FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

ADB download mode command

281 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By Montoyatok, Senior Member on 6th June 2012, 02:47 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Anyone knows the command in adb to boot the phone into download mode? I broke the volume flex cable and it's softbricked now

Sent from my MT11i using XDA
 
 
6th June 2012, 05:04 PM |#2  
stubborn_d0nkey's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mostar
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
I'm pretty sure its "reboot download" just like through a terminal emulator from the phone (root required).
The Following User Says Thank You to stubborn_d0nkey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2012, 03:10 AM |#3  
Jason-EX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 980
 
More
#su
#reboot download
7th June 2012, 08:30 AM |#4  
stubborn_d0nkey's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mostar
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
adb shell
$ su
#reboot download

There is no need for su if you have a #
The Following User Says Thank You to stubborn_d0nkey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2012, 02:23 PM |#5  
bsuhas's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,000
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montoyatok

Anyone knows the command in adb to boot the phone into download mode? I broke the volume flex cable and it's softbricked now

Sent from my MT11i using XDA

from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to bsuhas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2012, 03:23 PM |#6  
Montoyatok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Thanks guys

Sent from my MT11i using XDA
17th January 2013, 06:53 AM |#7  
dt1401's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Tulsa
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuhas

from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.


OMG!!! Bless You!!!

I knew there had to be a better way then pulling out the rest of my thinning hair!!!

Samsung Galaxy S II (SCH-R760) US Cellular
29th July 2013, 12:14 AM |#8  
FearTheBeard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kryvyi Rih
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dt1401

OMG!!! Bless You!!!

I knew there had to be a better way then pulling out the rest of my thinning hair!!!

Samsung Galaxy S II (SCH-R760) US Cellular

Thanks for this thread, for last two days I was trying to reboot my sIII in download mode through "adb reboot-fastboot" and it wasn't working, I thought the problem is in the drivers, but just trying adb reboot download and it worked.

But how to I check my device now? In normal mode I was typing "adb devices", what about this mode? thank you.
Last edited by FearTheBeard; 29th July 2013 at 01:39 PM.
3rd August 2013, 05:23 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuhas

from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.

Sorry but it Reboot in Normal Mode
15th August 2013, 09:02 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chlebta

Sorry but it Reboot in Normal Mode

I think I'm also experiencing the same thing, and could really use someone's help.

I have a Sprint Galaxy S3 and have rooted it. My display is broken, so would try to use the how-to to create a headless backup.

When I try to reboot it into download mode, it seems to never come back. I believe it's waiting for a keypress on the phone, or scrolling through a menu to select the right option so it can continue to boot. Can anyone with a working display confirm this for me?

I rooted it a while ago, so don't remember what's on the screen.

When I try to reboot in recovery mode, I'm also unable to select the proper menu option to continue to boot into recovery mode.

Is it always necessary to boot into download mode first, or only if you want to download something? In other words, if I only want to reboot into recovery, can I skip the download mode boot first?

Ideas greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Alex
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes