Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Using microSD for application and data external storage

OP slopokdave

11th May 2012, 04:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville, FL
Thanks Meter: 17
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
I've been looking the past day, at threads for the new Tab 2 7.0 and other devices, and I'm lost. I was able to use windows to create the 2 partitions for my microsd and use Link2SD to attempt to move apps to the SD, but it still doesn't work.

I'm honestly most concerned of apps like Rdio, where the music that is saved offline is currently taking up valuable internal storage and not on my microsd.

Is this going to be possible? I am rooted, running stock ROM. Thanks!
12th May 2012, 06:15 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
416 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Stock ROM does not have move2sd capability AFAIK. I think we'll have ot wait for a custom rom.
12th May 2012, 10:39 PM   |  #3  
sickysticky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Keokuk
Thanks Meter: 30
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
From what i herd The storage is emulate (sdext) So maby there's a was to redirect or combinevforvmore storage

p-3113 Puff, Puff, Puff,...... just sende'n smoke signals
13th May 2012, 02:55 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag CA
Thanks Meter: 546
 
3,090 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
you can use an app called directory Bind
Last edited by RMXO; 13th July 2012 at 03:12 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RMXO For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2012, 05:08 PM   |  #5  
Mikey's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,039
 
5,489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Moved to Q&A section....place all questions in the proper sections.
Thanks
13th May 2012, 08:31 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville, FL
Thanks Meter: 17
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMXO

you can use an app called directory Bind

Thanks for pointing out these app, never heard of it. Unfortunately I cannot get it to work for my scenario (Rdio synced music). I can setup the directories (bind them) but then Rdio won't sync music.
23rd May 2012, 11:13 PM   |  #7  
mqguitar's Avatar
Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 11
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I am in the same boat as you slopokdave I want to use the external for Rdio.

I guess I will have to root my device and figure out a why from there.. I am just stuck as I use mac and there is still no method to do so with it :/
26th May 2012, 11:07 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I found a app that works. It's called GL to sd. I think your tab have to be rooted. This app is free on the market.


Sent from my GT-P3113 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes