Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,098 Members 46,929 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How To- Mount /SDCard2 as /SDCard

Tip us?

filmaker
Old
(Last edited by filmaker; 19th June 2012 at 06:30 PM.)
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 501
Storage How To- Mount /SDCard2 as /SDCard

Make a Backup!

What this will do is mount /sdcard2 as /sdcard and your phone storage /sdcard, to /sdcard2.

Okay, so I started playing around in the vold.fstab, thanks to some inspiration form this thread : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1625238,
and I managed to change to get the internal memory show as the external sdcard, and my 32GB sdcard to show as the phone storage.

If you would like to try this, then use an app like root explorer and navigate to /system/etc and open up vold.fstab.

You'll see two lines:

dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard emmc /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host

dev_mount sdcard2 /mnt/sdcard/ext_sd auto /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.3/mmc_host

Change them to this:

dev_mount sdcard2 /mnt/sdcard/ext_sd emmc /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host

dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.3/mmc_host

Then reboot.

Both mount points are accessible through file explorers, and both are accessible using an MTP connection (Media Sync) when connecting to the computer.

Pros
Move game and app data to your SDCard.
Move Apps to Actual SDCard (not just phone storage)
Google Music files on SDCard

Side Effects
You'll be left to the mercy of MTP for all your file transferring.

You can download the edited vold.fstab here:http://i.minus.com/1340071427/7vY7Qe...lYm/vold.fstab
You can check in this thread for a flashable zip version: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1713737

Just make sure u change the permissions (rw-r-r)

Some extra info for those still confsued (thanks to ryanalan82 for this)

"And remember original storage is:
Internal storage = the app itself