Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Easy Root Instructions (Non-ADB, Windows only)

OP dawgslayer69

23rd June 2012, 01:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
This is actually just a reference to a sprint root guide. You can thank cypher_zero for putting that together.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1726088

I am just confirming that this method works if you need clockwork mod and or root access.

It is working like a dream on my T999.


For those of you looking for a Video guide qbking77 put this video together for a quick guide. Be sure to thank him for that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Soapch0c5U


Good luck guys.




Video Proof:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ss9_r8Ezyp4
Last edited by dawgslayer69; 23rd June 2012 at 05:44 AM. Reason: Video Guide
The Following 24 Users Say Thank You to dawgslayer69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2012, 01:54 AM   |  #2  
dave2metz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clearwater, Florida
Thanks Meter: 191
 
1,202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
That does not seem like a safe way to get root. So you are using the Sprint way of gaining root access?
23rd June 2012, 02:03 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Is it just me or does this seem sketchy?
23rd June 2012, 02:03 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Daytona Beach FL
Thanks Meter: 24
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I see comments in that thread about partitions being different on the gsm models. FWIW.
23rd June 2012, 02:03 AM   |  #5  
Lakeshow423's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 477
 
2,315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawgslayer69

This is actually just a reference to a sprint root guide. You can thank cypher_zero for putting that together.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1726088

I am just confirming that this method works if you need clockwork mod and or root access.

It is working like a dream on my T999.

Good luck guys.

Sweet! That's how I Flashed and rootesd the SGS2! I can't wait till I get the S3 next week!
23rd June 2012, 02:04 AM   |  #6  
kscasper13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Lauderdale, FL
Thanks Meter: 66
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave2metz

That does not seem like a safe way to get root. So you are using the Sprint way of gaining root access?

agreed, i've already returned one GS3 because i got ahead of myself and flashed a .tar in Odin that i shouldn't have. i'm gonna wait til more people can confirm Clockwork fully working on the T mobile variant.
23rd June 2012, 02:04 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
So this is the partition layout for the sprint variant.

/boot emmc /dev/block/mmcblk0p7
/efs ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p20
/recovery emmc /dev/block/mmcblk0p19
/data auto /dev/block/mmcblk0p15 length=-16384
/system ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p14
/cache ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p17
/external_sd vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /dev/block/mmcblk1

I don't know if ours is exactly the same but the part that matters is that our recovery partition is mounted in the same place. That is the only part you are modifying with this. The root should be pretty generic that shouldn't cause problems. I am currently running titanium backup to restore all my data. So its up to you if you want to try it but, It works and that includes CWM and the Root.
The Following User Says Thank You to dawgslayer69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2012, 02:07 AM   |  #8  
FiveOhFox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 365
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawgslayer69

So this is the partition layout for the sprint variant.

/boot emmc /dev/block/mmcblk0p7
/efs ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p20
/recovery emmc /dev/block/mmcblk0p19
/data auto /dev/block/mmcblk0p15 length=-16384
/system ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p14
/cache ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p17
/external_sd vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /dev/block/mmcblk1

I don't know if ours is exactly the same but the part that matters is that our recovery partition is mounted in the same place. That is the only part you are modifying with this. The root should be pretty generic that shouldn't cause problems. I am currently running titanium backup to restore all my data. So its up to you if you want to try it but, It works and that includes CWM and the Root.

Perhaps some screenshots to show that this is legit.. Just to ease the concerns. Thanks!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to FiveOhFox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2012, 02:11 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by FiveOhFox

Perhaps some screenshots to show that this is legit.. Just to ease the concerns. Thanks!

I'm not really sure what screenshot i could show you that would help I can put a video together later tonight if that would ease your concerns. I'm headed out for dinner right now but ill do this when I get back.
23rd June 2012, 02:12 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
2,442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quick - someone try it! MUST REMOVE BLOAT

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes