Post Reply

ADB download mode command

OP Montoyatok

6th June 2012, 02:47 PM   |  #1  
Montoyatok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Anyone knows the command in adb to boot the phone into download mode? I broke the volume flex cable and it's softbricked now

Sent from my MT11i using XDA
6th June 2012, 05:04 PM   |  #2  
stubborn_d0nkey's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mostar
Thanks Meter: 110
 
720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I'm pretty sure its "reboot download" just like through a terminal emulator from the phone (root required).
The Following User Says Thank You to stubborn_d0nkey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2012, 03:10 AM   |  #3  
Jason-EX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 979
 
1,062 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
#su
#reboot download
7th June 2012, 08:30 AM   |  #4  
stubborn_d0nkey's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mostar
Thanks Meter: 110
 
720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
adb shell
$ su
#reboot download

There is no need for su if you have a #
The Following User Says Thank You to stubborn_d0nkey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2012, 02:23 PM   |  #5  
bsuhas's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,928
 
1,011 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montoyatok

Anyone knows the command in adb to boot the phone into download mode? I broke the volume flex cable and it's softbricked now

Sent from my MT11i using XDA

from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to bsuhas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2012, 03:23 PM   |  #6  
Montoyatok's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Thanks guys

Sent from my MT11i using XDA
17th January 2013, 06:53 AM   |  #7  
dt1401's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Tulsa
Thanks Meter: 7
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuhas

from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.


OMG!!! Bless You!!!

I knew there had to be a better way then pulling out the rest of my thinning hair!!!

Samsung Galaxy S II (SCH-R760) US Cellular
29th July 2013, 12:14 AM   |  #8  
FearTheBeard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kryvyi Rih
Thanks Meter: 6
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dt1401

OMG!!! Bless You!!!

I knew there had to be a better way then pulling out the rest of my thinning hair!!!

Samsung Galaxy S II (SCH-R760) US Cellular

Thanks for this thread, for last two days I was trying to reboot my sIII in download mode through "adb reboot-fastboot" and it wasn't working, I thought the problem is in the drivers, but just trying adb reboot download and it worked.

But how to I check my device now? In normal mode I was typing "adb devices", what about this mode? thank you.
Last edited by FearTheBeard; 29th July 2013 at 01:39 PM.
3rd August 2013, 05:23 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuhas

from computer,
adb reboot download
adb reboot recovery
works 100%, no TerminalE required.

Sorry but it Reboot in Normal Mode
15th August 2013, 09:02 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chlebta

Sorry but it Reboot in Normal Mode

I think I'm also experiencing the same thing, and could really use someone's help.

I have a Sprint Galaxy S3 and have rooted it. My display is broken, so would try to use the how-to to create a headless backup.

When I try to reboot it into download mode, it seems to never come back. I believe it's waiting for a keypress on the phone, or scrolling through a menu to select the right option so it can continue to boot. Can anyone with a working display confirm this for me?

I rooted it a while ago, so don't remember what's on the screen.

When I try to reboot in recovery mode, I'm also unable to select the proper menu option to continue to boot into recovery mode.

Is it always necessary to boot into download mode first, or only if you want to download something? In other words, if I only want to reboot into recovery, can I skip the download mode boot first?

Ideas greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Alex

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes