FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[krn.modules] overclocking for Arc (ICS) without custom kernels [now released!]

397 posts
Thanks Meter: 382
 
By viulian, Recognized Developer on 25th May 2012, 10:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
28th May 2012, 05:37 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
just wait he will upload the modules very soon
 
 
28th May 2012, 05:44 PM |#22  
ascariz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
please change the title after you finish it.tq..
28th May 2012, 07:52 PM |#23  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 382
 
Donate to Me
More
I have released the modules - please check first post on the topic!
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to viulian For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 07:59 PM |#24  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 49
 
Donate to Me
More
+10000 thanks.
I will try it as soon as I will sort out how it Is to be done.

Thanks again.
28th May 2012, 08:17 PM |#25  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 382
 
Donate to Me
More
What is difficult then or not clear ?

I suggest you do the following:

a) on your desktop, extract the .zip.
b) delete the overclock_14.ko file (you can redownload the zip if you want to go higher, for now let's say you only want 1.2Ghz).
c) rename overclock_12.ko to overclock.ko
d) copy to phone on your SD card.
e) open terminal and execute:

insmod /sdcard/overclock.ko

That's it.

If you don't have a terminal, use Script Manager and create a script with the same text as above and execute through Script Manager (although Android Terminal emulator works best).

If you want to go back to stock for whatever reason:

rmmod /sdcard/overclock.ko
The Following User Says Thank You to viulian For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 08:47 PM |#26  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 382
 
Donate to Me
More
I forgot to mention:

a) cpufreq_smartassV2 will work correctly as I've released it here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1354318

b) the same holds for the indellidemand governor from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1665863
The Following User Says Thank You to viulian For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 09:01 PM |#27  
ascariz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
my report:
both frequency works. that's all. LOL.
run asphalt HD 6 smooth as my ass skin.
Reboot my phone, max cpu stick at 1.2GHz & 1.4GHz.

ROM: JJ Hybrid with Rom control
Kernel: Cobrato
Insmod with Viulian modules (Overclock 1.2GHz + Smartassv2)
28th May 2012, 09:06 PM |#28  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 382
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascariz

my report:
both frequency works. that's all. LOL.

No drama, huh =))

Glad it works, I spend a while to make them stable. The 1.4Ghz will draw a bit more power than 1Ghz / 1.2Ghz; it rebooted my phone - so I upped the voltage to the Arc S values - 1250mV instead of 1200mV and no issues since.

The phone is now much more responsive. With custom home screen launcher (dunno why, I have coleagues that like the Sony launcher but I find it very slow so I switched). I also removed all junk .apk and installed a firewall so only what I want will connect to Internet.

So nothing moves there and thus phone is blazing fast.
The Following User Says Thank You to viulian For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 09:13 PM |#29  
ascariz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by viulian

No drama, huh =))

Glad it works, I spend a while to make them stable. The 1.4Ghz will draw a bit more power than 1Ghz / 1.2Ghz; it rebooted my phone - so I upped the voltage to the Arc S values - 1250mV instead of 1200mV and no issues since.

The phone is now much more responsive. With custom home screen launcher (dunno why, I have coleagues that like the Sony launcher but I find it very slow so I switched). I also removed all junk .apk and installed a firewall so only what I want will connect to Internet.

So nothing moves there and thus phone is blazing fast.

1250mV, you are right. that voltage is stable. if you don't set it 1250mV, run HD game like asphalt, boom, crash. lol. so, what's your next mission?
I love how it skip 1GHz. 800MHz straight to 1.2GHz, that's just brilliant.
Last edited by ascariz; 28th May 2012 at 09:18 PM.
28th May 2012, 09:25 PM |#30  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 382
 
Donate to Me
More
Well, I was wondering if the 384Mhz frequency had any meaning in fact. No governor makes use of it, it is just useless.
I would just give it up and shift everything down one level so we can have both 1200 and 1400.

Maybe I should try one game or something now
28th May 2012, 09:30 PM |#31  
ascariz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by viulian

Well, I was wondering if the 384Mhz frequency had any meaning in fact. No governor makes use of it, it is just useless.
I would just give it up and shift everything down one level so we can have both 1200 and 1400.

Maybe I should try one game or something now

yeah. you should try. i install game just try my phone performance. not a game fan at all. about useless frequency, i already thought about that. it's good idea to skip it. 1 for deep sleep, 1 for usb connected (100MHz), 1 for scrolling/browsing speed (800MHz), 1 for gaming speed (>1GHz)

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes