Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,845 Members 50,930 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Bad WiFi Performance?

Tip us?
 
caveman999
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 203
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin
Question [Q] Bad WiFi Performance?

I just got my S3 today and it has been great so far save for one issue. I seem to be experiencing really bad WiFi performance. I ran a speed test using the speedtest.net app on my iPhone 4 and got around 8 megabits per second down. However, when I ran the same test on my S3, I got about 1 megabit per second down consistently between numerous tests.

I don't have this issue while using LTE, which makes me think that it is a problem with the WiFi antenna. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?

Thanks
 
TranceMission18
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Mine runs perfect on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz bands through wifi.

Getting 30Mbits down and 22Mbits up.
 
numba3
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2010
does this happen on when connected to any wifi? or just particular one?
 
mehdi_s82
Old
#4  
mehdi_s82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 250
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rockville, MD
Make sure your phone is not on Power Save mode.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mehdi_s82 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
daraj
Old
#5  
daraj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 1,503
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman999 View Post
I just got my S3 today and it has been great so far save for one issue. I seem to be experiencing really bad WiFi performance. I ran a speed test using the speedtest.net app on my iPhone 4 and got around 8 megabits per second down. However, when I ran the same test on my S3, I got about 1 megabit per second down consistently between numerous tests.

I don't have this issue while using LTE, which makes me think that it is a problem with the WiFi antenna. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?

Thanks
Try forcing the WIFI to 2.4GHZ and see if that improves things
 
stan.s
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 739
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC metro
Quote:
Originally Posted by TranceMission18 View Post
Mine runs perfect on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz bands through wifi.

Getting 30Mbits down and 22Mbits up.
Well, I have tested and yes you can get great speeds via the wifi, however something is quite wrong with it too, see my bug post in this subforum.

[IMG]
http://www.speedtest.net/android/199926501.png[/IMG]

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium
 
kennonk
Old
#7  
kennonk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 120
Posts: 410
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere between silicone and silicon valley.
I have my wifi forced to 5GHz and just now at work I got 49ms ping 33449kbps down and 38990kbps up to a server that is ~200 miles away. Seems to be working fine to me :)
 
manny05
Old
#8  
manny05's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 1,412
Join Date: Feb 2011
I have the same issue. It's not as fast as my s2 on WiFi.also sometimes it loses signal and the WiFi turns off by itself and then on. It's really weird

sent from my GALAXY SIII
 
caveman999
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 203
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin
Thanks for all the suggestions. It might have just been a temporary thing because I wiped the cache on my phone using the default recovery, rebooted the phone a few times and now its fine.

I'll keep testing it to check if this issue comes back, but ad of now I'm just glad that it is working now.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using XDA
 
ormandj
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 63
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Antonio
Quote:
Originally Posted by mehdi_s82 View Post
Make sure your phone is not on Power Save mode.
That made a HUGE difference for me. From 5mbit/s to 50mbit/s downstream. THANK YOU.

Tags
galaxy, performance, samsung, siii, wifi
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes