Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,757 Members 36,678 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT] ZTE z990g Merit (An avail variant?)

Tip us?
 
jcase
Old
#1  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,627
Posts: 3,747
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROOT] ZTE z990g Merit (An avail variant?)

Root for ZTE z990g aka ZTE Merit
by jcase - jcase@cunninglogic.com - http://twitter.com/TeamAndIRC
June 16 2012 - Copyright 2012 CunningLogic
Do Not Distribute or republish without permission. (Sad that this is needed, but people/blogs like to profit off the work of others without credit)

Want to support my work? Donations are always appreciated, but never required:

Paypal: https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...=LZ62YFU3XCEK8
Amazon Giftcards: jcase@cunninglogic.com

Required files:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8699733/chainsdd-su.zip

Unzip chaindsdd-su.zip and then get a shell with adb

Code:
adb shell
Set up the dirs, so shell owns them prior to logging. If shell does not own them then we can not control them. If the logs dir already exists, you may have to do a factory reset to remove them. They should not exist unless someone attempted this previously.

Code:
mkdir /data/local/logs
mkdir /data/local/logs/kernel
Open emode's logset activity. First button should be for enabling log set, enable it. Do not exit the activity, but if you do just repeat the below command.

Code:
am start -a android.intent.action.MAIN -n com.zte.emode/.logset
Confirm the log_kernel.txt file exists, if it does not wait a minute and check again.

Code:
ls -l /data/local/logs/kernel/log_kernel.txt
If it exists, delete it and immediately symlink it to /data/local.prop, logset may recreate it, if it does delete and try symlinking again.

Code:
rm /data/local/logs/kernel/log_kernel.txt
ln -s /data/local.prop /data/local/logs/kernel/log_kernel.txt
Now we want to wait for /data/local.prop to be created, it may take a minute or two. Keep checking until it exists.

Code:
ls -l /data/local.prop
Now once /data/local.prop exists, go back to the logset activity and disable logset. If you don't disable it, it will slowly eat away at all the disk space, and possibly overwrite the local.prop before you get root. Now lets set qemu=1 then reboot.

Code:
echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
exit
adb reboot
Once you have rebooted, remount, install su.

Code:
adb remount
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
adb shell chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
Clean up your mess!

Code:
adb shell rm /data/local.prop
adb shell rm -r /data/local/logs
Reboot, install the Superuser app from the market and enjoy

Code:
adb reboot
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bitshifter52
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Might Not Work As Expected

I just tried this procedure from JCase at the RootzWiki dot com site with mixed results. The phone is a ZTE Merit Z990G from Straight Talk.

I went through all the steps and everything performed as expected. When I start start an app that requires superuser permissions, the app reports that the device has not been properly rooted. I have repeated the process as outlined four times, including downloading the SU file, and have the same results. Titanium Plus, Busy Box Pro and Root Check Basic report that the device is not rooted.

However, a couple of the Google apps - music, movies and reader seem to think the phone is rooted. Any ideas or suggestions will be very appreciated.
 
jcase
Old
#3  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,627
Posts: 3,747
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitshifter52 View Post
I just tried this procedure from JCase at the RootzWiki dot com site with mixed results. The phone is a ZTE Merit Z990G from Straight Talk.

I went through all the steps and everything performed as expected. When I start start an app that requires superuser permissions, the app reports that the device has not been properly rooted. I have repeated the process as outlined four times, including downloading the SU file, and have the same results. Titanium Plus, Busy Box Pro and Root Check Basic report that the device is not rooted.

However, a couple of the Google apps - music, movies and reader seem to think the phone is rooted. Any ideas or suggestions will be very appreciated.

Sounds like band permissions on su, try

adb shell ls -l /system/xbin/su

if the permissions come out as "-rwsr-sr-x" then you are rooted, try updating su with the suepruser app, or finding a different copy of su.

If the permissions are different or it says it doesnt exist, then you need to repeat the instructions as you missed one or two
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
 
bitshifter52
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
Sounds like band permissions on su, try

adb shell ls -l /system/xbin/su

if the permissions come out as "-rwsr-sr-x" then you are rooted, try updating su with the suepruser app, or finding a different copy of su.

If the permissions are different or it says it doesnt exist, then you need to repeat the instructions as you missed one or two
Thank you for the fast response. Here are the permissions for the SU file and based on what you are saying they look good:

C:\SDK>adb shell ls -l /system/xbin/su
-rwsr-sr-x root root 22364 2012-06-17 12:47 su

I have located and downloaded a couple of "su" files from XDA and similar sites and the files are identical. I will continue searching for a different "su" file and see if that makes a difference.

---------- Post added at 06:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:43 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bitshifter52 View Post
Thank you for the fast response. Here are the permissions for the SU file and based on what you are saying they look good:

C:\SDK>adb shell ls -l /system/xbin/su
-rwsr-sr-x root root 22364 2012-06-17 12:47 su

I have located and downloaded a couple of "su" files from XDA and similar sites and the files are identical. I will continue searching for a different "su" file and see if that makes a difference.
I looked around and did not find any "su" files that were different than what I downloaded according to the root process. Just for grins I copied the "su" file from my Noot Tablet which is rooted and tried that file. Sadly, it did not make a difference.

Please let me know if there is any other information I can provide or if you would like me to try something else.
 
jcase
Old
#5  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,627
Posts: 3,747
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
What happens when you open the Superuser app (note this is not supersu) and go to settings/options and attempt to update su?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bitshifter52 View Post
Thank you for the fast response. Here are the permissions for the SU file and based on what you are saying they look good:

C:\SDK>adb shell ls -l /system/xbin/su
-rwsr-sr-x root root 22364 2012-06-17 12:47 su

I have located and downloaded a couple of "su" files from XDA and similar sites and the files are identical. I will continue searching for a different "su" file and see if that makes a difference.

---------- Post added at 06:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:43 PM ----------



I looked around and did not find any "su" files that were different than what I downloaded according to the root process. Just for grins I copied the "su" file from my Noot Tablet which is rooted and tried that file. Sadly, it did not make a difference.

Please let me know if there is any other information I can provide or if you would like me to try something else.
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
 
bitshifter52
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default It Worked - But Don't Know Why...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
What happens when you open the Superuser app (note this is not supersu) and go to settings/options and attempt to update su?
I re-installed Superuser and Superuser Elite and now the phone says it's rooted. I've been in IT for over 35 years and it makes me nervous when software "magically" fixes itself. But now that it's working I won't question it and proceed from here. I appreciate your help and your effort.

Cheers
 
jcase
Old
#7  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,627
Posts: 3,747
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitshifter52 View Post
I re-installed Superuser and Superuser Elite and now the phone says it's rooted. I've been in IT for over 35 years and it makes me nervous when software "magically" fixes itself. But now that it's working I won't question it and proceed from here. I appreciate your help and your effort.

Cheers
Generally you have to run superuser once to get it to work I've found, at least recent builds (or maybe its recent android builds)
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
The Following User Says Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MikeyIsOG
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Problem.

Hello, i have followed this entirely but at parts it says "Access denied" when im on certain parts when i tryed to check if the Kernel log was there it said "access denied" same with some folders.
 
ezpcrox
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default root or no root

followed steps, ended up with this...

$ ls -l /system/xbin/su
ls -l /system/xbin/su
-rw-rw-rw- root root 22364 2012-07-15 09:25 su

the superuser app shows all blank under apps and logs, when i try to update it, it says "checking" for a few secs and then nothing... also wondering how to do a factory reset cuz if i didn't screw the phone up yet, i will thx in advance
 
HDRider420
Old
(Last edited by HDRider420; 25th July 2012 at 02:12 AM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte NC
Has you can see I'm new here. I'm old and retired I would love to root my ZTE Merit 2.3.5 but this is over my head.
I was wondering if there's any accomplished phone rooters in the NC area that would be willing to walk me through this or do this for me
I'd be more than willing to make a donation to make this happen,

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes