Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Data call failure

OP Seechay

28th May 2012, 01:47 AM   |  #1  
Seechay's Avatar
OP Member
West Palm Beach
Thanks Meter: 8
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Has anyone had issues with the HTC Media Link HD? Everytime I connect to it I am bombarded with "Data Call Failure: Error Code 67 Unable to establish wireless data conection." I can't access any internet related apps, yet I can still text and do calls. I am not connect to a wireless router, I am using wifi direct connect. Can someone try replicating this problem by connecting to the media link directly and let me know if you are getting the same error? Sprint was unable to help me with this and they even had me reset my phone so much that I lost all data connectivity and had to do two complete resets to get my data profiles to come back, yet I am still getting the persistent error code 67. All help will be appreciated.
~Seechay

Edit: After I got my data back, I attempted the media link again. I was able to get the internet working. Then I rooted the phone and found out that I know am getting the data call failure error. Does anyone have any idea why the root might be messing with my data connection?
Last edited by Seechay; 28th May 2012 at 02:00 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Seechay For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 05:37 AM   |  #2  
Seechay's Avatar
OP Member
West Palm Beach
Thanks Meter: 8
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Bump! Please if anyone has any insight at all =/
29th May 2012, 01:47 AM   |  #3  
Seechay's Avatar
OP Member
West Palm Beach
Thanks Meter: 8
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Does no one have any idea or a similar problem?
2nd June 2012, 03:04 AM   |  #4  
sbuxreg's Avatar
Member
Flag Uniontown, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 5
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
i am having the EXACT same problem as you. just picked up my media link device tonight and started toying around w/ it. sadly i have no solution at the current time.
2nd June 2012, 06:11 AM   |  #5  
RegnierD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Worthington, OH
Thanks Meter: 400
 
1,581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I'm gonna make a backup and see what I can find. I've got one too. How did you guys set up WiFi direct? I'll go play around in that menu and try to figure it out.

Tapatalked from my shiny new HTC Evo LTE
2nd June 2012, 02:55 PM   |  #6  
sbuxreg's Avatar
Member
Flag Uniontown, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 5
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RegnierD

I'm gonna make a backup and see what I can find. I've got one too. How did you guys set up WiFi direct? I'll go play around in that menu and try to figure it out.

Tapatalked from my shiny new HTC Evo LTE

i didn't mess with wifi direct. i let the media link app do all the configurations.
2nd June 2012, 05:33 PM   |  #7  
RegnierD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Worthington, OH
Thanks Meter: 400
 
1,581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Alright, I'm ready to start diagnosing your guys' issues. I only used my home WiFi and never connected directly to the Media Link HD receiver, so I set that up and then disconnected. I am in a basement (that's where my room is), so I frequently get data drops but I always reconnected after a few minutes or just going upstairs. So, are you in a poor signal area? Have you updated your profile and PRL? Maybe try rebooting? Have you updated the Media Link to its latest firmware? I don't know what to tell you, as I tried switching between both methods of connecting to the Media Link box and couldn't replicate a complete loss of data; mine always came back on. I'm running the latest viperROM, if that makes a difference, but it shouldn't.

Edit: Hold up. When connecting directly to the Media Link's network, you lose all internet connectivity, as the phone's WiFi is connected to an internetless network, but still, you should reconnect to 3G no problem after turning off WiFi. I get the error message a couple times, but my 3G always comes back on.

Tapatalked from my shiny new HTC Evo LTE
Last edited by RegnierD; 2nd June 2012 at 05:38 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to RegnierD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2012, 12:38 AM   |  #8  
thedarkness81's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Quad Cities
Thanks Meter: 9
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
When it's getting the error 67 code, its trying to enable the hotspot feature on the phone for some reason. Since you don't have it active, its erroring out.
5th June 2012, 09:58 PM   |  #9  
detcup4evr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Commerce Twp
Thanks Meter: 314
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedarkness81

When it's getting the error 67 code, its trying to enable the hotspot feature on the phone for some reason. Since you don't have it active, its erroring out.

Do you know if there is a Fix? I am wondering if I root this beast and do the Sprint Hotspot hack (If it is even available) if that would fix it.

I was out of town all weekend so I have a lot of catching up to do on the forums.
6th June 2012, 04:22 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Thumbs down
I'm having the same problem. After 30 minutes on the phone with Sprint, now I have zero data connection. Looks like it hard reset time or get a replacement.

Phone was working fine for 2 days.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes