5,594,077 Members 46,650 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC One V with Android 5.0 JellyBean?

Tip us?
 
shubhamchamaria
Old
#11  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2200
Posts: 2,714
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Passa91 View Post
All you guys complaining about RAM (in this topic and the other one in Q&A) need to relax - that's just how Android works. Android will free up memory when it needs it. I'm not an expert but my understanding is that its memory management is drastically different to OSes like Windows and OS X.

This is the same reason why stuff like task killers are terrible. 512MB RAM is easily fine for ICS and will probably be fine for JB too (on an 800x480 screen anyway).
After rooting supercharging also handles ram in a better way...

Sent from my HTC One V using XDA
MY WORKS:

Nexus 4:
1.CM10.2 Nightlies

HTC Desire:
1.Runny ROM

HTC One V:
1.SuPrimo ROM
2.Blue Sense 4.1
3.MIUI.us for One V
4.HTC One V VirginMobile Root
5.De-Sense(REMOVE HTC SENSE) Tool


IF YOU LIKE MY WORK AND WOULD LIKE TO HELP ME PLEASE CONSIDER A DONATION OR VISIT MY WEBSITE(http://slandroid.com)
 
1ceb0x
Old
#12  
1ceb0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4496
Posts: 3,974
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bucharest

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamchamaria View Post
After rooting supercharging also handles ram in a better way...

Sent from my HTC One V using XDA
yeah but it's better to tweak the memory settings from within the boot.img itself because then you will not worry about if the script works/it needs resources to run the script and so on!
 
My past projects

HTC Hero GSM!
SHPONGLE / HeroICS 4.0.3 / BEASTsense

HTC One V GSM!
SHPONGLE
PARANOID ANDROID


Nexus 4
hellscore™ inside | slimKKatz™


Like my work for the community? Feel free to make a donation
 
Passa91
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 277
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamchamaria View Post
After rooting supercharging also handles ram in a better way...
With 512MB RAM, you do not need Supercharger (I would dispute its usefulness at all).

Let Android handle memory the way it was designed.
Current phone: Nexus 4 16GB
Retired: HTC One XL 32GB - Grey | HTC One V - Black | Motorola Defy - Green Lens
The Following User Says Thank You to Passa91 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
arkatis
Old
#14  
arkatis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 414
Posts: 1,058
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus-Nicosia
They only support ONE S AND X... they don't give a damn about v...
I love XDA. QUIETLY BRILLIANT!

MY HTC HD2 Rom here:
[12/07/2012] Arkat-DoubleSense v.4.0 [Marcs1706 0.2.2] {FASTEST SENSE 2.1 FOR HD2}

MY HTC SENSATION ROM:
Unavailable. (sold device)

I am a flash-a-holic!

HTC DEVICES THAT I OWNED:
3x HTC HD2 Leo and 1 HD2 TMobile US
HTC HD7
HTC SENSATION
HTC DESIRE HD
Wildfire s

Current Devices:
HTC ONE X




 
1ceb0x
Old
#15  
1ceb0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4496
Posts: 3,974
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bucharest

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkatis View Post
They only support ONE S AND X... they don't give a damn about v...
yeah. but we give a damn ! xda hosts the best devs in android world. so f**k htc's support!
 
My past projects

HTC Hero GSM!
SHPONGLE / HeroICS 4.0.3 / BEASTsense

HTC One V GSM!
SHPONGLE
PARANOID ANDROID


Nexus 4
hellscore™ inside | slimKKatz™


Like my work for the community? Feel free to make a donation
 
shubhamchamaria
Old
#16  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2200
Posts: 2,714
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkatis View Post
They only support ONE S AND X... they don't give a damn about v...
That isn't true ...I have got 3 its updates since I bought my phone and my friends one x has just got one....they also fixed the menu button problem in our case while it still remains unresolved if not for blubbers...

Sent from my HTC One V using XDA
MY WORKS:

Nexus 4:
1.CM10.2 Nightlies

HTC Desire:
1.Runny ROM

HTC One V:
1.SuPrimo ROM
2.Blue Sense 4.1
3.MIUI.us for One V
4.HTC One V VirginMobile Root
5.De-Sense(REMOVE HTC SENSE) Tool


IF YOU LIKE MY WORK AND WOULD LIKE TO HELP ME PLEASE CONSIDER A DONATION OR VISIT MY WEBSITE(http://slandroid.com)
 
CafeKampuchia
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 188
Posts: 587
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Passa91 View Post
With 512MB RAM, you do not need Supercharger (I would dispute its usefulness at all).

Let Android handle memory the way it was designed.
Agreed. It makes you wonder what Google's software engineers supposedly overlooked that someone had to come behind and fix. What Supercharger does is not secret. If Google wanted to, they could buy it and put into the stock kernel but I don't see that happening.

On an experiential level, the only ROM with Supercharger kernel that I ever used was a great ROM, but it's performance was not noticeably better than a regular overclocked kernel. In fact, it had a greater tendency to hesitate and lag my Wildfire S.
 
arkatis
Old
#18  
arkatis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 414
Posts: 1,058
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus-Nicosia
Why do you guys complaining about Ram?? HD2 has 1ghz cpu with 512 mb Ram [up to 576mb] and it runs all custom Roms perfectly!
I love XDA. QUIETLY BRILLIANT!

MY HTC HD2 Rom here:
[12/07/2012] Arkat-DoubleSense v.4.0 [Marcs1706 0.2.2] {FASTEST SENSE 2.1 FOR HD2}

MY HTC SENSATION ROM:
Unavailable. (sold device)

I am a flash-a-holic!

HTC DEVICES THAT I OWNED:
3x HTC HD2 Leo and 1 HD2 TMobile US
HTC HD7
HTC SENSATION
HTC DESIRE HD
Wildfire s

Current Devices:
HTC ONE X




 
1ceb0x
Old
#19  
1ceb0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4496
Posts: 3,974
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bucharest

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkatis View Post
Why do you guys complaining about Ram?? HD2 has 1ghz cpu with 512 mb Ram [up to 576mb] and it runs all custom Roms perfectly!
We are talking about JB. But I don't mind the small amount of ram because it is enough to run linux/android
 
My past projects

HTC Hero GSM!
SHPONGLE / HeroICS 4.0.3 / BEASTsense

HTC One V GSM!
SHPONGLE
PARANOID ANDROID


Nexus 4
hellscore™ inside | slimKKatz™


Like my work for the community? Feel free to make a donation
 
handryg555
Old
#20  
handryg555's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 173
Posts: 801
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamchamaria View Post
That isn't true ...I have got 3 its updates since I bought my phone and my friends one x has just got one....they also fixed the menu button problem in our case while it still remains unresolved if not for blubbers...

Sent from my HTC One V using XDA
What???I'm only got one update is there's any effect on update after rooting???

Sent from my HTC One V using xda premium

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes