Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,791 Members 51,019 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Please let us know how you got CDMA back after using this radio.
SBF through RSD fixed CDMA 31 50.00%
SBF through RSD after fastboot wipe fixed CDMA 0 0%
SBF through RSD with speed hack fixed CDMA 1 1.61%
All three options were needed to fix CDMA 6 9.68%
CDMA is still not fixed 21 33.87%
CDMA fixed with other method not listed 3 4.84%
Voters: 62. You may not vote on this poll

(HOW-TO) UPDATED 6-21-2012 Unlock GSM for domestic carriers on Photon

Tip us?
 
halfevildruid
Old
(Last edited by halfevildruid; 21st June 2012 at 10:16 AM.) Reason: updating instructions
#1  
halfevildruid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 356
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ivins

 
DONATE TO ME
Talking (HOW-TO) UPDATED 6-21-2012 Unlock GSM for domestic carriers on Photon

DISCLAIMER: I am not forcing you to visit this thread and start messing with your phone to make it do things Sprint and Motorola did not intend for it to do. If you have issues and your wife gets pissed because you borked her phone and haven't slept for 2 days trying to prove to her you can fix it, it's not anyone's fault but your own.

Credit for this discovery is not mine alone. It has been tossed around for quite some time that a version of the Japanese radio may hold the key to unlocking USA capability. XDA members Noncs and Lightsword1942 should be recognized for finding the proper Japanese radio. Please be sure to express your gratitude and encourage more work on this unlock by thanking folks involved and when possible donating. This keeps the cup filled and keeps the work going.

So you want to unlock your Photon to use on AT&T, T-Mobile or some other USA GSM/UMTS carrier. Well this is how to do it. The poll I have here is important. PLEASE DONT TAKE IT UNTIL IF AND WHEN YOU TRY TO GO BACK TO STOCK SPRINT OR RETURN TO SOME OTHER CDMA CARRIER! Most of the answers to "CDMA is still not fixed" have been folks that appear to be not very active in the community, or have found this googling how to unlock GSM for the photon. I have decided that it comes down to NOT following the instructions correctly/not understanding what currently is needed to get flash the GSM radio AND/OR get back to CDMA.

Things that need to know how to do before flashing KDDI or any other radio.


1-RSD an .sbf to stock base.
2-Unlock your bootloader.
3-Root your phone.
4-Install a recent custom recovery.
5-Perform a nandroid backup.
6-Restore a nandroid backup.
7-Flash a .zip from a custom recovery.
8-Create, edit or flash APN's. (for data)
9-Boot into recovery, fastboot, etc.
8-Accept responsibility if you screw up.


If you don't know what any of this is or means, than leave this thread and don't come back until you do and are comfortable with them. A good place to start is LokifishMar's All Things MoPho! Thank him and fill his cup! Please leave questions about these things at the proper threads.


Things YOU need to know:

1- The radio file for unlocking GSM/UMTS will be referenced KDDI for purposes of this thread. KDDI=GSM RADIO
2- Flashing KDDI will enable USA GSM/UMTS and allow USA carrier sims to work on your Photon.
3-Currently the KDDI results in error when flashing to Electrify. Sorry USCC guys, hopefully it gets worked out soon.
4-Flashing KDDI will break Sprint service while you are using it. This is not permanent and CAN be regained.
5-The GSM/UMTS functionality needs rom support! The rom devs are working hard to integrate into ICS based roms. Stock sprint works on GSM, although occasionally GSM would break after some time during testing. Currently the best functional rom for GSM is peetr's custom 2.3.5 hybrid and is currently the recommended ROM. Please don't gum this thread up with data and other issues after using the KDDI. It works and any issues with service are NOT here. Go to the ROM thread you are using.


...on to the good stuff!

Enable USA GSM/UMTS and retain the easiest way to get back to Sprint stock!

1-SBF to stock base. Root your phone, unlock bootloader, install custom recovery and perform a nandroid backup of your stock rom!
2-Flash KDDI radio from recovery.
3-Flash your ROM. You may need to enable GSM/UMTS in your mobile network settings. You also may need to enable data roaming and set your APN's.
4-Profit! If all you wanted was the unlock then your done! otherwise...

Get Sprint stock back:
5-Restore your nandroid backup you created previously.
6-RSD the stock sbf.
7-Reboot and reactive Sprint (Hand's Free)

You can also if you choose flash a stock sprint radio and manually program to Sprint or another CDMA carrier instead of flashing back to stock.
Follow the instruction here after flashing a Sprint stock radio. Substitute the data flashed for Cricket with the data from needed from Sprint or your CDMA carrier. http://www.cricketusers.com/sprint-m...ernet-mms.html

WARNING: This is not the easy way, the first method is recommended. You can easily bork your phone messing around with the software at the above link.

Download KDDI
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gsmunlockmopho.jpg
Views:	8620
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	1073061  
Attached Files
File Type: zip apns-conf.zip - [Click for QR Code] (25.2 KB, 2921 views)
The Following 55 Users Say Thank You to halfevildruid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
peetr_
Old
(Last edited by peetr_; 20th May 2012 at 07:10 PM.)
#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,134
Posts: 2,331
Join Date: Oct 2010
Nice find.

I am going to try this in Europe too.

But I must say to everyone, be very careful with flashing radios.
___________________________________

Sony Xperia T owner

 
halfevildruid
Old
(Last edited by halfevildruid; 14th June 2012 at 07:18 AM.)
#3  
halfevildruid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 356
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ivins

 
DONATE TO ME
reserved
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to halfevildruid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lightsword1942
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 453
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Just a minor correction but NonĘs found the radio and made the zip, I guess I'm the one who came up with using the Japanese radio and what update-script to use. Was too scared to try it myself though lol.
iPhone3Gs->Nexus One->EVO 4G->Motorola Photon->EVO 4G LTE->Motorola Photon>HTC ONE
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Lightsword1942 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
halfevildruid
Old
#5  
halfevildruid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 356
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ivins

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightsword1942 View Post
Just a minor correction but NonĘs found the radio and made the zip, I guess I'm the one who came up with using the Japanese radio and what update-script to use. Was too scared to try it myself though lol.
Edited... big thanks to everyone either way, I am glad to be using it and out of Sprint!
The Following User Says Thank You to halfevildruid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lightsword1942
Old
(Last edited by Lightsword1942; 20th May 2012 at 07:45 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 453
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
By the way I repacked the zip with the sprint leaked radio if anyone wants to test it. MD5 is 42ACB7CA9929782DAEB027B61D578C19
Someone should also test if the unlock works from bootstrap on phones stuck on 2.3.5
iPhone3Gs->Nexus One->EVO 4G->Motorola Photon->EVO 4G LTE->Motorola Photon>HTC ONE
 
Mike3.8
Old
#7  
Mike3.8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 209
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Picayune
Anyone know if this will work on CM9?
Boot Loops, it's what's for breakfast!
 
Lightsword1942
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 453
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike3.8 View Post
Anyone know if this will work on CM9?
Probably will, give it a try.
iPhone3Gs->Nexus One->EVO 4G->Motorola Photon->EVO 4G LTE->Motorola Photon>HTC ONE
The Following User Says Thank You to Lightsword1942 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
elessarelfstar
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 143
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago
Fantastic!

1. Where can we contribute the money that we committed to donate for this to be unlocked?

2. What steps would need to be taken to make this work for the Electrify?
 
halfevildruid
Old
#10  
halfevildruid's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 356
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ivins

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike3.8 View Post
Anyone know if this will work on CM9?
So far I have tried kitchen sink gsm gummy install and one of my nandroided aokpcb backups installed with kitchen sink, with and without the phone info app. I have not yet had it working on any of those.

I have not tried anything except kitchen sink and stock sprint. I am testing more and will post results along with anyone else please do the same. I will update the OP with verified working roms as everyone lets us know.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes