5,598,086 Members 41,516 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[App][OSX/Windows] Wire 4 AirDroid

Tip us?
 
cyansmoker
Old
(Last edited by cyansmoker; 17th August 2012 at 08:15 AM.)
#1  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 546
Posts: 472
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [App][OSX/Windows] Wire 4 AirDroid

While working on that project, I read someone's complaint that AirDroid does not work over a USB cable. I know, that's kind of what the app's name would imply, right?

Anyway, AirDroid is awesome.
There are advantages to using AirDroid over a USB connection: for instance, it's much faster than a wireless connection and your data doesn't travel over your wireless network, and that's obviously safer.

So, I created this couple very basic tray/menu apps: one for OS X, one for Windows. Maybe one for Linux is your ask for it.

All it does it make AirDroid work over the USB cable.

Note that you will need to enable USB debugging on your device. Furthermore, on Windows, you will need to install your manufacturer's USB drivers.



Get your free app at http://nexus.zteo.com/projects/beta/

Cheers,
-Chris.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fullscreen-8.jpg
Views:	7502
Size:	12.5 KB
ID:	1085324  
Projects / Android: Gyf - Root Tools - Native Tools - Alt Mounter - Wire 4 AirDroid -Live Watches - tinysu - Chrome Launcher - etc
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to cyansmoker For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
romskii
Old
#2  
romskii's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 1,783
Join Date: Mar 2009
Nice one! Going to try

Gesendet von meinem Sensation mit Tapatalk 2

Nokia Lumia 1020 - stock
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - Darkman's Stocky ROM N8000
Sony Xperia Tablet Z - stock 4.3 Sony - it's beautiful!



History: HTC S710 - HTC HD2 - HTC Incredible S - HTC Sensation - LG Optimus 3D - Samsung Galaxy Tab 7" - HTC Sensation XE - HTC Desire S - Motorola Milestone - Samsung Galaxy S i9000g - Samsung Galaxy SII i9100 - Samsung Galaxy SIII i9300
 
Bierfreund
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 378
Join Date: Jun 2010
Nice, because I'm also not able to connect my private mobile to my corporate WLAN...
Using AirDroid ober BLuetooth ist not possible? That would be the best for me!
 
cyansmoker
Old
#4  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 546
Posts: 472
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierfreund View Post
Nice, because I'm also not able to connect my private mobile to my corporate WLAN...
Using AirDroid ober BLuetooth ist not possible? That would be the best for me!
Unfortunately, Bluetooth connections are very slow. I guess, with a rooted phone, it would be possible to install a network driver but again it would likely be extremely slow.
Projects / Android: Gyf - Root Tools - Native Tools - Alt Mounter - Wire 4 AirDroid -Live Watches - tinysu - Chrome Launcher - etc
 
nexxxus one
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jun 2012
goooood job, I'll try later
 
HTCore
Old
#6  
HTCore's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 230
Join Date: Dec 2004
Very nice idea. I can't make it running. The app works and it's in my taskbar but the browser can't open it. Is there any instruction how to run it? any options should I check in AirDroid?
 
cyansmoker
Old
#7  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 546
Posts: 472
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles

 
DONATE TO ME
Do you have USB debugging enabled on your device?
Projects / Android: Gyf - Root Tools - Native Tools - Alt Mounter - Wire 4 AirDroid -Live Watches - tinysu - Chrome Launcher - etc
 
HTCore
Old
#8  
HTCore's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 230
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyansmoker View Post
Do you have USB debugging enabled on your device?
Yes, I do. When I select "Open AirDroid" in Wire4Droid, it's open http://127.0.0.1:8888/ address in my browser but unable to open anything. I'm using Win7 64bit can it be the reason?
 
kickr
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 132
Join Date: May 2009
Ohohoho...nice idea!
Gonna try it out
 
gialandra
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Val de Non
Good idea! After installing Galaxy Nexus ToolKit on XP and its driver it tell me: device not detected

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more