Thread Closed

HTC One V with Android 5.0 JellyBean?

23rd May 2012, 06:45 PM   |  #11  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
2,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Passa91

All you guys complaining about RAM (in this topic and the other one in Q&A) need to relax - that's just how Android works. Android will free up memory when it needs it. I'm not an expert but my understanding is that its memory management is drastically different to OSes like Windows and OS X.

This is the same reason why stuff like task killers are terrible. 512MB RAM is easily fine for ICS and will probably be fine for JB too (on an 800x480 screen anyway).

After rooting supercharging also handles ram in a better way...

Sent from my HTC One V using XDA
23rd May 2012, 08:05 PM   |  #12  
1ceb0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 5,200
 
4,719 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamchamaria

After rooting supercharging also handles ram in a better way...

Sent from my HTC One V using XDA

yeah but it's better to tweak the memory settings from within the boot.img itself because then you will not worry about if the script works/it needs resources to run the script and so on!
24th May 2012, 03:38 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamchamaria

After rooting supercharging also handles ram in a better way...

With 512MB RAM, you do not need Supercharger (I would dispute its usefulness at all).

Let Android handle memory the way it was designed.
The Following User Says Thank You to Passa91 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th May 2012, 10:04 AM   |  #14  
arkatis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cyprus-Nicosia
Thanks Meter: 415
 
1,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
They only support ONE S AND X... they don't give a damn about v...
24th May 2012, 10:17 AM   |  #15  
1ceb0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 5,200
 
4,719 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkatis

They only support ONE S AND X... they don't give a damn about v...

yeah. but we give a damn ! xda hosts the best devs in android world. so f**k htc's support!
24th May 2012, 10:23 AM   |  #16  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
2,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkatis

They only support ONE S AND X... they don't give a damn about v...

That isn't true ...I have got 3 its updates since I bought my phone and my friends one x has just got one....they also fixed the menu button problem in our case while it still remains unresolved if not for blubbers...

Sent from my HTC One V using XDA
24th May 2012, 11:34 AM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 231
 
719 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Passa91

With 512MB RAM, you do not need Supercharger (I would dispute its usefulness at all).

Let Android handle memory the way it was designed.

Agreed. It makes you wonder what Google's software engineers supposedly overlooked that someone had to come behind and fix. What Supercharger does is not secret. If Google wanted to, they could buy it and put into the stock kernel but I don't see that happening.

On an experiential level, the only ROM with Supercharger kernel that I ever used was a great ROM, but it's performance was not noticeably better than a regular overclocked kernel. In fact, it had a greater tendency to hesitate and lag my Wildfire S.
24th May 2012, 01:13 PM   |  #18  
arkatis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cyprus-Nicosia
Thanks Meter: 415
 
1,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Why do you guys complaining about Ram?? HD2 has 1ghz cpu with 512 mb Ram [up to 576mb] and it runs all custom Roms perfectly!
24th May 2012, 01:59 PM   |  #19  
1ceb0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 5,200
 
4,719 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkatis

Why do you guys complaining about Ram?? HD2 has 1ghz cpu with 512 mb Ram [up to 576mb] and it runs all custom Roms perfectly!

We are talking about JB. But I don't mind the small amount of ram because it is enough to run linux/android
26th May 2012, 05:20 AM   |  #20  
handryg555's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 179
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamchamaria

That isn't true ...I have got 3 its updates since I bought my phone and my friends one x has just got one....they also fixed the menu button problem in our case while it still remains unresolved if not for blubbers...

Sent from my HTC One V using XDA

What???I'm only got one update is there's any effect on update after rooting???

Sent from my HTC One V using xda premium

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes