Post Reply

[UNLOCK] AT&T Bootloader Unlock Through HTC-Dev

OP grankin01

24th May 2012, 07:58 PM   |  #1  
grankin01's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Georgetown, KY
Thanks Meter: 653
 
971 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
You do this at your own risk!!! This could turn your new phone into a very expensive paperweight!!! If you don't know how to do it or are uncomfortable DON'T DO IT!!!

You need ADB and an understanding of how to use it and have a rooted device (although I didn't test this). You will also need a hex editor like HxD.

BACK UP YOUR DATA BEFORE DOING THIS!!!! WHEN HTCDEV UNLOCKS YOUR DEVICE YOU MUST START FROM SCRATCH!!!

1. Fire up your command prompt and go to the directory that you have ADB installed to. Type "adb shell" and hit enter.

2. Type "su" and hit enter. You now have root privileges.

3. Next type "dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 of=/sdcard/mmcblk0p4" and hit enter. This will dump the partition to your sdcard.

4. Next type "exit", hit enter, type "exit", and hit enter again. This should take you back to a command prompt for your computer.

5. type "adb pull /sdcard/mmcblk0p4" and hit enter. NOTE THE SIZE OF THE FILE BEFORE THE NEXT STEP!

6. Open the file (mmcblk0p4) with your hex editor.

7. Look for offset 00000210 (if your on RUU version 1.82 the offset may be 00000214) and you should see CWS__001 with your IMEI number attached to it.

8. Change CWS__001 to 11111111 and save the file as mmcblk0p4MOD. This will give you SuperCID as well. MAKE SURE AT THIS POINT THAT THE FILE IS THE EXACT SIZE IT WAS BEFORE YOU HEX EDITED IT!

9. Now go back to your command prompt and type "adb push mmcblk0p4MOD /sdcard/mmcblk0p4MOD" and hit enter.

10. Type "adb shell" and hit enter then type "su" and hit enter again. This will put you back into the android shell and give you root privileges.

11. Type "dd if=/sdcard/mmcblk0p4MOD of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p4" and hit enter. To test if it worked restart the phone into fastboot (type "adb reboot bootloader" and hit enter) and once the bootloader screen comes up type "fastboot oem readcid" and hit enter. It should read "11111111".

12. Next type "fastboot oem get_identifier_token" and hit enter. Leave that up on your screen and go to HTCdev.com. Follow the instructions from there. Choose "All other supported models" from the dropdown menu.

For those having trouble with the hex editor portion of this I have posted a picture from Squeak22 showing exactly what it should look like. Thanks Squeak22!

Enjoy all!

Guy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20120524_141630.jpg
Views:	31594
Size:	255.5 KB
ID:	1081792   Click image for larger version

Name:	hexedit.jpg
Views:	34021
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	1082790  
Last edited by grankin01; 25th May 2012 at 04:54 AM.
The Following 343 Users Say Thank You to grankin01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th May 2012, 08:00 PM   |  #2  
sk806's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rye, New York
Thanks Meter: 1,427
 
1,957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
More
Worked for me with CID 11111111.

Thanks, my friend, now I can stop that f'ing thread...

The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to sk806 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th May 2012, 08:03 PM   |  #3  
warri's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jupiter
Thanks Meter: 37
 
977 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
I see a whole Case load of "Thanks" coming your way.

Now all we need is SK to finish CWM Recovery!

EDIT:

Confirmed working
Last edited by warri; 24th May 2012 at 09:35 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to warri For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th May 2012, 08:04 PM   |  #4  
grankin01's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Georgetown, KY
Thanks Meter: 653
 
971 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
LOL no prob. Glad we got it figured ... at least for now.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to grankin01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th May 2012, 08:04 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
wooooot
24th May 2012, 08:05 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Long Island
Thanks Meter: 36
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
SO this is a NO-Go if we updated to the new 1.85 This morning? Have to wait for the 1.85 Root first correct?

..Gromet
24th May 2012, 08:06 PM   |  #7  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,662
 
7,887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
HOLY CRAP! What a great day! Thanks DEVS!
24th May 2012, 08:06 PM   |  #8  
cranch's Avatar
Senior Member
Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 45
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
So this appears as an adaptation on how you were able to flip back and forth to older Firmware/RUUs with the changing the software version number? Nice find and congrats!
24th May 2012, 08:06 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag New Holland, Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 104
 
497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Holy big picture, batman.

Anyway, a huge thanks to all the devs who worked on this. Hopefully it still works in 4 hours when I get home
24th May 2012, 08:07 PM   |  #10  
niceppl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 262
 
602 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
high five !!

The Following User Says Thank You to niceppl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One X General by ThreadRank