5,600,292 Members 35,828 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Get most Gameloft games compatible with the S4 HTC One X

Tip us?
 
Zephyr136
Old
#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2012
I guess that my device must be rooted to edit the build.prop ?
 
yobbei
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 576
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zephyr136 View Post
I guess that my device must be rooted to edit the build.prop ?
yes indeed
Phone: Rogers HTC One X
ROM: ViperXL 1.2.4
Kernel: Beastmode 3.0
OC: 1.89 and GPU OC
Launcher: Sense with 4x5 Rosie
The Following User Says Thank You to yobbei For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#23  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zephyr136 View Post
I guess that my device must be rooted to edit the build.prop ?
Out of curiosity, why are you on xda if you're not rooted?

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
rohan32
Old
#24  
rohan32's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5021
Posts: 1,986
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Oh also folks if you get any other games working through this method please post here so that I can update the OP!
 
nicodws
Old
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan32 View Post
To get most games compatible with the S4 HTC One X, we need to edit our build.prop file to match that of a Galaxy Note.
Also, there is a multitouch bug in AOKP and CM9 right now where if you hold one finger and put on another, as soon as you pick up one finger the system will stop recognizing the other finger as well. This leads to a really annoying FPS experience. I'd recommend running another custom ROM that is built off stock for now if you plan on playing a game that uses this type of control.



Not all games work after that, some of them have some compatabillity issues.



I will add more working games as people tell me that they are working through this method.

I know the games downloaded via the gameloft website have been working fine, but for those of us who download the games from the market from other devices and want to download it on our S4 HTC One X now, this works.

Thanks to thatg for originally providing me with his build.prop file that he modded.
Please thank this post if this helped you!

Also, I don't take responsibility for any games that you might buy and then expect to work but they don't. This may not work for everyone (it should, but still) but if it doesn't, don't blame me for making you spend more money :/
Rohan, noob here.

im using a rooted ATT HOX, I've tried following your instruction but i just dont understand how to open/edit the build.prop file. ive used the root explorer like you advised but it doesnt allow me to do anything towards the build.prop file

again, im sorry if you find this question stupid, but thanks for your time
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#26  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicodws View Post
Rohan, noob here.

im using a rooted ATT HOX, I've tried following your instruction but i just dont understand how to open/edit the build.prop file. ive used the root explorer like you advised but it doesnt allow me to do anything towards the build.prop file

again, im sorry if you find this question stupid, but thanks for your time
Mount the file system as R/W (button on top right) and then long press on build.prop and select "open in text editor".
\m/(-_-)\m/
The Following User Says Thank You to _MetalHead_ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nicodws
Old
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_ View Post
Mount the file system as R/W (button on top right) and then long press on build.prop and select "open in text editor".
MetalHead

i tried following rohan's instruction, checked no other ro.product.model, and even copied the build.prop thatg provided and still doesnt work, including nova3. any other suggestion?

i seriously am regretting buying att version of hox.
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#28  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1987
Posts: 5,050
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Look over the build.prop carefully. I had trouble at first but found another instance of ro.product.model that had to get changed. Also, it is caps sensitive so keep that in mind.

Don't regret buying the AT&T version, it's better than the International version for sure. Better processor, better battery life, LTE... Once you get it tweaked to your liking you'll be happy with it.
\m/(-_-)\m/
The Following User Says Thank You to _MetalHead_ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ryanalan82
Old
(Last edited by ryanalan82; 23rd June 2012 at 10:52 PM.)
#29  
ryanalan82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 186
Posts: 804
Join Date: Oct 2008
Are there any know games that don't work for you guys who have changed the build prop? You know like you get nova working but other games that did, don't now.

Edit: I was also wondering, to those who got chainfire 3d working. How, without s-off? does it just work and install fine. I have a eVo 4g lte (rooted and HTC unlocked) and it always ends up with with a factory reset.

Sent from my eVo
eVo 4g lte, S-Off, Rooted, M4 superjelly, mount point swapper hack, TWRP 2.5.0.0, 64 GB class 6 SanDisk sd card, cpu 1.5, gpu o/c 512/320, fiops i/o scheduler,2048 sd speed, otg enabled. phone is very very full and still blazing fast! Quadrant over 7400's!
 
Zephyr136
Old
(Last edited by Zephyr136; 5th July 2012 at 11:43 PM.)
#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2012
Undertaking a bit this thread but I done all stuff and could download it as ME: Infiltrator. But the fact is that with Nova 3 I have a flickering screen, so it's totally unplayable yet the game doesn't lag at all when I can see what I do. ME: Infiltrator stay stuck on EA logo... It's two games I'd really want to play. Can anyone help?
EDIT: I have an HTC one S (Snapdragon S4)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes