5,596,637 Members 44,010 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Get most Gameloft games compatible with the S4 HTC One X

Tip us?
 
rohan32
Old
(Last edited by rohan32; 16th June 2012 at 11:52 PM.)
#1  
rohan32's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5021
Posts: 1,986
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [HOWTO] Get most Gameloft games compatible with the S4 HTC One X

To get most games compatible with the S4 HTC One X, we need to edit our build.prop file to match that of a Galaxy Note.
Also, there is a multitouch bug in AOKP and CM9 right now where if you hold one finger and put on another, as soon as you pick up one finger the system will stop recognizing the other finger as well. This leads to a really annoying FPS experience. I'd recommend running another custom ROM that is built off stock for now if you plan on playing a game that uses this type of control.

Quote:
Quote:
1. Navigate to /system/ and open the build.prop file from a file manager of your choice that has root access (I prefer Root Explorer from the Play Store)
Quote:
2. Change the following values to the ones in bold:

ro.product.model=GT-N700
ro.product.brand=samsung
ro.product.name=GT-N700
ro.product.device=galaxynote
ro.product.board=MSM8960
ro.product.manufacturer=samsung
ro.build.product=galaxynote

The values are case sensitive by the way.
Quote:
3. Reboot and then try to download the game data again. There should no longer be a "This game is not compatible with your device" error.

Having issues? Make sure there are no other instances of ro.product.model in your build.prop. Some ROMs may do this. If it does have another instance, delete it.
Not all games work after that, some of them have some compatabillity issues.

Quote:
Quote:
CONFIRMED WORKING:
N.O.V.A. 3 - works perfectly, these graphics looks downright amazing on our screen
I will add more working games as people tell me that they are working through this method.

I know the games downloaded via the gameloft website have been working fine, but for those of us who download the games from the market from other devices and want to download it on our S4 HTC One X now, this works.

Thanks to thatg for originally providing me with his build.prop file that he modded.
Please thank this post if this helped you!

Also, I don't take responsibility for any games that you might buy and then expect to work but they don't. This may not work for everyone (it should, but still) but if it doesn't, don't blame me for making you spend more money :/
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to rohan32 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
_MetalHead_
Old
(Last edited by _MetalHead_; 16th June 2012 at 11:10 PM.)
#2  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Will this allow us to actually purchase the game from gameloft or the play store or do we need to already have the apk?

Edit: I was able to download it but I am getting the not compatible error. Are there other lines in the build.prop that need to be edited?
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
rohan32
Old
(Last edited by rohan32; 16th June 2012 at 11:16 PM.)
#3  
rohan32's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5021
Posts: 1,986
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_ View Post
Will this allow us to actually purchase the game from gameloft or the play store or do we need to already have the apk?

Edit: I was able to download it but I am getting the not compatible error. Are there other lines in the build.prop that need to be edited?
I believe it has been working fine from gameloft.com, since they have some special "for evita" section on their website or something. I personally have never bought off their website though.

The apk from the market doesn't work with the HTC One X though, so I just grabbed the APK from my old device and put it on here, did the mod, and it worked.

I'm not sure about whether it will allow you to download the game from the Play Store, though I would assume it would now and no longer display any compatibility issues.



Also, what game were you trying? Did you reboot after saving the changes?
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#4  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
I couldn't download it from Gameloft but did from the play store. I just edited the build.prop again to reflect the SOC that's in the Note (MSM8660) and am rebooting now. Hopefully this works.

Edit: Still didn't work, there's gotta be something else that needs to be changed.
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
rohan32
Old
#5  
rohan32's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5021
Posts: 1,986
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_ View Post
I couldn't download it from Gameloft but did from the play store. I just edited the build.prop again to reflect the SOC that's in the Note (MSM8660) and am rebooting now. Hopefully this works.

Edit: Still didn't work, there's gotta be something else that needs to be changed.
Hmm, what game are you trying?
Here is the build.prop that thatg sent me:
http://db.tt/P73EE0Hn
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#6  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
NOVA 3
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
rohan32
Old
(Last edited by rohan32; 16th June 2012 at 11:25 PM.)
#7  
rohan32's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5021
Posts: 1,986
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_ View Post
NOVA 3
Okay let me try it again I just had to reflash so I anyway had to do it. 1 sec.

EDIT: Found it:

ro.product.board=MSM8960

change it to that from evita

Try it now!
 
_MetalHead_
Old
(Last edited by _MetalHead_; 16th June 2012 at 11:30 PM.)
#8  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan32 View Post
Okay let me try it again I just had to reflash so I anyway had to do it. 1 sec.

EDIT: Found it:

ro.product.board=MSM8960

change it to that from evita

Try it now!
OK gimme a sec here

edit: That was in your first post already
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
rohan32
Old
(Last edited by rohan32; 16th June 2012 at 11:31 PM.)
#9  
rohan32's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5021
Posts: 1,986
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_ View Post
OK gimme a sec here

edit: That was in your first post already
Nope I just edited the post to say that. Was it already that value for you?
I just tried it, worked for me. Downloading 120mb of 1.7gb :eek: haha
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#10  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan32 View Post
Nope I just edited the post to say that. Was it already that value for you?
I just tried it, worked for me. Downloading 120mb of 1.7gb :eek: haha
I found the issue. There was another instance of ro.product.model that needed to be changed to GT-N700. Downloading now
\m/(-_-)\m/

The Following User Says Thank You to _MetalHead_ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes