Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,725 Members 37,861 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Runnymede S-OFF

Tip us?
 
fardjad
Old
(Last edited by fardjad; 1st July 2012 at 08:23 AM.)
#1  
fardjad's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Angry Runnymede S-OFF

*** FARDJADB ***
Runnymede S-OFF


Since we didn't have S-OFF for Runnymede, I decided to do it and here is the result:



It's basically a patched Bootloader which pretends S-OFF (It's not Radio S-OFF.)

The following have been tested and working:

erase (system, recovery, boot)
flash (zip, system, recovery, boot, hboot, radio)
boot
It also by passes the CID check.. (See the next post for a workaround.)
...and here is the flash ZIP, HBOOT, and Recovery demo:




It's still under development; since many people asked me to release it, I decided to release a public beta:

Download (Windows Only)

Open the attached file and follow the instructions.
You need to install a stock RUU (or if not available you can just flash this stock recovery posted by fshami on an unlocked device) and install HTC Sync Drivers.

Note that this is not guaranteed to work and I won't take any responsibilities if something bad happened to your device.

My farewells

I had lots of fun modifying Runnymede HBOOT and it was a great experience. I want to say thanks to all of the testers for their feedback and also for being nice and patient (maybe I should have released this after my exams, so I'd have enough time to work on it), and I'm sorry for the problems you may have faced because of the incompleteness of my work.

Recently unlimited.io guys (known for Juopunutbear S-OFF) provided their patched HBOOTs. Apparently these are available for GB and ICS, by-pass CID check and have optional update protection:
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://unlimited.io/runnymede
It was identified by XDA memeber fardjad that the hboot partition on the runnymede is not protected and can be written to with a rooted phone. One of the members of unlimited had for a short period of time the occasion to use a Sensation XL. Having seen the discovery made by fardjad and due to some limitations in the procedure, this memeber created hboots which provide more complete S-OFF functionality as well as providing overwrite protection. Almost immediately afterwards the European Sensation XL obtained an ICS update. Unfortunately for may users this meant that a new and backward incompatible hboot was introduced. The unlimited member again created modified hboots for his own use. It was not originally intended that these hboots would be released for general use, however we are aware that many users are unhappy with the limitations of unlock but have had to do this in order to make full use of ICS. We have therefore decided to release the GB and ICS versions of these hboots.
See this post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	S-OFF.jpg
Views:	94475
Size:	37.3 KB
ID:	1072002  
The Following 27 Users Say Thank You to fardjad For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fardjad
Old
(Last edited by fardjad; 1st July 2012 at 08:24 AM.)
#2  
fardjad's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
How to install RUUs with different CIDs

You won't get Radio S-OFF with flashing this HBOOT. Having this said, even if you enable writeCID function in HBOOT you can't change the CID.

I thought people prefer to install one of the custom ROMs floating around in Development Section and flashing the Radio separately rather than upgrading to ICS using RUUs... well I thought wrong
And for those having problems with CID, here is a workaround:

First thing you need to do is to extract the rom.zip file from the RUU. I believe Shen posted a video on XDA-TV showing this, here is a quick how-to however:
  1. Open the RUU.
  2. After Welcome screen shown up, open %temp% in explorer (ie. Meta/Win-Key + R, type %temp% and press enter)
  3. Sort items by Date modified and open the most recent modified folder having a GUID name (ie. something like {3F99782F-1E57-40F2-9F33-D48C3DC171C5})
  4. Search for rom.zip and move/copy it to somewhere else.
  5. Close the RUU.

Now download SigTool and place it beside the rom.zip file. Open Command-Prompt, cd to the right directory and execute the following:

Code:
SigTool rip rom.zip
the expected output is:

Code:
Creating backup...
Ripping signature...
Done.
Go ahead and extract the signature-ripped rom.zip file.
Open android-info.txt in a *nix end of line aware text editor (ex. Notepad++). You should see something like this:

Code:
modelid: PI3920000
cidnum: HTC__001
cidnum: HTC__E11
cidnum: HTC__203
cidnum: HTC__102
cidnum: HTC__405
cidnum: HTC__Y13
cidnum: HTC__A07
cidnum: HTC__304
cidnum: HTC__032
cidnum: HTC__J15
cidnum: HTC__016
mainver: 1.05.111.8
hbootpreupdate:12
Add your phone CID

If you don't know your CID you can get it this way:
While your phone is in bootloader and connected in FASTBOOT-USB mode, execute this:

Code:
fastboot getvar cid
it should output something like cid: T-MOB101

then add a new line (cidnum: <YOURCIDNUM>) below the modelid in android-info.txt so it looks like:

HTML Code:
modelid: PI3920000
cidnum: T-MOB101
...
Save changes and close the editor.

This is important:
In extracted contents you should see a file with hboot name prefix, exclude/take it away and repack other files. I assume you choose rom-new.zip for the archive name.

Now you should null sign (that's how I like to call it) the file:

Code:
SigTool nullsign rom-new.zip
and flash the null-signed rom zip file:

Code:
fastboot flash zip rom-new.zip
when finished, flash the 1.28 hboot you moved away before:

Code:
fastboot flash hboot hboot_*.nb0
Reboot your device.


I know this is not the easiest guide ever but I really don't have enough time to create a one-click tool for this. Needless to say that this is not guaranteed to work and I won't take any responsibilities if you bricked your phone.

Take care
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to fardjad For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fshami
Old
#3  
fshami's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 938
Posts: 1,659
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Good work mate, waiting for more features
The Following User Says Thank You to fshami For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alfchin
Old
(Last edited by alfchin; 20th May 2012 at 07:44 AM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 94
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fardjad View Post
Reserved...
seems not work on my phone.
adb.exe always crash.
ps:my XL is unlocked and with CWM recovery inside.HBOOT ver is 1.28
=========================================
I solved that problem after reinstall my windows.
now it works!!!
thank you for your amazing job!!!

RUU still informs me that ERR131 CID Error...
 
fardjad
Old
#5  
fardjad's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfchin View Post
seems not work on my phone.
adb.exe always crash.
ps:my XL is unlocked and with CWM recovery inside.HBOOT ver is 1.28
adb.exe crash is irrelevant to the tool it self. Turn off your virus protection and try running the file as administrator.
The Following User Says Thank You to fardjad For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
anonymous_1997
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 292
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Melbourne
Is a stock ruu absolutely required because I have a vodafone Australia phone and there is no ruu available at the moment!

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using XDA

Please use the thanks button if I helped in any way
Samsung Galaxy S 2
ROM: Stock Vodafone

HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315b
ROM:Insanely Cool Sense 4

Previous Phones:
HTC Desire S (Brought me to this great site)
iPhone 4 (Worst phone ever)
HTC Snap S521 (My first ever smartphone)
 
fardjad
Old
#7  
fardjad's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymous_1997 View Post
Is a stock ruu absolutely required because I have a vodafone Australia phone and there is no ruu available at the moment!

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using XDA
No, Actually you only need a stock recovery.
 
alfchin
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 94
Join Date: Mar 2011
when I using RUU to flash my phone,it still show err131:CID incorrect
any other way to flash?
 
fardjad
Old
(Last edited by fardjad; 20th May 2012 at 08:20 AM.)
#9  
fardjad's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfchin View Post
when I using RUU to flash my phone,it still show err131:CID incorrect
any other way to flash?
Actually I've flashed Europe RUU in an Asia Shipped phone without any problem.
You can try extracting the rom.zip file from RUU and flash zip or extract it and flash it's parts separately.
 
anonymous_1997
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 292
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Melbourne
So what I'm seeing from this boot loader is that you can flash any ruu on any device ??

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using XDA

Please use the thanks button if I helped in any way
Samsung Galaxy S 2
ROM: Stock Vodafone

HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315b
ROM:Insanely Cool Sense 4

Previous Phones:
HTC Desire S (Brought me to this great site)
iPhone 4 (Worst phone ever)
HTC Snap S521 (My first ever smartphone)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes