Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Full root for A700 and A701 tablets

OP ZeroNull

23rd June 2012, 07:09 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Omsk
Thanks Meter: 381
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
WARNING. THIS is ONLY for tablets running ICS. If you are running Jelly Bean, You May Brick your device!!

Again, this is for ICS ONLY!

Running this root on a Jelly Bean OS can cause your tablet to stop functioning as it is designed for ICS only. If you have a Jelly Bean Operating system, then please use Vorbeth's or Moscow Desire's Easy Root Package located in the Development Forum. If you do not know which OS you currently have, then you should ask questions before rooting.




Method 1. Universal for A700 and A701 Tablet

1. Enable adb mode: Settings -> Developer options -> USB debugging - check it point.
2. Unlock your bootloader for fastboot, follow here. Then reboot a tablet.
3. Download arhive. Unpack it to any place.
4. Open the directory with the unpacked archive. Execute file:
for windows with the rights of administrator:
Code:
runit.bat
Your firmware is now rooted.
5. At first it is necessary to start the Superuser program, at least 1 time after receiving root. And only then programs that require root access.

ATTENTION!
Don't install Busybox! It is already installed and established! If you reinstall it, some programs will become unable to access root permissions!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Method 2. With the patched kernel from the A700 tablet
For ICS A700 firmware only!

1. Enable adb mode: Settings -> Developer options -> USB debugging - check it point.
2. Unlock your bootloader for fastboot, follow here. Then reboot a tablet.
3. Download this arhive. Unpack it to any place.
4. Open the directory with the unpacked archive. Execute file:
for windows with the rights of administrator:
Code:
flash-ICS-patchedBoot.bat
Your boot.img is now patched and firmware is now rooted.
5. At first it is necessary to start the Superuser program, at least 1 time after receiving root. And only then programs that require root access.
6. Now you will have to install the following programs:
BusyBox
Titanium Backup
7. Run BusyBox and go through the install steps. During this SU should ask permission to give BB root access, if it does, it worked!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Method 3. From CWM recovery for A700 and A701 Tablet - Not available due to problems in the work of CWM recovery!

1. At the tablet must be installed CWM recovery.
2. Download arhive ICS_Rooting_recovery.zip. Put it on SD-card. Insert the SD-card in the tablet.
3. Run CWM recovery on the tablet and flash ICS_Rooting_recovery.zip.
Your firmware is now rooted.
4. Now you will have to install the following programs:
SuperUser
Titanium Backup
At first it is necessary to start the Superuser program, at least 1 time after receiving root. And only then programs that require root access.

ATTENTION!
Don't install Busybox! It is already installed and established! If you reinstall it, some programs will become unable to access root permissions!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Method 1, in contrast to method 2, does not affect the core of the system. This makes it possible to receive future firmware update. But only if you do not forget to make backups before making changes to the system and restore it before upgrading.

PS: I tried to make a method 1 as safe as possible. But I have not had a chance to test it completely. So if it does not work, be sure to let me know in this thread and I modified it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip patched-boot.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.75 MB, 3593 views)
File Type: zip ICS-rooting.A70x.zip - [Click for QR Code] (6.06 MB, 5599 views)
File Type: zip ICS_Rooting_recovery.zip - [Click for QR Code] (593.8 KB, 1710 views)
Last edited by Moscow Desire; 8th January 2013 at 07:48 AM. Reason: Added message to the method 3
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to ZeroNull For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2012, 08:59 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Lille
Thanks Meter: 105
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
great work ! Thank you for this

BTW the the script is called "flashpboot.bat" and not "flash-ICS-patchedBoot.bat" in the archive.
Last edited by alx5962; 23rd June 2012 at 10:16 AM.
23rd June 2012, 09:25 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Innsbruck
Thanks Meter: 14
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Really great thanks for it.
Just a question, can it be unrooted/undone by flashing 028-stock rom?

Gesendet von meinem A700 mit Tapatalk 2
23rd June 2012, 09:44 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KruSan

Really great thanks for it.
Just a question, can it be unrooted/undone by flashing 028-stock rom?

Gesendet von meinem A700 mit Tapatalk 2

yes
23rd June 2012, 09:50 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
240 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
the patch with Acer_AV043_A700_1.028.00_EMEA_FR doesn’t work after flashing the patched boot the tablet doesn’t boot it stuck at Acer logo
23rd June 2012, 09:51 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moom999

the patch with Acer_AV043_A700_1.028.00_EMEA_FR doesn’t work after flashing the patched boot the tablet doesn’t boot it stuck at Acer logo

same problem here
23rd June 2012, 10:13 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Lille
Thanks Meter: 105
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moom999

the patch with Acer_AV043_A700_1.028.00_EMEA_FR doesn’t work after flashing the patched boot the tablet doesn’t boot it stuck at Acer logo

Rename Acer_AV043_A700_1.028.00_EMEA_FR to update.zip and put it in an external sd card.
There's a startup mode that installs it automatically, you have to press the left volume+power buttons at startup if I remember well.
The Following User Says Thank You to alx5962 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2012, 10:18 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alx5962

Rename Acer_AV043_A700_1.028.00_EMEA_FR to update.zip and put it in an external sd card.
There's a startup mode that installs it automatically, you have to press the left volume+power buttons at startup if I remember well.

you missunderstand, they mean, when you have 1.028 you cant flash the patched bootloader because they stuck onn boot screen
23rd June 2012, 10:36 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
240 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
No problem to flash again Acer_AV043_A700_1.028.00_EMEA_FR or Acer_AV043_A700_1.025.00_EMEA_CUS1
The problem the patch doesn’t work with any of this two rom
23rd June 2012, 11:00 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Lille
Thanks Meter: 105
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moom999

No problem to flash again Acer_AV043_A700_1.028.00_EMEA_FR or Acer_AV043_A700_1.025.00_EMEA_CUS1
The problem the patch doesn’t work with any of this two rom

The size of the patched bootloader seems wrong, I guess that's why it's faulty.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes