XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Finally! A Solution for "Data Call Failure" or Error 67

OP erikivy

14th June 2012, 10:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Central VA
Thanks Meter: 114
 
563 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
First of all, proceed at your own risk. Poking around in your phone can cause problems if you're not careful.

I'm posting this because I spent quite a bit of time searching, but could find nothing that worked. I tried resets, updating profile/PRL, etc and none of them helped. I finally bit the bullet and called Sprint. After a short discussion about everything I had tried, a nice lady named Rachel had me update my data profile, which is apparently different than resetting it. You need to get into the SCRTN menu and the required EPST code is ##72786#, which is one that I did lot have in my handy list of useful codes.

After entering the code, you are presented with a password prompt, which is where you input your MSL.


After doing so, you are at the SCRTN main menu.


When you tap "Menu" in the upper right hand corner, one of the two options presented is "Reset".


Tap that bad boy and you get this confirmation message.


When you tap ok, it does it's thing and then reboots. When it finishes rebooting, it should start the handsfree activation process and then all will be right with the world....or at least it was for me.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to erikivy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th June 2012, 07:12 AM   |  #2  
mrrogers1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NEEEEBRASKA
Thanks Meter: 2,447
 
2,913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Thumbs up
Just wanted to say THANK YOU! Activating my "old" LTE which was already rooted and got this. Took an hour with a CSR and getting disconnected for me to do a quick search to find this thread. I called back, got my MSL and did this and BAM!

Thanks a ton for sharing this.
28th June 2012, 08:06 AM   |  #3  
detcup4evr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Commerce Twp
Thanks Meter: 314
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thanks a bunch, I am running stock Rom, but could get error 67 to go away with sprint tether. So I ran this and voila looks like that fixed my error 67 tether issue. Which also fixed my media link error 67 message


**edit**
The error came back after a reboot, I will fiddle with it more later see if I can make it stick
Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by detcup4evr; 28th June 2012 at 08:37 AM.
29th June 2012, 01:27 AM   |  #4  
wuestsider's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rancho Cordova, CA
Thanks Meter: 41
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
A week ago I was getting the error code 67, as well as no data what-so-ever. No matter what I did (the ##72786# data reset as well as the ##986# hard reset) still no data connection (error code 67).

So I took it to Sprint, they couldn't fix it and ended up giving me a new phone. Basically, nothing helped. The Sprint tech. really couldn't answer what was wrong, so his fall back excuse for the issue was installing an unstable ROM.

Which was not true, I had ViperRom installed on the phone for about 2 1/2 weeks before my phones data took a crap on me

WUESTSIDER!

Sent with my rEVOLTe, the Family JEWEL!
29th June 2012, 01:33 PM   |  #5  
chazybaz13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spokane
Thanks Meter: 27
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
An easy fix is ##DATA# enter msl, click data and edit the Active Profile from 0 to 1, commit and reboot. No one at Sprint or anywhere could help me. I got calls and texts fine, but data was a no go until I changed that value.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to chazybaz13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2012, 06:51 PM   |  #6  
gpz1100's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 288
 
2,078 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
It should be noted that all of these ## codes ONLY work on sense roms, not aosp.
29th June 2012, 07:08 PM   |  #7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 1,253
 
2,471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
not sure if anybody here is wondering how to get there MSL number without calling sprint, but use this app.... worked on the 3D, also works on the LTE...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jotxjcq0wj...ode.msl_15.apk
1st July 2012, 12:06 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 16
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobraboy85

not sure if anybody here is wondering how to get there MSL number without calling sprint, but use this app.... worked on the 3D, also works on the LTE...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jotxjcq0wj...ode.msl_15.apk

MSL Reader is available in the Play Store. That's what I use.

https://play.google.com/store/search?q=msl+reader
1st July 2012, 12:08 AM   |  #9  
mrrogers1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NEEEEBRASKA
Thanks Meter: 2,447
 
2,913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanmanc

MSL Reader is available in the Play Store. That's what I use.

https://play.google.com/store/search?q=msl+reader

That's the app he posted, just from his drop box.

Sent from my EVO LTE using XDA premium
2nd July 2012, 07:40 PM   |  #10  
mroppolo's Avatar
Junior Member
Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Man, I have tried everything i order to get native HotSpot working. Hee are the steps, as I know them:
  • Modify build.prop, adding the command ro.tether.denied=false
  • Reboot to recovery
  • Use TeamWin to wipe both Cache and Dalvik
  • Reboot normally
  • USB Tether
  • Turn on HotSpot

Still getting Error 67 every 15 seconds. Let it wait for 5 few minutes; no joy

I even turned off LTE (since it doesn't exist), nada.

Anyone with additional ideas ?

Thanks !

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread