5,593,650 Members 40,467 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Remove default widgets!

Tip us?
 
chacona
Old
#1  
chacona's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 83
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hanoi
Default Remove default widgets!

Hi guys,

I am trying to create an update.zip, with stuffs from TheManii's 408 deodexed package. Since I decided that my phone won't contain any useless stock app, I decided to remove GoogleQuickSearch.apk, also use ADWLauncher as my default desktop replacement.

The problem is, my update.zip can be flashed successfully using CWM, but ADW reports "Problem loading widget" in its default screen, since GoogleQuickSearch is not there.

Could you please let me know how to adjust default ROM widget settings (e.g. I guess that there should be some settings some where that helps me removing GoogleQuickSearch from launcher by default).

--
Chacona
 
changkho1908
Old
#2  
changkho1908's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 257
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane
ci rom đấy tc giả xa widget mặc đinh đi rồi hay sao ấy
 
TheManii
Old
#3  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1430
Posts: 3,227
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Remove the broken widget and manually place a new one, this isnt specific to any launcher.

Any time it tries to load a widget that's not there/frozen you might have to place a fresh one if it doesnt fix itself when it should otherwise.
XDA Wiki Moderator
Nexus 4: Stock KOT49H (4.4.2) 2013 N7: Stock KOT49H (4.4.2)
Touchpad: CM11 KOT49H (4.4.2) iTouch 5G: Stock 10B146 (6.1.2)
The Following User Says Thank You to TheManii For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chacona
Old
#4  
chacona's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 83
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hanoi
TheManii,

Yes, I know that the issue is not specific for any launcher. What I meant was, I do not want QuickSearch, so how to get rid of the error message when I remove it?

Is there any place in the ROM I could edit (e.g. a configuration file) so that Venue/ROM/launcher realizes that I do not want the widget to be loaded?
 
TheManii
Old
#5  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1430
Posts: 3,227
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
It should be possible, but also keep in mind that there's no hard, standardized layout for their config files. Each launcher could store the widget settings in their own manner and there's many different launchers.

Perhaps you should consider asking your launcher maker to add a setting to automatically remove uninstalled widgets, but from a user perspective your only real choice is to manually remove them.
XDA Wiki Moderator
Nexus 4: Stock KOT49H (4.4.2) 2013 N7: Stock KOT49H (4.4.2)
Touchpad: CM11 KOT49H (4.4.2) iTouch 5G: Stock 10B146 (6.1.2)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes