Post Reply

[GUIDE] How to port sense to non-HTC devices.

OP Lord Inglip

13th June 2012, 12:06 AM   |  #1  
Lord Inglip's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
How to port Sense.
Source: http://forums.androidcentral.com/opt...ow-i-port.html (second post)
This is NOT my guide, just posting it here!

Quote:

This is a very difficult process that I hope you'll understand.
First step is to find a device that is preferably VERY similar to your device, in this instance I guess we would use the htc thunderbolt, which I've been told multiple times that it is used for the MT.
You're going to want to use CM7 for parts. Simple enough.
I will be referring the Sense ROM to SENSE and CM7 as BASE to simple things up. So remember that.

When I say replace, I would recommend deleting from one and adding it with the other

Open up Sense and Base in different windows.
Put in the boot.img from Base into Sense (make sure you put the original boot.img in some other place that you'll remember)
go into /system/usr on both
replace keylayouts and keychars from Base into Sense (this is just your keys)

download dsixda's kitchen (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=633246)
Get the ROM you have so far set up in it and what not (I'm a little fuzzy at this part)
Once you get done with that, run the menu in terminal and navigate your way to decompile the boot.img (action key- "a") and then run the same thing except run the action key "w" to decompile the original boot.img. So the key here is to decompile both boot.img's.

Go into the ramdisk on both and go into init.rc
THE MOST IMPORTANT PART IN THIS (THE MATTER OF BOOT AND BOOTLOOP) IS THE LINE
"export BOOTCLASSPATH" near the top. It will have a bunch of lines after it. Now in the Base's boot.img, delete this whole line. Replace it with the lines from Sense's boot.img.
Now you can add anything else you want that looks like it belongs (preferably anything sense related)
Don't recompile the boot.img yet.

Now we add a2sd. To do this, just follow this guide (https://www.facebook.com/note.php?no...58823170833688)
The only thing you do in there is the edits to the init.rc, don't listen to the decompiling/recompiling mentions. Now you can go back into the menu for the kitchen and recompile the boot.img (action key - "b"). Now don't compile the WHOLE ROM, just take the new boot.img in working_** and put it into the Sense zip.

Now you're going to want to download my ROM (sorry, just don't feel like uploading each individual file) http://gannon5197.blogspot.nl/2012/0...se-booted.html
And go into the /system/bin on both
these are the files you're going to need: a2sd, bash, apps2sd.hlp, busybox.a2sd, chka2sd, jita2sd, launcha2sd, starta2sd, and maybe possibly sh (try once without it)
And you're going to want to set permissions for each one of these in the updater-script (look at mine for references)

Now also look at my zip and you'll see move_cache_sd. Put that in yours and set permissions for it in updater-script (use mine for references)

After that, the other stuff is mainly just getting rid of all the bloatware, (look in /system/app and /system/media) I wouldn't delete any libs as of right now. If you try to flash it and it reboots recovery then it is too big.

If it is too big, you're probably going to want to move a lot of the apps to data. To do this, just make a file called data/app/put_your_apps_here on the root of the zip. You're going to have to set permissions for it in the updater-script, but use the test.zip I sent you in the original.

This will most likely get you booted. Nothing will likely work. Which is expected. If you have any problems, just use logcat. It will be your bestfriend. Have fun porting

Last edited by Lord Inglip; 18th June 2012 at 07:48 PM.
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to Lord Inglip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2012, 07:58 PM   |  #2  
Lord Inglip's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
reserved
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lord Inglip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2012, 10:25 PM   |  #3  
kssood's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shimla
Thanks Meter: 1,413
 
726 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Thanks for reopening it bro...

Sent from my LG-P500 using Tapatalk 2
18th June 2012, 11:34 PM   |  #4  
Lord Inglip's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
No problem :thumbup:
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lord Inglip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2012, 01:07 PM   |  #5  
kssood's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shimla
Thanks Meter: 1,413
 
726 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Don't know how this above awesome thread is so blank
Have u tested if this way works

Sent from my LG-P500 using Tapatalk 2
20th June 2012, 09:54 AM   |  #6  
voetbalremco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag gelderland
Thanks Meter: 1,771
 
4,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
great guide, gonna try out soon
20th June 2012, 03:39 PM   |  #7  
djpbx's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Breda, the Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,562
 
1,429 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
hmm this one's new for me. saved
should come in handy sometimes
20th June 2012, 05:06 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 258
 
979 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
someone has to do this for the Galaxy S2.
Will it also work for ICS ROMs?
20th June 2012, 08:02 PM   |  #9  
nerfman100's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I must do this. Anybody know where I can get the firmware for the One S?
22nd June 2012, 03:33 AM   |  #10  
4rth's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Can i use a Gingerbread ROM as a base instead of cm7?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Software Development by ThreadRank