Post Reply

[App] SWAPit RAM EXPANDER - Increase Internal Memory

19th June 2012, 08:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Hey Charge users!

I'm a first time poster long time lurker. I've had this Charge since June 2011 and have flashed many roms from Kejar31's Gummycharged thru Dwitherell's Tweaked (currently on 1.5) and I've always seemed to be limited by the 512MB internal ram which shows ~220/380MB taken after the rom boots depending on what rom you're using. As you add apps this memory gets eaten up and when you forget to push to sd, the phone starts lagging.

People run the script with SQlite 3, run V6 supercharger memory management, clear cache and dalvik cache, etc.

I've heard of a "swapper" before upon first learning android terms but have never seen it discussed thoroughly on the charge threads. I got a class 10 samsung sdhc card and replaced my stock class 4 card, and have allocated 1.5 GB for space on the sdhc card to act as extra RAM and really notice the difference in multitasking. Now my Boat Browser retains the web pages I was viewing in other tabs even after I've gone back to the home screen (doesn't have to reload).

Requirements: Rooted, have a sdhc card that will read faster than 6MB/s (according to the dev), and be running a compatible kernel (im using pbj 0130).

Things I've noticed in my 2 days of usage so far:
- phone faster, responsive
- can handle multitasking much better
- can handle heavy apps like vlingo
- negligible effect on battery life thus far, although if you leave too many things open I can imagine it killing battery life
- have not tried but dev says in description that you can allocate up to 2.5GB of extra ram

In Play Store search: "swapit ram expander"

Hope this helps others out! I know the app is expensive, and I'm in no way related to or even know the dev. Just thought this would ease a lot of frustration on the charge threads and keep ppl from jumping ship for a while! Please post back if you try this with a stock class 4 sdhc to give feedback for others.

Thanks for reading!

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Vidurg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2012, 11:58 AM   |  #2  
shrike1978's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 3,094
 
3,413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
PBJ has swap capability built in...you just have to enable it. However, performance is always going to suffer, whether you notice it or not. For me, the performance difference is negligible until I try to play music, then it's bad....skipping/stuttering and the like, and I don't care how fast you SD card is, its going to be hard to avoid that.

Our RAM is really only a limitation for very heavy multitasking, and I haven't run into a scenario where I actually thought I needed more.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shrike1978 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2012, 03:58 PM   |  #3  
BleedsOrangeandBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleston, SC
Thanks Meter: 50
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Would the constant writing have the potential to shorten your sd card life?
20th June 2012, 04:21 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 528
 
2,184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BleedsOrangeandBlue

Would the constant writing have the potential to shorten your sd card life?

Are you going to keep this phone past 2020? Modern SD cards have the longevity to run through millions of full erase and writes.

By the way, is there any free equivalent to this?

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to kvswim For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2012, 04:28 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
San Fernando Valley
Thanks Meter: 51
 
501 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvswim

Are you going to keep this phone past 2020? Modern SD cards have the longevity to run through millions of full erase and writes.

By the way, is there any free equivalent to this?

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium

In shirke above post he said pbj has it. You just have to enable it.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA
20th June 2012, 04:33 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 528
 
2,184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jager420

In shirke above post he said pbj has it. You just have to enable it.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA

Any "easy" way to do it?

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to kvswim For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2012, 05:26 AM   |  #7  
ilovesoad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plano, TX
Thanks Meter: 47
 
512 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvswim

Any "easy" way to do it?

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium

An initd script should be able to right?

Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk 2
20th June 2012, 08:53 PM   |  #8  
BleedsOrangeandBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleston, SC
Thanks Meter: 50
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvswim

Are you going to keep this phone past 2020? Modern SD cards have the longevity to run through millions of full erase and writes.

So it would exponentially shorten it, but even the exponentially shortened life is probably not going to matter because its such a long time period....got it.

Thanks
21st June 2012, 12:54 AM   |  #9  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 2,980
 
3,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvswim

Any "easy" way to do it?

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium

How is making the file /data/local/useswap hard?

Code:
adb shell touch /data/local/useswap
adb reboot
21st June 2012, 01:10 AM   |  #10  
BleedsOrangeandBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleston, SC
Thanks Meter: 50
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imnuts

How is making the file /data/local/useswap hard?

Code:
adb shell touch /data/local/useswap
adb reboot

He didn't say it was hard... he just asked if there was an easy way because he didn't know what all the answer entailed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes