Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,165 Members 44,058 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ADB download mode command

Tip us?
 
Montoyatok
Old
#1  
Montoyatok's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 280
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Singapore
Default ADB download mode command

Anyone knows the command in adb to boot the phone into download mode? I broke the volume flex cable and it's softbricked now

Sent from my MT11i using XDA
Phone: LG Google Nexus 4
ROM: Stock 4.3
Kernel: Stock
Previous Phones: SE K800i, SE J300i, Samsung Galaxy 3, Sony Ericsson Xperia Neo V
 
stubborn_d0nkey
Old
#2  
stubborn_d0nkey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 110
Posts: 720
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mostar
I'm pretty sure its "reboot download" just like through a terminal emulator from the phone (root required).
When will I get my Nexus 4, arghh!!

Learn what Help Vampires are.

Please remember that not everybody uses the same posts per page setting (so please tend to avoid writing stuff like "5 pages ago")
The Following User Says Thank You to stubborn_d0nkey For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jason-EX
Old
#3  
Jason-EX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 978
Posts: 1,062
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
#su
#reboot download
 
stubborn_d0nkey
Old
#4  
stubborn_d0nkey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 110
Posts: 720
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mostar
adb shell
$ su
#reboot download

There is no need for su if you have a #
When will I get my Nexus 4, arghh!!

Learn what Help Vampires are.

Please remember that not everybody uses the same posts per page setting (so please tend to avoid writing stuff like "5 pages ago")
The Following User Says Thank You to stubborn_d0nkey For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bsuhas
Old
#5  
bsuhas's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2839
Posts: 980
Join Date: Dec 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montoyatok View Post
Anyone knows the command in adb to boot the phone into download mode? I broke the volume flex cable and it's softbricked now

Sent from my MT11i using XDA
from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.
Click 'Thanks' button if my above post helped you.
I work on Suvi ROM, Suvi Tool and Suvi Booster Script
 

My devices
- Micromax A110 Canvas 2
- Samsung Galaxy 3 i5801
My work -
One of the best ROMs for the Micromax A110 -
Suvi ROM
A generic android suit for windows (PC,Java) - Suvi Tool
A CPU manager script which boost your phones performance(init.d script) - Suvi Booster Script
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to bsuhas For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Montoyatok
Old
#6  
Montoyatok's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 280
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Singapore
Thanks guys

Sent from my MT11i using XDA
Phone: LG Google Nexus 4
ROM: Stock 4.3
Kernel: Stock
Previous Phones: SE K800i, SE J300i, Samsung Galaxy 3, Sony Ericsson Xperia Neo V
 
dt1401
Old
#7  
dt1401's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tulsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuhas View Post
from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.

OMG!!! Bless You!!!

I knew there had to be a better way then pulling out the rest of my thinning hair!!!

Samsung Galaxy S II (SCH-R760) US Cellular
 
FearTheBeard
Old
(Last edited by FearTheBeard; 29th July 2013 at 01:39 PM.)
#8  
FearTheBeard's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Kryvyi Rih
Quote:
Originally Posted by dt1401 View Post
OMG!!! Bless You!!!

I knew there had to be a better way then pulling out the rest of my thinning hair!!!

Samsung Galaxy S II (SCH-R760) US Cellular
Thanks for this thread, for last two days I was trying to reboot my sIII in download mode through "adb reboot-fastboot" and it wasn't working, I thought the problem is in the drivers, but just trying adb reboot download and it worked.

But how to I check my device now? In normal mode I was typing "adb devices", what about this mode? thank you.
 
chlebta
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuhas View Post
from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.
Sorry but it Reboot in Normal Mode
 
ggossamer
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chlebta View Post
Sorry but it Reboot in Normal Mode
I think I'm also experiencing the same thing, and could really use someone's help.

I have a Sprint Galaxy S3 and have rooted it. My display is broken, so would try to use the how-to to create a headless backup.

When I try to reboot it into download mode, it seems to never come back. I believe it's waiting for a keypress on the phone, or scrolling through a menu to select the right option so it can continue to boot. Can anyone with a working display confirm this for me?

I rooted it a while ago, so don't remember what's on the screen.

When I try to reboot in recovery mode, I'm also unable to select the proper menu option to continue to boot into recovery mode.

Is it always necessary to boot into download mode first, or only if you want to download something? In other words, if I only want to reboot into recovery, can I skip the download mode boot first?

Ideas greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Alex

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes