5,594,564 Members 32,878 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Samsung working on Emmc brick fix

Tip us?
 
androidindian
Old
(Last edited by androidindian; 8th July 2012 at 06:26 AM.)
#1  
androidindian's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 803
Posts: 1,714
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Delhi
Angry Samsung working on Emmc brick fix

More info and source credits here, thanks to codeworkx https://plus.google.com/111398485184...ts/21pTYfTsCkB.


Quote:
ATTENTION:
We've contacted Samsung about the problem where performing a mmc erase could hardbrick your phone (i9100, i9100g, n7000, m250 - MAG4FA, VYL00M, and KYL00M with firmware revision 0x19 // T989 and I727 with fw rev 0x12) if it's having a faulty emmc chip.
Read this thread for more informations about it: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1644364

They're working as hard as possible on a clean solution which will be ready soon.

Please be patient and try to not flash any leaked kernels or kernels based on sources where MMC_CAP_ERASE is present.

This app http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...74&postcount=1 can be used to identify if your phone is affected or not.

CM9 kernels are safe to flash.

Please share!

Update 14:56 CEST:
Patches will be out in form of new official ROMs and also sourcecode releases after testing, which might take some time.
New Clarifications by Entropy : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=403 - Must Read.

To check whether your phone has the brick bug, download the Got Brickbug app from Chainfire: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1693704

Also do read the article on xda for more info.: http://www.xda-developers.com/androi...hardbrick-fix/
The Following 51 Users Say Thank You to androidindian For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sc00by666
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 112
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Warszawa
Nice!
 
prasad.adam
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 319
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mumbai
That is a really good news after some time.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
 
calvincarlos
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 40
Join Date: Apr 2012
Good news!
Looking forward to see how Samsung solve this nightmare

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
Current:
Samsung Galaxy S3 I9300
The World's FASTEST Android phone yet

Samsung Galaxy Note N7000
ROM : Criskelo's ICS v6 --- a GREAT ROM for Note
Kernal : SpeedMod K3-3

****************************
Previous:

HTC Sensation
ROM : Android Revolution HD 6.6.7
Kernal : CFS Ultimate Edition 006

Samsung Galaxy S i9003
SE Xperia X8 with Froyo 2.2
HTC HD2 --------- A legendary Phone (⊙o⊙)
 
gominolo2002
Old
#5  
gominolo2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 275
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Madrid

 
DONATE TO ME
How many time to fix this Samsung BUG? How maby people need ti brick our 600? If samsung knows why no first before? Grrrrr...

All hard work its from XDA devs!!!! Thank you devs!!

Enviado desde mi GT-N7000 usando Tapatalk 2
Do you like change your icons, logos, post images, boot animations... in your ROM? Contact to me!
 
nandihno
Old
#6  
nandihno's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 993
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brisbane
Hmmm don't want to get my hopes up
But hmmm ok let's hope saw but how do we know is true ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
androidindian
Old
#7  
androidindian's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 803
Posts: 1,714
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Delhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by nandihno View Post
Hmmm don't want to get my hopes up
But hmmm ok let's hope saw but how do we know is true ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Teamhacksung dev codeworkx been in touch with Sammy guys so its genuine news...check link in op :)



Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
 
jermitano
Old
#8  
jermitano's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 820
Posts: 1,292
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Manila
at least we now have some hope...hopefully...

SAMSUNG GT i9100
SAMSUNG GN n7000
SAMSUNG GS I9300
SAMSUNG GN n7100

"never argue with an IDIOT, they'll just drag you down to their level then beat you with experience"

 
ripnetuk
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 99
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default So to be clear...

Can someone confirm the following is correct please?

I have a N7000 on official (german) ICS, with the dodgy mmc chip. I must have been lucky since ive flashed a bunch of roms (including CM9, back to gingerbread, then official ICS) without issue. Ive also done a few CWM backup and restores... phew!

1. Flashing anything from the phone itself (eg using mobile odin or CWM recovery) is a no-go (assuming it issues the erase command)

2. Flashing from the PC is OK ??? (via desktop ODIN)?

If 2 is untrue, how is sammy gonna issue an update (with the erase capability turned off) without bricking a load of phones during the update process? can they maybe provide a custom app which re-flashes the kernel without doing an erase first?

thanks

George
 
nandihno
Old
#10  
nandihno's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 993
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripnetuk View Post
Can someone confirm the following is correct please?

I have a N7000 on official (german) ICS, with the dodgy mmc chip. I must have been lucky since ive flashed a bunch of roms (including CM9, back to gingerbread, then official ICS) without issue. Ive also done a few CWM backup and restores... phew!

1. Flashing anything from the phone itself (eg using mobile odin or CWM recovery) is a no-go (assuming it issues the erase command)

2. Flashing from the PC is OK ??? (via desktop ODIN)?

If 2 is untrue, how is sammy gonna issue an update (with the erase capability turned off) without bricking a load of phones during the update process? can they maybe provide a custom app which re-flashes the kernel without doing an erase first?

thanks

George
Flashing is not the problem but wiping is
So if they release a new update then simply don't wipe on your ics but wipe only after you install the new update
If however you want to be extra careful like I am
Flash a gb rom via odin then wipe that then flash said ics update via Odin


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

The Following User Says Thank You to nandihno For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes