5,596,235 Members 35,615 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Way to bypass at&t throttling?

Tip us?
 
KindaWack
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charlotte,NC
Default Way to bypass at&t throttling?

I got throttled 5 days before the end of the month. And I'm just wondering if there are any ways to bypass throttling. Speeds are the same that I would get as if I were on edge. Making pretty much everything impossible specifically having issues with Pandora.

Sent from my LG-P930 using XDA
 
kkernaghan7
Old
#2  
kkernaghan7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 192
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rochester, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
As far as I know there isn't. I think throttling is is based on how much data at&t sees you using. I have seen a setting in a database file on the phone that mentions a throttling reset date but i havent tested anything to see if its related or not. So my guess is no there is no way around it because at&t is constantly monitoring your data use.

Sent from my LG-P930 using XDA
 
dalamchops
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 379
Join Date: Sep 2010
used to be a way that u can change the APN to HSPA+, and u can bypass throttling, but i have no idea if that still works w/ the new provisions in place about throttling @ 3gb now.
 
AllstarE4
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 444
Join Date: Jan 2012
I've also read that switching APNs is the way around it.

Sent from my LG-P930 using XDA
Phone: LG Nitro HD P930
ROM: PAC ROM
Carrier: AT&T
 
KindaWack
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charlotte,NC
After seeing responses I attempted the APN method but haven't had any success. It might be because I am on CM9 and not stock do you think I should try stock/gb and see if I have more success?
 
dalamchops
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 379
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KindaWack View Post
After seeing responses I attempted the APN method but haven't had any success. It might be because I am on CM9 and not stock do you think I should try stock/gb and see if I have more success?
won't make a difference.. i guess they've patched that loophole w/ the new rules regarding unlimited plans.
 
V DidDy 210
Old
#7  
V DidDy 210's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 251
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
on the one X there is a data monitor.

if you install a different RUU (asia custom for example) obviously all the att custom is gone.

would it still be able to monitor your data so precisely? I've always used about 1.5 - 2.5 gb a month on 3g/4g

but in one day in the city where they have lte I used 5gb and I had to airplane mode and then un airplane mode to download things.

I ended up getting a phone call from att when I got to 10gb by the end of the second day.

Phones:
Samsung Galaxy Note 3, 4.4 Stock.

Retired:
Samsung Galaxy S3
Motorola Atrix 4G
HTC One X
Samsung Focus
Samsung Captivate
Motorola Backflip
iPhone 3G
Samsung Blackjack
HTC 8925
HTC 8525
HTC 8125
SE s710a: Best Phone I've ever used
Samsung D807
Motorola T720
Samsung E715:unlocked before unlocking was cool
Nokia 3300 Music
Sony Ericsson T310a
Ericsson t10: First phone
15 years of loving cell phones!
 
stephensonbrady
Old
#8  
stephensonbrady's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 88
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: thousand oaks
http://seekingalpha.com/article/3976...unlimited-data

ATT can suck it. :)

Sent from my LG-P930 using xda premium
 
P05TMAN
Old
#9  
P05TMAN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 251
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boulder, CO
I've tried using the APN methods as well to no avail. I'm also hearing rumors that once you upgrade and/or attempt to renew your contract, AT&T is forcing users onto one of their tiered plans.
 
AllstarE4
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 444
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by P05TMAN View Post
I've tried using the APN methods as well to no avail. I'm also hearing rumors that once you upgrade and/or attempt to renew your contract, AT&T is forcing users onto one of their tiered plans.
This is why I won't use an upgrade and renew anymore. I was able to keep my plan when upgrading in January, but I've heard that since then AT&T is telling people no way. I'll pay in full for my next phone.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more