5,603,981 Members 43,704 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Way to bypass at&t throttling?

Tip us?
 
KindaWack
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charlotte,NC
Default Way to bypass at&t throttling?

I got throttled 5 days before the end of the month. And I'm just wondering if there are any ways to bypass throttling. Speeds are the same that I would get as if I were on edge. Making pretty much everything impossible specifically having issues with Pandora.

Sent from my LG-P930 using XDA
 
kkernaghan7
Old
#2  
kkernaghan7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 192
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rochester, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
As far as I know there isn't. I think throttling is is based on how much data at&t sees you using. I have seen a setting in a database file on the phone that mentions a throttling reset date but i havent tested anything to see if its related or not. So my guess is no there is no way around it because at&t is constantly monitoring your data use.

Sent from my LG-P930 using XDA
 
dalamchops
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 379
Join Date: Sep 2010
used to be a way that u can change the APN to HSPA+, and u can bypass throttling, but i have no idea if that still works w/ the new provisions in place about throttling @ 3gb now.
 
AllstarE4
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 444
Join Date: Jan 2012
I've also read that switching APNs is the way around it.

Sent from my LG-P930 using XDA
Phone: LG Nitro HD P930
ROM: PAC ROM
Carrier: AT&T
 
KindaWack
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charlotte,NC
After seeing responses I attempted the APN method but haven't had any success. It might be because I am on CM9 and not stock do you think I should try stock/gb and see if I have more success?
 
dalamchops
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 379
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KindaWack View Post
After seeing responses I attempted the APN method but haven't had any success. It might be because I am on CM9 and not stock do you think I should try stock/gb and see if I have more success?
won't make a difference.. i guess they've patched that loophole w/ the new rules regarding unlimited plans.
 
V DidDy 210
Old
#7  
V DidDy 210's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 251
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
on the one X there is a data monitor.

if you install a different RUU (asia custom for example) obviously all the att custom is gone.

would it still be able to monitor your data so precisely? I've always used about 1.5 - 2.5 gb a month on 3g/4g

but in one day in the city where they have lte I used 5gb and I had to airplane mode and then un airplane mode to download things.

I ended up getting a phone call from att when I got to 10gb by the end of the second day.

Phones:
Samsung Galaxy Note 3, 4.4 Stock.

Retired:
Samsung Galaxy S3
Motorola Atrix 4G
HTC One X
Samsung Focus
Samsung Captivate
Motorola Backflip
iPhone 3G
Samsung Blackjack
HTC 8925
HTC 8525
HTC 8125
SE s710a: Best Phone I've ever used
Samsung D807
Motorola T720
Samsung E715:unlocked before unlocking was cool
Nokia 3300 Music
Sony Ericsson T310a
Ericsson t10: First phone
15 years of loving cell phones!
 
stephensonbrady
Old
#8  
stephensonbrady's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 88
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: thousand oaks
http://seekingalpha.com/article/3976...unlimited-data

ATT can suck it. :)

Sent from my LG-P930 using xda premium
 
P05TMAN
Old
#9  
P05TMAN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 253
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boulder, CO
I've tried using the APN methods as well to no avail. I'm also hearing rumors that once you upgrade and/or attempt to renew your contract, AT&T is forcing users onto one of their tiered plans.
 
AllstarE4
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 444
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by P05TMAN View Post
I've tried using the APN methods as well to no avail. I'm also hearing rumors that once you upgrade and/or attempt to renew your contract, AT&T is forcing users onto one of their tiered plans.
This is why I won't use an upgrade and renew anymore. I was able to keep my plan when upgrading in January, but I've heard that since then AT&T is telling people no way. I'll pay in full for my next phone.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more

Lucid Browser is Small, Lightweight, and Open Source

If there is one application category that certainly isn’t lacking in Android,and … more