5,606,465 Members 33,418 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[RDU][CWM] BML to MTD Conversion Utility v0.1| [5/17]

Tip us?
 
RandomKing
Old
(Last edited by RandomKing; 17th May 2012 at 07:20 PM.)
#1  
RandomKing's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1466
Posts: 1,484
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Random Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Lightbulb [RDU][CWM] BML to MTD Conversion Utility v0.1| [5/17]

The Goal: To create a CWM flash-able .zip that will convert a BML formatted phone to MTD without the need to be included in a rom, creating a standard and simplicity for end-users.

RDU
ROM DEVELOPERS UNITED
AS ONE


CWM BML to MTD Conversion Utility
Supported ROMs:
- Any BML Setup

So here's how it works:

This file will convert your phone's kernel and boot recovery to MTD. Afterwards, you will be able to flash an MTD rom.
ALWAYS make a backup of your data before flashing anything.

If you flash this over an already MTD rom, it will simply abort.

The Latest Version Here. After it finishes, your phone will be stuck in a loop. Pull the battery and 3-finger back into recovery to flash an MTD rom.

UPDATE: (--/--)

Further ideas or customizations from fellow rom developers welcome.
My work will always be free! If you want to buy me a coke!

Sprint Galaxy SIII: | Jaguar 2.2.1 MD4
Sprint Epic 4G | Sprint Galaxy Tab | HP Touchpad
--Battery Save!--
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to RandomKing For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zman519
Old
(Last edited by zman519; 16th May 2012 at 02:33 PM.)
#2  
zman519's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 2,097
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: the Land of Beer & Cheese
First

This sounds vary usefull on my firends Epics. I think it will speed thing up for me :) at times depending what they want

Sent from the Drivers Seat of my Suby txting and Driving doing 100MPH+ in a school zone! Ha.
“Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.” Benjamin Franklin

"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." John F. Kennedy

"A government big enough to give you everything you want, is strong enough to take everything you have." Gerald Ford
 
RandomKing
Old
#3  
RandomKing's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1466
Posts: 1,484
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Random Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zman519 View Post
First

This sounds vary usefull on my firends Epics. I think it will speed thing up for me :) at times depending what they want

Sent from the Drivers Seat of my Suby txting and Driving doing 100MPH+ in a school zone! Ha.
Please note, this is a test version.

It's based on a version I used myself, but being on MTD, I can't test it easily.

There are 3 current scenarios it could yield:

1. Nothing happens.
2. It works perfectly.
3. It works, but puts the phone into a bootloop. This is what the old version did to me... Pop the battery. Boot into recovery. Profit.
My work will always be free! If you want to buy me a coke!

Sprint Galaxy SIII: | Jaguar 2.2.1 MD4
Sprint Epic 4G | Sprint Galaxy Tab | HP Touchpad
--Battery Save!--
 
KennyG123
Old
#4  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 23938
Posts: 26,511
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
So this would theoretically convert a BML ROM to MTD on a person's phone. Sounds great.

As a note to all remember as always to back up before flashing ANYTHING.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
 
RandomKing
Old
#5  
RandomKing's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1466
Posts: 1,484
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Random Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyglass123 View Post
So this would theoretically convert a BML ROM to MTD on a person's phone. Sounds great.

As a note to all remember as always to back up before flashing ANYTHING.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
Right now it should format your phone and prep it for a Rom. If it works properly, I'd like to rewrite it to convert and PRESERVE a BML Rom into an MTD Rom.
My work will always be free! If you want to buy me a coke!

Sprint Galaxy SIII: | Jaguar 2.2.1 MD4
Sprint Epic 4G | Sprint Galaxy Tab | HP Touchpad
--Battery Save!--
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RandomKing For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zman519
Old
#6  
zman519's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 2,097
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: the Land of Beer & Cheese
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomKing View Post
Please note, this is a test version.

It's based on a version I used myself, but being on MTD, I can't test it easily.

There are 3 current scenarios it could yield:

1. Nothing happens.
2. It works perfectly.
3. It works, but puts the phone into a bootloop. This is what the old version did to me... Pop the battery. Boot into recovery. Profit.
I understand ;)

If my budy ever gets a new sdcard, I'll use his phone as a test dumey. The worst that could happen is I have to bust out the usb cable & fire up ODIN

Sent from the Drivers Seat of my Suby txting and Driving doing 100MPH+ in a school zone! Ha.
“Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.” Benjamin Franklin

"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." John F. Kennedy

"A government big enough to give you everything you want, is strong enough to take everything you have." Gerald Ford
 
KennyG123
Old
#7  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 23938
Posts: 26,511
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
Ok so currently no data or apps are preserved. It is mostly a blank MTD slate?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
 
RandomKing
Old
#8  
RandomKing's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1466
Posts: 1,484
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Random Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyglass123 View Post
Ok so currently no data or apps are preserved. It is mostly a blank MTD slate?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
Yup. I need someone to confirm that it works properly. As I mentioned, I previously used a simpler version to convert myself to MTD and it worked, but it put me in a bootloop. I'm hoping to solve the bootloop so I can create a version to preserve a setup.
My work will always be free! If you want to buy me a coke!

Sprint Galaxy SIII: | Jaguar 2.2.1 MD4
Sprint Epic 4G | Sprint Galaxy Tab | HP Touchpad
--Battery Save!--
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RandomKing For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nikon120
Old
#9  
nikon120's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 324
Posts: 1,227
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomKing View Post
Yup. I need someone to confirm that it works properly. As I mentioned, I previously used a simpler version to convert myself to MTD and it worked, but it put me in a bootloop. I'm hoping to solve the bootloop so I can create a version to preserve a setup.
Well if you ran this and it put you in a boot loop, then it most likely worked properly since this would have formatted/converted your partition map to MTD. The BML rom would have either been erased or just unable to run due to the conversion.

Just a curious question here:
What would you need to do to actually convert an existing BML install to work on the MTD partition map?
 
flastnoles11
Old
#10  
flastnoles11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4036
Posts: 8,064
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikon120 View Post
Well if you ran this and it put you in a boot loop, then it most likely worked properly since this would have formatted/converted your partition map to MTD. The BML rom would have either been erased or just unable to run due to the conversion.

Just a curious question here:
What would you need to do to actually convert an existing BML install to work on the MTD partition map?
He said that it worked right in the post you quoted... lol
And I have no diea about the question... I'm kinda curious about this too...

New to the SprintGS3??? Click the link below to get started!!!



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes