM anywhere as I do not release my stuff public, just want to help out a fellow hardcore flasher.

Cheers
Last edited by Mikee4fun; 11th May 2012 at 02:47 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mikee4fun For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 02:42 AM   |  #10  
smac7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 159
 
1,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlechner

This is the issue some are having. I would say it's because of the VM firmware we flashed. Did you try the PRI version downgrade that takes you back to 003 even though it shows 005? or does yours still say 004?

i flashed chads first firmware downgrade. My phone now shows that my PRI is 1.53_145. This worked for like 3 days, but here i am again with the same issue

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes