Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,702 Members 54,382 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TOOL] One Click Tether Enabler For AT&T One X

Tip us?
 
t0mmy
Old
(Last edited by t0mmy; 11th July 2012 at 02:57 AM.) Reason: Added Mac/Linux version
#1  
t0mmy's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 190
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philly Suburbs
Prompt [TOOL] One Click Tether Enabler For AT&T One X


t0mmy tether for HTC One X


INFO

This tool will allow you to use the stock WIFI Hotspot app on the AT&T stock rom without a tether plan. This should also work on any rom that doesn't have this fix already applied.
New Linux/Mac version courtesy of Paul, XDA user vbrtrmn.

HOW TO USE
  1. Make sure phone is plugged in to usb
  2. Download file
  3. Unzip to your computer
  4. Run tether.bat
  5. Follow instructions on screen


NOTES
  • Windows users: download the .zip attachment, Linux/Mac: download the .sh.gz
  • Your phone must be rooted and you must have the android sdk installed to use this!


Edit 1
Added the adb binaries for users getting 'adb is not recognized as a command' error

Edit 2
Added Linux/Mac version, thanks Paul

Attached Files
File Type: zip tether1.1.zip - [Click for QR Code] (246.2 KB, 7085 views)
File Type: gz tether_mac_linux.sh.gz - [Click for QR Code] (523 Bytes, 386 views)
current devices:
  • moto g (falcon)
  • nexus 7 2013 (flo)
retired devices:
  • one x (evita)
  • hd7 (schubert)
  • nexus one (passion)
  • g1 (dream)



The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to t0mmy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
imstill@g
Old
#2  
imstill@g's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 673
Join Date: Jun 2007
Great tool, this will be used by many, thanks

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to imstill@g For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rquinn19
Old
#3  
rquinn19's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 220
Posts: 1,254
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Phila
Root or anything else required?
The Following User Says Thank You to rquinn19 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mikelebz
Old
#4  
mikelebz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 145
Posts: 950
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by rquinn19 View Post
Root or anything else required?
Check op

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
 
slyse
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
This tool is great! Just tried it out and works like a champ! Thanks!!
 
arnelolavides
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 287
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Jacksonville
thank you very much for this. I've been waiting for this.

Sent from my HTC One X
 
designgears
Old
#7  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 8,679
Posts: 4,876
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SLC

 
DONATE TO ME
you can do this much cleaner by just running a sqlite command to set all the values instead of pushing a different db in.

for rom devs, you can change this in the framework where the apn is stored, that way it gets put into the database this way.
"haters can make like bees with no stingers, and drop dead" -Eminem

Follow me on Twitter!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to designgears For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
achllles
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 402
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by designgears View Post
you can do this much cleaner by just running a sqlite command to set all the values instead of pushing a different db in.

for rom devs, you can change this in the framework where the apn is stored, that way it gets put into the database this way.
True but this ones free while sqlite isn't. I've already enabled mine but thread like this is always appreciated.
HTC One X-ATT
 
designgears
Old
#9  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 8,679
Posts: 4,876
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SLC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by achllles View Post
True but this ones free while sqlite isn't. I've already enabled mine but thread like this is always appreciated.
what? sqlite is built into android, how do think it uses that sqlite file? lol

you can run an adb shell command to do the same thing.

just throwing up other options for the op to check out..
"haters can make like bees with no stingers, and drop dead" -Eminem

Follow me on Twitter!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to designgears For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
XsMagical
Old
#10  
XsMagical's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6,357
Posts: 5,586
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ft. Myers

 
DONATE TO ME
sweet bro, thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes