FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[How-To] Remove HTClinkifydispatcher.apk to open YouTube links to the YouTube app etc

5,712 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,775
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This should work for all HTC phones with HTClinkifyDispatcher.apk (so basically all HTC phones on 4.0 or 4.1 and a few on 2.3 with most sense-based ROMs) if opening a YouTube link in the browser doesn't give you the option to open it in the native YouTube app, you have HTCLinkifyDispatcher on your phone. This also applies to Play Store links, Maps addresses, and possibly Contact data and phone numbers.

You're going to have to be rooted to do this.
Some custom ROM's already have this removed.

1. First use root explorer or another root browser app to find and delete HTClinkifydispatcher.apk. This can be found in /system/app

2. Download and install a build.prop editor (such as THIS app) from the Play Store. Alternatively, you can just use a root-enabled file browser to edit it in /system

3. Find the line that says "ro.da1.enable". Click on it and change from "true" to "false". In some recent updates, there may be more than one instance of this line. Change every instance of this code to make sure it works fully.

4. Reboot to recovery and clear your cache and wipe dalvik

5. Reboot system and enjoy!

Note: Contrary to popular belief, you do need to delete the .apk from /system/app, or else you may incur problems

This guide is based on the findings of iconeo and steal25, so credits to them
Original thread can be found here (the line it says to add to the build.prop underneath the one we edit shouldn't be necessary for our device)


If you encounter any problems, let me know. If it works for you, please hit thanks for me.

Sweet! This got on the front page of XDA!! Thanks guys!
Last edited by AshtonTS; 3rd May 2013 at 07:01 PM.
The Following 95 Users Say Thank You to AshtonTS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
7th June 2012, 03:33 AM |#2  
dyetheskin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag bensalem, pa
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
sick stuff! didn't think there be a revert patch to undo HTC's associations
7th June 2012, 05:02 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag North ID
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
THIS IS WHY I LOVE XDA.
Now we just have to ask devs to incorporate this into ROM's, shouldn't be hard.



LONG LOATHE APPLE.
7th June 2012, 05:05 AM |#4  
dragonrazorz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Yes!!!!!!!! Thanks you!!"
7th June 2012, 05:06 AM |#5  
AshtonTS's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Woodstock, CT
Thanks Meter: 2,775
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoryHe

THIS IS WHY I LOVE XDA.
Now we just have to ask devs to incorporate this into ROM's, shouldn't be hard.



LONG LOATHE APPLE.

Haha. Glad you like It bro
The Following User Says Thank You to AshtonTS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2012, 05:06 AM |#6  
AshtonTS's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Woodstock, CT
Thanks Meter: 2,775
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonrazorz

Yes!!!!!!!! Thanks you!!"

And you too
The Following User Says Thank You to AshtonTS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2012, 05:44 AM |#7  
GoldenCyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 103
 
More
Worked like a charm, thanks.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
7th June 2012, 07:17 AM |#8  
SteveG12543's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Dover, DE
Thanks Meter: 375
 
Donate to Me
More
Success! I was wondering why it wasn't giving me the option to choose the YouTube app when I click on a YouTube link, or the Play Store when I clicked on a Market link. Was so annoying the other way, thank you

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using XDA Premium HD app.
7th June 2012, 01:42 PM |#9  
teckels's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Youtube worked great, back to the good old days. I also tested cell number and email from text message which worked and also phone number from an email in exchange. (all issues people had). Thanks for putting this in one place.
7th June 2012, 02:46 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Columbia, SC
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I was running Scott's Clean ROM 4.4 and after I wiped the cache and Dalvik cache and rebooted it told me "Android is upgrading...." and then it went through and said "Optimizing XXX of 247 apps"

Is this normal?

Edit: This definitely fixed the issue I was having with facebook app. Everytime I clicked on a weblink in a post on my timeline, I'd get an error from facebook that said connection error and retry and it never worked. Now it works great!
Last edited by derek4484; 7th June 2012 at 02:54 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to derek4484 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2012, 02:47 PM |#11  
ericsignals's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 245
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek4484

I was running Scott's Clean ROM 4.4 and after I wiped the cache and Dalvik cache and rebooted it told me "Android is upgrading...." and then it went through and said "Optimizing XXX of 247 apps"

Is this normal?

Yes..whenever you wipe dalvik cache it will do that on first boot up.

Sent from my Rezound
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ericsignals For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
#blameant
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes