Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,176 Members 51,382 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP][May 25th] CoreControl v1.4.2 [BETA] - Battery Profiles! - Root Only

Tip us?
 
Meltus
Old
(Last edited by Meltus; 25th May 2012 at 04:54 AM.)
#1  
Meltus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [APP][May 25th] CoreControl v1.4.2 [BETA] - Battery Profiles! - Root Only

CoreControl

Only for users with ROOT ACCESS


(Screenshots show the battery profiles changing the core count)

This application will allow you to control how many cores are active on your phone!
Is your One X getting a little hot or is the battery running out a little too quick? This application attempts to solve these problems by allowing you to disable some of the processor's cores!

Battery Profiles Info (Please Read!)
[Battery Profiles will override whatever number is selected by the buttons at the top!]
First of all, this is nothing more than a proof of concept update. I realise that having a set number of profiles isn't the best idea and people will want to be able to change the cores on heat as well as battery level. There is also screen-off and charging profiles that need to be done. The layout is definitely not final either and will be changed in the next updates. I will try my best to incorporate these functions as well as others that have been requested.
Second, the 3 battery level values you can edit (in the Battery Profiles section) MUST go in descending order (e.g. 100, 80, 50, etc). The app will check for this.
The Battery profiles should take effect instantly.
Please expect bugs. This update is very much a proof of concept and whilst the battery profiles function correctly in my testing, bugs may very well arise.

Known Bugs
Very occasionally it will revert to the default of 4 cores when using the battery profiles. I've only ever seen this happen once and I have no idea what caused it.
Voltage is not currently colour-coded (I don't know the min/max levels)
Temperature is not fully colour-coded. Anything below 40C will be Green and anything above will be Red. More colours will be added when I know the Max battery temperature and I can work out good colour ranges.

Original thread - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1630200

I highly recommend you install TegraStats - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1615666 (or search 'Tegrastats Free' on the market) - to monitor how many are active.

If the file doesn't exist for you, try this fix!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastasia View Post
Originally Posted by mike1986.
ok, my fault this time, sorry!

Open root explorer, go to system/etc/ and open init.post_boot.sh

navigate to line 115 and remove:

umount /sys/kernel/debug

save and reboot!
Changelog
Code:
v1.4.2
Hopefully fixed the pointless and repeated request for SU access

v1.4.1 [BETA]
Only ever asks for Root Access when changing cores
Added CPU temperature and frequency (Many thanks to Treebill!)
 - WARNING: The frequency jumps around a lot. I don't know if the file is buggy or this is actually happening
 - CPU temp and frequency only ever update when CoreControl is open. This will obviously be changed when CPU temperature profiles are introduced
 - CPU temp is fully colour-coded
Battery Temperature is now fully colour-coded (Many thanks to Treebill!)
General code clean up and optimisation

v1.4 [BETA]
Added Battery Profiles
 - See "Battery Profiles Info" above
Should get and display Battery Information quicker

v1.3
UI Changes
Added a 'Battery Information' Sliding Drawer with the following information:
  - Battery Health
  - Power Type [USB/AC/Battery]
  - Battery Charge [With Battery state, Charging, Full, etc.]
  - Battery Temperature
  - Battery Voltage
It's all colour-coded too!
Battery Profiles are pretty much fully coded, they're not included in this release though. Should be done by next update.

v1.2
Removed pointless code
Quite a few UI changes
Active Cores can now be set on boot (last one selected will be used).

v1.1
Removed pointless "1 Core" option
Disabling/Enabling cores should be quicker (slightly)

V1.0
Initial Release
Enjoy!


Quote:
All credits go to MrPhilo and K0rner!
Attached Files
File Type: apk CoreControl.apk - [Click for QR Code] (40.0 KB, 1132 views)
File Type: apk CoreControlv1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (39.8 KB, 345 views)
File Type: apk CoreControlv1.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (43.8 KB, 490 views)
File Type: apk CoreControlv1.3.apk - [Click for QR Code] (51.2 KB, 1490 views)
File Type: apk CoreControlv1.4.apk - [Click for QR Code] (52.2 KB, 1505 views)
File Type: apk CoreControlv1.4.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (53.8 KB, 672 views)
File Type: apk CoreControlv1.4.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (53.8 KB, 12920 views)
The Following 102 Users Say Thank You to Meltus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MrPhilo
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 486
Posts: 1,085
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sheffield

 
DONATE TO ME
Great app, thanks for making this easier for others and myself
Lumia 930 Black 32Gb Windows Phone 8.1 Cyan
Dell Venue 8 Pro 64Gb Windows 8.1 Update 1 / Sandisk 64Gb UHS-1

LG G3 D855 Black 32Gb

Previous Phone (2013): Nexus 4, HTC One, Sony Xperia Z, Samsung Galaxy S4 i9500, Nexus 4, Nexus 5
Previous Tablet (2013): Nexus 7 (2012), Nexus 10, Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1, Nexus 7 (2013), Nvidia Shield
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MrPhilo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
keskincene
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 186
Join Date: Mar 2011
Doesnt work for me



Gesendet von meinem HTC One X
 
Meltus
Old
#4  
Meltus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by keskincene View Post
Doesnt work for me
How doesn't it work? Does it force close, throw an error message or just not do anything?
 
jonas2295
Old
#5  
jonas2295's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2428
Posts: 4,850
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bavaria

 
DONATE TO ME
Doesn't work on Android revolution hd because of missing file.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium



You want 20gb free cloud storage ?
use my referral link and you get them right away at copy.com !
Thanks!

 
Meltus
Old
(Last edited by Meltus; 13th May 2012 at 10:39 PM.)
#6  
Meltus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonas2295 View Post
Doesn't work on Android revolution hd because of missing file.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
Really? That's what I'm running at it works fine

Edit: Added a potential fix for the missing file in the OP. I've not tested it personally, so I don't know for definite that it works. I'll test it out properly tomorrow and if it works I'll integrate it into the app

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastasia View Post
Originally Posted by mike1986.
ok, my fault this time, sorry!

Open root explorer, go to system/etc/ and open init.post_boot.sh

navigate to line 115 and remove:

umount /sys/kernel/debug

save and reboot!
 
jonas2295
Old
#7  
jonas2295's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2428
Posts: 4,850
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bavaria

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meltus View Post
Really? That's what I'm running at it works fine

Edit: Added a potential fix for the missing file in the OP. I've not tested it personally, so I don't know for definite that it works
No time to try that now sry but someone else will do that I hope

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium



You want 20gb free cloud storage ?
use my referral link and you get them right away at copy.com !
Thanks!

 
treebill
Old
#8  
treebill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 564
Posts: 2,118
Join Date: Jan 2011
Confirmed working on Lee droid v6.1
Our OS who art in CPU, UNIX be thy name. Thy programs run, thy syscalls done, In kernel as it is in user!

My photo blog
Tower Gamers
 
brentett
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 153
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bel Air
it'd be cool if you could add a way to make it automatically turn off cores when your phone got to a certain battery percentage.
 
Meltus
Old
#10  
Meltus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentett View Post
it'd be cool if you could add a way to make it automatically turn off cores when your phone got to a certain battery percentage.
Ill look at adding that feature in next

Any other feature people would like to see?

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes