Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,727,987 Members 45,634 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] removing safestrap and install bootstrap

Tip us?
 
HSD-Pilot
Old
#21  
HSD-Pilot's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2006
Posts: 3,297
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NRW
Delete everything that's not in use . If you're not sure, charge your battery and keep RSD open.

Or just stay stock...


Gesendet von meinem XT910 mit Tapatalk 2
 
BytecodeMe
Old
#22  
BytecodeMe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 775
Posts: 667
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSD-Pilot View Post
Using root explorer, go to /preinstall/app/ and delete any apks you don't use

Don't try to understand, just do it

Gesendet von meinem XT910 mit Tapatalk 2
Please explain why this is practical.






Quote:
Originally Posted by ottawadad34 View Post
wow ok. i feel real dumb. Im in that folder now and I see a bunch of apk files. I really dont know what some of these apps are. If I delete them, will it affect my phone. Thats what Im worried about
Yes, if you delete some if them it will affect your phone,some functions will force close and if you really messed up things will go south. If you know what I mean.


Hit thanks of I helped!
Innovation is continuous, fragmentation is just a byproduct of the process.
 
HSD-Pilot
Old
#23  
HSD-Pilot's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2006
Posts: 3,297
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NRW
I can't tell you, I just know that three users in Germany are lucky now.

We got it from here

http://rootzwiki.com/topic/4198-cant...s-a-quick-fix/

Maybe an full flash fastbootfile would work too.

Gesendet von meinem XT910 mit Tapatalk 2
 
HSD-Pilot
Old
#24  
HSD-Pilot's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2006
Posts: 3,297
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NRW
After reading it again the fact is > you need space in that folder...

Gesendet von meinem XT910 mit Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to HSD-Pilot For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ottawadad34
Old
#25  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 306
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa
Ok one question. when I go to preinstall folder, I have an app folder and a recovery folder. In the recovery folder I have hijack and logwrapper which says they are both 0bites. I also have a recovery.zip and an update-binary.

Question is that when reading on how to delete bootstrap, it says to go to system/bin and in there is also hijack and logwrapper but they are not 0bites. Is that normal to have both of the same files?
 
davidtm
Old
#26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2012
Default same issue

Hello,

I'm experiencing the same problem. I have retail french GSM version. I installed, some time ago, the safestrap (work everything except install roms), then unistalled and install boostrap v2 and I always get stuck in motorola logo when try to enter in bootstrap recovery mode.
Also i tried a full flash with RDS (english (EN.EU) and french (EN.FR), 2.3.5 and 2.3.6) and nothing works, wipping mobile, sd-card... Just now I just tried to delete some files in the "/preinstall/app" directory and nothing... What can I do for give you more info? There is some log file that I can post?

Thanks,
 
ottawadad34
Old
#27  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 306
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa
Finally got it to work. This is what I did.....

I used this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1570466

and went the rsdlite and used this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1624352 and used the first file. Note when I flashed this I got a fail cause the file name was too long so I shortened it

once that flashed, I rooted the phone and then installed bootstrap and now I can get into clockwork

Thanks guys for taking the time to help me.
 
BytecodeMe
Old
#28  
BytecodeMe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 775
Posts: 667
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottawadad34 View Post
Finally got it to work. This is what I did.....

I used this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1570466

and went the rsdlite and used this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1624352 and used the first file. Note when I flashed this I got a fail cause the file name was too long so I shortened it

once that flashed, I rooted the phone and then installed bootstrap and now I can get into clockwork

Thanks guys for taking the time to help me.
Just do what is said in
ottawadad34's post.




Quote:
Originally Posted by davidtm View Post
Hello,

I'm experiencing the same problem. I have retail french GSM version. I installed, some time ago, the safestrap (work everything except install roms), then unistalled and install boostrap v2 and I always get stuck in motorola logo when try to enter in bootstrap recovery mode.
Also i tried a full flash with RDS (english (EN.EU) and french (EN.FR), 2.3.5 and 2.3.6) and nothing works, wipping mobile, sd-card... Just now I just tried to delete some files in the "/preinstall/app" directory and nothing... What can I do for give you more info? There is some log file that I can post?

Thanks,


Hit thanks if I helped!
Innovation is continuous, fragmentation is just a byproduct of the process.
The Following User Says Thank You to BytecodeMe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
davidtm
Old
#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2012
Hello,

Thanks but it doesn't work because It's only for LATAM. I'm trying others versions but I'm a little bit lost... Any idea?

I'm downloading the files from here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1362956
http://sbf.droid-developers.org/umts_spyder/list.php


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leviathan26 View Post
Just do what is said in
ottawadad34's post.

Hit thanks if I helped!
 
davidtm
Old
#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2012
I tried 5 different RSD flash boot files with different bootloader, languages, android version and nothing... I'm desperate because nothing is working... Any one can tell me a clue where to look?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes