FORUMS

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

Galaxy Unpacked: What is Samsung Going to Unveil?

Amidst all the hype of the OnePlus 2 and the rain of Moto 2015 news, Samsung tried … more

Arrow Launcher: Good Effort Without Direction

Microsoft’s Android expansion has been well received on the productivity front, but … more

Two New Moto X and New Moto G – Specs & Details

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

[TOOL] One Click Tether Enabler For AT&T One X

191 posts
Thanks Meter: 76
 
By t0mmy, Senior Member on 28th May 2012, 12:58 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

t0mmy tether for HTC One X


INFO

This tool will allow you to use the stock WIFI Hotspot app on the AT&T stock rom without a tether plan. This should also work on any rom that doesn't have this fix already applied.
New Linux/Mac version courtesy of Paul, XDA user vbrtrmn.

HOW TO USE
  1. Make sure phone is plugged in to usb
  2. Download file
  3. Unzip to your computer
  4. Run tether.bat
  5. Follow instructions on screen


NOTES
  • Windows users: download the .zip attachment, Linux/Mac: download the .sh.gz
  • Your phone must be rooted and you must have the android sdk installed to use this!


Edit 1
Added the adb binaries for users getting 'adb is not recognized as a command' error

Edit 2
Added Linux/Mac version, thanks Paul

Attached Files
File Type: zip tether1.1.zip - [Click for QR Code] (246.2 KB, 8135 views)
File Type: gz tether_mac_linux.sh.gz - [Click for QR Code] (523 Bytes, 411 views)
Last edited by t0mmy; 11th July 2012 at 02:57 AM. Reason: Added Mac/Linux version
The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to t0mmy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
28th May 2012, 01:03 AM |#2  
imstill@g's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 161
 
More
Great tool, this will be used by many, thanks

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to imstill@g For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 01:10 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Phila
Thanks Meter: 252
 
More
Root or anything else required?
The Following User Says Thank You to rquinn19 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 01:11 AM |#4  
mikelebz's Avatar
Senior Member
NY
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rquinn19

Root or anything else required?

Check op

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
28th May 2012, 01:14 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This tool is great! Just tried it out and works like a champ! Thanks!!
28th May 2012, 01:28 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
thank you very much for this. I've been waiting for this.

Sent from my HTC One X
28th May 2012, 01:39 AM |#7  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag SLC
Thanks Meter: 8,830
 
Donate to Me
More
you can do this much cleaner by just running a sqlite command to set all the values instead of pushing a different db in.

for rom devs, you can change this in the framework where the apn is stored, that way it gets put into the database this way.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to designgears For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 01:42 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by designgears

you can do this much cleaner by just running a sqlite command to set all the values instead of pushing a different db in.

for rom devs, you can change this in the framework where the apn is stored, that way it gets put into the database this way.

True but this ones free while sqlite isn't. I've already enabled mine but thread like this is always appreciated.
28th May 2012, 01:46 AM |#9  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag SLC
Thanks Meter: 8,830
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by achllles

True but this ones free while sqlite isn't. I've already enabled mine but thread like this is always appreciated.

what? sqlite is built into android, how do think it uses that sqlite file? lol

you can run an adb shell command to do the same thing.

just throwing up other options for the op to check out..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to designgears For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th May 2012, 02:11 AM |#11  
hv6478's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 226
 
More
Not familiar with AT&T but I'm curious about this. Does AT&T offer a specific plan for data with dethering and another one without the ability to do so? Or is this a "fix" for the tethering feature on the stock ROMs or custom ROMs? Or a bit of both?

One reason I ask is because WiFi Hotspot isn't working on the current ROM I'm on.

Thanks in advance for the info guys.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes